We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil. A quiet, private nook in Phnom Penh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace on 95

Save Saved
You added The Terrace on 95 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Terrace on 95
#43 Street 95, Phnom Penh 123456, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 258 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
1 review
“Tranquil. A quiet, private nook in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The Terrace on 95 is an urban oasis. Inside its gate is a cool courtyard. Plants, fruit trees, flowers. Spacious, comfortable, air conditioned rooms. Big bathrooms. The building is wooden, decades old, renovated. The Terrace is a sanctuary, but one that's comfortably part of the city it's in. The actual terrace is on the second floor, open air, seating in and out. Simple but varied and delicious menu. E.g. Curries and Khmer soups alongside pasta and excellent hot chips. The staff are friendly and thoughtful. Gave us good restaurant recommendations and organised transport for us. A highlight of our stay was travelling in The Terrace's bright pink Tuk Tuk with driver Kinin. He's also the guard, staying near the gate at night and keeping watch for his guests. The gate is locked overnight. I would feel very comfortable staying at The Terrace alone. The manager, Tee, is organised and friendly. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, Owner at The Terrace on 95, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Rowanontour,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Terrace on 95. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you left with great memories of Phnom Penh and our guesthouse. You were the perfect guest and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Very best regards to you from all at The Terrace on 95
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
15
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Phnom Penh is a busy city. Not quite as crazy as Bangkok or Delhi but busy nevertheless. That said there is tranquility in the heart of the city at The Terrance on 95. To call it a B&B or guesthouse would not do it justice. This is more of a boutique hotel (in a good way) with the homely feel of the aforementioned. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with cavernous bathrooms. A good selection of food can be enjoyed on the 2nd floor terrace surrounded by greenery. Tea or excellent coffee and a good breakfast in a must and sets you up for a day exploring the city. A cheap 10 minute tuk tuk ride gets you to most of the cities attraction - or, if its not too hot, everything is walkable from The Terrace, for the more energetic. The staff and owners could not have been friendlier nor more accommodating. End your day in the city with a cocktail from their menu on the terrace and if you get your timings right (or can plan accordingly) they have on open mike night every second Saturday where local (largely expat) kids belt out some amazing covers. A great base for a city visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, Owner at The Terrace on 95, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Iain,

We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Terrace on 95. Thank you so much for mentioning the staff as they are very motivated by positive feedback and love to hear that they have been appreciated. We have tried with the rooms and general atmosphere to create the comfort of a boutique without losing the character of the property. We hope to welcome you again soon and perhaps you might even sing on a Saturday music night! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Terrace a few weeks ago and found it a peaceful haven in this crazy city. From the moment you arrive with flowers placed along the edge of the stairs with care you know that you have stumbled across something special. The Terrace has been tastefully decorated combining style and history in balance. I love the beautiful tiled floors and original feature and the fact that all the rooms are unique and individual. We stayed in Room 2 and Room 3 and had the best nights sleep in ages. The staff were just delightful, Leakena is a star who always has a smile on her face and could not do enough to ensure we had everything we needed for our stay. The wonderful Kinin who drives the Terraces pink tuk tuk around town with a positivity that is infectious was the cherry on the iced bun. Great value for money. If you like unique, quirky and stylish with lots of warm smiles then the Terrace is for you. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 3 is huge but Room 2 has a big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Everything is lovely here, in this Boutique Hotel, The Terrace on 95.
Rooms are tastefully decorated and fully equiped. They are large and always perfectly clean. Plants and flowers from the terrace bring a welcoming shadow in the hot afternoon and a perfect setting for a drink at the balcony in the evening. Service is more than perfect : lovely. Thy and Sreyleak make you feel welcomed and are genuinely friendly.
I also enjoyed staying away from the busy and noisy city center, in a nice part of town, and only 10 minutes tuk-tuk drive from any interesting place.
A perfect choice in Phnom Pen.
I stayed there for 5 nights in february 2013

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusadasi, Turkey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place was to be our last staging post during our three week trip to Cambodia. After studying the website and reading the reviews on Trip Advisor I hastened to book for our three nights in Phnom Penh. I did not receive a reply to my initial email and subsequently booked somewhere else. After some weeks I received an email from the owner explaining that there had been a problem with their email so I booked and cancelled the other place confident in the knowledge that our last port of call in Cambodia would really be something special. It certainly was not special, but different to say the least and very disappointing.
While I do understand what the owners have done to preserve and improve this property, I could not describe our stay as comfortable in the least. I will not go into the realms of taste/opinion about decor, lighting, etc. as this is a matter for the individual, but I will confine my review to facts.
When we arrived there were two bottles of tepid drinking water in the room as there is no mini fridge so we had to ask the staff if we could put them in their fridge to cool a little. Not a good start after a hot, tiring journey. We ordered a light lunch from a menu that we did not find particularly exciting and the young lady got the order wrong. Not a major problem and more down to the language difficulties than to anything else.
To the bedroom - the much talked about room 8. Full of bits of furniture like a 1950's second hand shop with little room to move around and even less place to store baggage. No wardrobe, but a type of fitting on the wall which would hold a few coat-hangers in addition to which two screws were in the opposite wall presumably to hang additional clothing on. The small safe was attached to the floor which made it very difficult to access and just one towel each in the bathroom. Presumably one is meant to dry different parts of the body with different parts of the towel!
The next day we did not have any water set out for us so we had to ask for it, again to be left in the staff's fridge. That evening after a hot day in Phnom Penh I ventured out to the balcony for a gin and tonic while my wife showered. Had to ask for ice!!! The second gin & tonic had ice so things were looking up when my wife joined me and I ordered a gin and tonic for her. No ice! The girl didn't forget it. There just wasn't any! However, I still had two pieces of ice in my glass so like a true gentleman I asked the girl to put a new gin and tonic in my glass for my wife. She went away and after five minutes she had not brought my wife's drink so I asked what had happened. She said she had put it in the fridge. Amazing! By the time the drink arrived the ice had vanished anyway.
Third day no drinking water in the bedroom tepid or otherwise. Ask again and I was left with the impression that every penny was watched in this place. Whatever you asked for you got, but you had to ask.
And then, all my doubts were justified over our last breakfast there. Sorry, no jam! Difficult to believe of the place that Trip Advisor had told me was No. 3 in Phnom Penh.
I well-understand that for $50 a night one does not expect top of the range, but together with all the hype on Trip Advisor one expects something a little better than this. No ice or jam, tepid drinking water and screws in the wall!
We did not meet any manager or owner during our stay. Perhaps this was the root of the problem. No management or bad management.
By far the worst place at which we stayed during our month in Thailand and Cambodia and certainly would not return and would only recommend The Terrace to people I didn't like.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, Owner at The Terrace on 95, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Monsoonman,

Apologies for the late reply but we have been giving your review a great deal of consideration and wanted to reply only when we felt we had an accurate picture and resolved all possible issues.

Firstly, we apologise for the lack of jam, ice and efficient service that you and your wife experienced. Also, the bottled water in the guestrooms is not cold and I understand that many people want cold water. The restaurant fridge is used for this purpose though we acknowledge that this is not as convenient as having refrigerators in each guest room. The manager was indeed at the guesthouse during your stay. It is a shame that you didn’t meet him as he is always very eager to assist guests whenever he can. We have a great deal of confidence in him and feel that adequate steps have been taken to address these issues as a result of your feedback.

We also regret that the general décor – furnishings, lighting, clothes space – were not to your liking. We have been careful to use candid photos of the guestrooms and common spaces on our website and here on TripAdvisor. We thought a lot about the décor and spent long hours sourcing pieces that would work to create the feel of a comfortable older style Cambodian home. Many pieces, including the beds, lamps, hooks as well as the iron and printed cotton clothes screens, were made by local craftspeople for us. We tried to make the most of the original elements which affected decisions about use of the spaces such as placement of the safes. We accept that our choices, like any other guesthouse/hotel’s, will not be to everyone’s tastes –our place is perhaps a bit rustic or continental for some but appreciated by others, especially those who want something authentic without spending a lot of money.

Finally, I am sorry that you were frustrated with only one towel per guest per day and the restaurant menu. Our menu is constantly evolving; we try to offer a balance of Asian and Western options with a strong vegetarian character. This is true of our breakfast menu as well as main menu and is very much a conscious decision to provide an eclectic and healthy range of light meals. Again, this is not to everyone’s tastes. We really do try our best to make The Terrace a comfortable and welcoming place for our guests. We learn from your feedback and the staff will always do everything within their power to make guests happy. Again, we are sorry that your experience was far from enjoyable and we will improve the things that can be improved in the hope that future guests will not have a similar experience. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family of 4 loved the Terrace on 95! It was so relaxing and the service was great! I loved the decor of each room we rented! Everyone made you feel so welcomed! I wish that we could have stayed here longer' its definitely worth the money, it truly is a Hidden Gem! We made the perfect choice by staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights 25-27th of December. My parents had a downstairs room while my partner and I stayed in one of the upstairs room. Both are very tastefully decorated with lovely beds and furniture and have decent-sized bathrooms. All in all this is a very tranquil, pleasant guesthouse in a nice part of town, though not particularly central. The closest site is Toul Sleng, the infamous prison/torture center during the Khmer Rouge period. Other than most sites are a bit of a walk or tuk tuk drive away. The city itself is not particularly big so this should not be an issue. What we liked most about this guesthouse is that it has very pleasant common areas/balconies that make it a perfect place for a late afternoon or evening beer and snack. As was noted by others here on Tripadvisor the food needs a bit of work... Breakfast was okay, nothing wrong with that, but otherwise it could use some work. Other than that I would highly recommend this guesthouse.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are lovely but do note that the floor is all wood and thus a little shaky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, Owner at The Terrace on 95, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear mbaas,
Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Terrace and appreciated the building and decor. This means a lot to us as we have really tried to preserve the ambience of the old Khmer house while making it more practical for travellers. Some of the original features, such as the 70 year old floors, have suffered a bit with time though amazingly the encaustic floor tiles are still beautiful; many wooden houses in Phnom Penh were not built as well as houses today and elsewhere hence there are very few traditional wooden houses left in Phnom Penh. It's a shame as they are an important part of Cambodia's architectural heritage. Thanks again for your balanced review and we look forward to you visiting The Terrace and Phnom Penh again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Terrace on 95? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace on 95

Address: #43 Street 95, Phnom Penh 123456, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely boutique guesthouse located just minutes away from popular tourist attractions and cafes in Phnom Penh. Tastefully restored 1930's colonial villa, with 8 renovated guest rooms all with air-con, ensuites, cable TV and safes. Free Wi-Fi is also available. A fully equipped restaurant and wine bar is located on the first floor, with a terrace overlooking the well maintained gardens. Airport transfers and trusted local taxi's and Tuk Tuk's are on-call. 24 hour security is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Terrace on 95 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace on 95, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.