We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monument Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Monument Hotel to your Saves list
Monument Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22S, Street 29, BKK1, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Quaint little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Found this hotel on line and decided to stay there because of the good reviews. Staff were great and the rooms are clean, comfortable and the decor quite quaint. Older style decor that just works. Except for breakfast, we did not have any of our meals in the hotel so we cannot comment on the quality of the food. The female Hungarian manager runs the place very well.

Only negative of the hotel is that it does not have a lift. Fine if you are on the lower floors but definitely not something you want to contend with whilst on holiday - especially in Summer. Because of this, we would probably not stay there again.

This is not a business hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi RayonTime,
Thanks for the feedback and for appreciating the place and how it is run. Yes elevator is something we lack (however we advertise the lack of it on all booking sites). It is somewhat of a norm for boutique hotels in Cambodia. We wish you all the best in your future travels and if the elevator is less important than a good night sleep then who knows maybe we will see you again.
All the best.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    97
    34
    8
    0
See reviews for
36
117
33
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Best bed in months of traveling - room 201! Good value. Wifi was fast for Cambodia, the staff were really helpful especially 'July' the Cambodian elvis. Pool was really clean as refreshing.

Only tip I would say is book all tours eg the killing fields with a tuktuk from the street not through them, they are 25% and up more expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi Monami_SB,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for writing a few lines about our hotel. We are glad you liked staying with us. The best thing is that you appreciated our beds (mattresses) and that is awesome. To your point about prices, I just wanted to say that yes the prices are a bit higher but that is because we use our tested tuktuk drivers and availability and adherence to schedules is guaranteed. For some its a decent tradeoff. We hope you will come back and stay with us on your next trip to Phnom Penh. Safe travels.
Monument Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

- The Beds....ahhh real western lovely, cushy ahhhh

- Breakfast and pool bar food was pretty great

- Pool is nice (not huge but who cares when it's hot)

-The rooms and bathrooms are nice

-Wifi is fast

- Safer area of Phnom Penh...you don't see the shady stuff here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi Tmo11,
:) Thank you so much. I guess that should be it right? An awesome crisp review and appreciation of our beds (at the time we were starting the hotel we thought, hey hotel=a good night sleep. That is how the beds were born :D
Thanks for staying with us and hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I'll be honest, I mainly picked this place over others because of the airspring mattresses. I spend most of the day exploring when I travel so I just wanted to make sure I can get a good comfortable night's sleep. It's something that can be tough to find in Asia..I'll never understand the hard mattresses that seem to be preferred over there. Anyway, I definitely thought this place delivered on my goal of a good's night sleep - the beds were comfy as promised, the air conditioning kept the room cool, and it was nice and quiet (with the exception of an occasional gurgle from the toilet...no big deal once I figured out what it was). The rooms were basic, nothing luxurious or fancy but it met my needs just fine. I will say I could have done with a little less of the lemongrass fragrance everywhere...it got a little overwhelming.

The location was good, I felt secure and enjoyed the view from the rooftop at breakfast (I'll agree with others that an elevator would be nice but a little exercise won't kill me). The food was ok and I appreciated the convenience of it. On the negative side, I will say that we really struggled with communicating with the staff in english and ended up just giving up on what we were trying to ask for half of the time because it was more trouble than it was worth. We probably would have make more use of the services that are available from the front desk to explore a little more but honestly didn't think we'd be able to clearly communicate what we wanted to do. Other than that issue, I was pleased with my selection and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi amicurls22,
Thanks so much for writing a detailed review and for the objective and positive feedback. Our manager might not have been around hence the trouble with communication however we will have a word again with the non native english speaking staff. The elevator saga, that is something of a limitation that we really cannot do much about (the structure doesnt allow us to do that, we checked :)). Every review that every one of our customers writes, we read, we discuss and we try and fix the problems. Sometimes not much can be done, other times we review the processes to address the issues if any. We are nonetheless glad that you chose to stay with us, and that you recommended us. We hope to see you again should you come to Phnom Penh. All the best from everyone at MH.
Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I reckon this place is great for couples, but it might annoy a business traveller or family. The staff are very friendly, but somewhat incompetent and the food and waiting times in the restaurant are crap. Apart from that it's decent, but doesn't feel as high end as the photos suggest. The double deluxe room was excellent with air conditioning, a balcony and a powerful, hot shower. The mattresses they use are some sort of special design and are very comfortable.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear ScoobusB,
Thanks for providing feedback to us regarding waiting times at the restaurant. We will definitely try and see how we can shorten the same without having any impact on food quality. Also we appreciate the time you took out to highlight the features you did like about us. We really appreciate your patronage and we sincerely hope to see you again.
Safe travels and all the best from everyone at Monument.
Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This little gem was near perfect. It is nothing too flashy. Simple rooms. Simple breakfast. Good service. The location was good. Only a $2 tuk tuk from riverside. Nice n quiet. They do go out of their way with extras like massages, food, tours, will organise flights or bus if needed. The whole hotel smells like lemongrass. Divine! My only real objection was the stairs.... But with only 4 floors its no biggie.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Prue M,
Thanks for such a nice review :) we are glad you liked staying with us and we certainly hope to see you again when you hope over to this side of the fence. And yes we do lack an elevator and not much room to put one in either so i guess thats a limitation we have to live with :). Thanks again for staying with us and have a wonderful day.
All the best.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the Monument upon our arrival to Cambodia. The room was very large, the staff was incredibly helpful and the breakfast was good. The internet was very fast, we Skyped the stated from our room and it was perfectly clear. We will definitely go back to this fantastic little hotel.

Room Tip: We got a king size bed with pool view. Room #105, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi HMcSloop,
Thank you staying with us and for a generous awesome review :D Please let us serve you again when you come to Cambodia. All the best and safe travels to you and your family.
Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monument Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monument Hotel

Address: 22S, Street 29, BKK1, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monument Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in a restored building that housed post Khmer Rouge UN Peacekeeping force. Monument Hotel with its boutique rooms offers guests a secluded and tranquil refuge from the bustling city. Enjoy your stay in any one of our carefully designed rooms. Start your day with our signature complimentary breakfast, relax at our salt water pool and sleep on our custom made pocket spring mattresses just like at home. Its not us, our guests say we have the best beds in Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Monument Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monument Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.