We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who would have thunk it....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison d'Ambre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison d'Ambre to your Saves list
La Maison d'Ambre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123, street 110, Preah Ang Duong | corner Street 19, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Who would have thunk it....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

La Maison d'Ambre is simply awesome. The General Manager and staff, are personable, attentive, and helpful beyond compare. Any requirements or needs are quickly responded to and addressed. If you are looking for a unique boutique hotel, accessible to all of the major attractions and sites of Phnom Penh, then this is definitely your place!!!

Room Tip: Each room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    42
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
75
20
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Loved the comfort, location and ambience of this hotel. We stayed in the "Midnight in Paris" suite, beautifully decorated with a large sitting room and kitchen area, comfortable bed, and roomy well-appointed bathroom. Good A/C was welcome during a visit during the hot part of the year.

The rooftop bar / restaurant was charming, staff friendly, and the food was good. The location, close to the river and the Central Market gave easy access to lots of other good restaurants and shopping.

The service was attentive and the hotel was kept immaculately clean. The manager, Chrisna, spoke excellent English (having grown up in California) and took an interest in ensuring our first visit to Phnom Penh was enjoyable.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return for another visit.


Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and tried 2 different rooms. Both rooms were great. I met one of the owners ... Chris, who was great. His service is top notch and he ensures his guests receive the best service. I have stayed and tried out many hotels in Phnom Penh and La Maison is one of my favorites. The rooftop was very inviting and well decorated. The whole hotel was well designed and you can tell a lot of hard work and thought was put into it. Because I stayed an extra day I had to change my departure ticket to Siem Reap. I wasn't sure where to go, but the staff helped me out and in a matter of minutes everything was booked for me. Thank you to Chris and his team for a wonderful and pleasant stay. I will definitely use this hotel as a base in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Our stay at La Maison d Ambre was fantastic! The rooms georgous and spacious, the staff friendly and efficient, the food awsome!

Nothing was too much trouble for the amazing staff. From organising a driver to take us to Siem Reap, to making us a meal that wasn't on the menu, even having someone come into work half an hour early to make us breakfast before we left; this hotel was happy to arange anything. It was just supurb. Everyone was friendly and helpful, the staff spoke excellent english and were so happy, it was a joy just to be around them.

The hotel has a real family feel to it, that made us feel safe and secure. Positioned perfectly in the middle of Phnom Penh, it is an easy distance to any of the sights.

Quite simply this was the best hotel I have ever stayed at, and I have stayed at many. If you are looking for a hotel in Phnom Penh look no further!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stayed at the Hanabi suite.
The room are very big & clean but what i don't understand is that why is the bathroom very small. You have a a huge living room which is great where you don't spend that much time cause you are out discovering the city & you have a tiny bathroom that cant accommodate 2 people. Besides the bathroom & the location i must say its a great hotel but i rather stay at hotels nearer to the riverside.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcopHongkong, Owner at La Maison d'Ambre, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Dear sir,

Thank you for your review, always good to hear feedback.
Hanabi room (firework in japanese) has a japanese inspiration and as you may not know bathrooms are small in japan or even sometime do not exist (in some of the most luxurious traditional ryokan). Japanese people would actually share it or going to the public bath (onsen).
If you were looking for spacious bathroom, I would have suggest to go for "Casablanca" room with a large Jacuzzi bath or "Midnight in Paris" with a 20 sqm open shower space.

Thanks and looking forward to see you again

The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siem reap
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The rooms (suites really) are lovely. It is really unusual to see a hotel in this country designed and decorated with such style and thought. I stayed in "Manhattan" - all the rooms are named after films - and it had a purple colour scheme, pictures of the Manhattan skyline, but not overdone, very tasteful. And the suites are very generous in size - huge living area, lovely bathroom, all the amenities for a slightly longer stay. Would happily stay here again.

One proviso - I am not a fan of the restaurant. Service was so slow - I gave myself half an hour for breakfast before heading to the airport, and was still waiting at the end of that. I basically wrestled the lovely fruit arrangement off the kitchen staff so that I could eat it rather than admire it from afar once it had attained visual perfection.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We had the Indian room as well as the Modern, both were amazingly decorated and very big. The bathrooms were impeccably clean and modern, some including both a bath tub as well as a shower, the staff was also very friendly. I strongly recommend the hotel to families traveling to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison d'Ambre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Ambre

Address: 123, street 110, Preah Ang Duong | corner Street 19, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison d'Ambre 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA MAISON D’AMBRE offers 10 elegantly-furnished, stylish and fully-equipped one-bedroom, one-bedroom plus and two-bedroom apartments, four of which have balconies. Each room, from 60m2 to 120 m2, offers a high level of service for hotel and long stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your La Maison d'Ambre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison d'Ambre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.