We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, chilled and very comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monument Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Monument Hotel to your Saves list
Monument Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22S, Street 29, BKK1, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portree, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stylish, chilled and very comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, the location is great if you want to away from the main tourist area, its close to the victory monument. As soon as you arrive you feel at home, the staff are so friendly and helpful. We have been traveling through Asia to for 6 weeks and its great to find a hotel the has its character not conforming to the usual room style. Spotlessly clean well decorated and the smell of lemon grass through out.
Rooms a good size, good shower and good Wi-Fi. A small pool great to cool off in.The roof top bar and restaurant fantastic to relax and watch the city light. A small but good menu if you don't want to go out. If we go back to PP we will stay here. The nicest hotel we have stayed in so far. If you get a budget room best to be on the 3rd floor, not sure if all rooms have a view.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hi SkyeStu,
We would like to wish you and your family a very very very happy new year :) and also would like to thank you heaps for an awesome review :). We are glad your stay was comfortable and should you return, please let us serve you once more.
All the best,
Jason & the entire Monument Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    97
    34
    8
    0
See reviews for
36
117
33
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

After 3 months of SE Asia guesthouses this was a welcoming place to spend a few nights in a big city. The room was spacious, comfy and the bathroom was more than adequate. The included breakfast was perfect. Coffee, tea and the usual items. The staff, were, at all times, helpful, kind, friendly and willing to accommodate.
No one should be spending so much time in their hotel to be worried about the pool but this one was fantastic. Just right for a quick dip in the afternoon.
I was satisfied with the whole experience and thought it was well worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hi j m,
Happy new year to you and your loved ones. Thanks so much for the awesome review and for choosing to stay with us in the first place. Every encouraging review really makes a lot of difference in the morale of the team. Hope all the following travels were awesome. All the best and hopefully we see you again :)
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a nice good value for money hotel. We had 3 nights here at the end of December. We had a deluxe room which was very large and clean, very large comfortable bed and air conditioning. Was a bit disappointed that we did not get the balcony I requested given we booked 9 months ago though. The bathroom was large and had a really good extra magnifying mirror which was good if doing makeup. The only thing wrong with the bathroom was a lack of space for toiletries which could be fixed by adding another shelf. The pool was great for cooling off in and the rooftop restaurant/bar was a perfect way to look out at the city view. Tuk tuks readily available outside the hotel. A couple of minor things and would have scored it higher...room wasn't serviced one day even though we were out for 6 hours and left sign up to be made and at breakfast they need to ensure enough plates etc are left out. Overall though it was a great little hotel for the money and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get room overlooking pool, ask for one with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi RPtravel22,
Thanks for staying with us and apologies for not having reserved the balcony. It should have been made available if it was reserved. Other small things that you have mentioned we have taken note of them also. None of the feedback is ignored. If you do come back to Phnom Penh please come stay with us and you will see the difference. We believe there is always room for improvement and encouraging reviews like yours keep us pretty motivated in striving for a constantly better service. All the best and a happy new year.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I just finished a stay at the Monument. It's a well run boutique hotel with a lovely and gracious staff. The Manager Seongli is super helpful and kind. I'm traveling on semi-business and though I thought I'd stay a couple of days, I ended up staying a week. It's in a converted French villa, the rooms are basic, but comfortable, and gthe staff very sweet. And for me the most important thing was that it was on a quiet street away from the crazy action & pollution of the Riverside area.
They are very busy, so you definitely need reservations in advance— no winging it in high season.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Bobby,
This is perhaps the best review title i have seen so far :) thanks so much for staying with us and for your review. I hope your onwards travels were just as good. Please do consider us when you return to the city. Safe travels.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent a week here, we had superior room on second floor with large balcony and hanging basket chair which I loved sitting swinging gently on at dusk watching the bats. Our son had room across the passage both facing front of hotel looking down on the pool. I enjoyed our stay and tho all things were not perfect ( sticking balcony doors and slight flood in our sons room after heavy rain) it did not affect our enjoyment and the hotel is as described and I found it a nice change from big 5 star hotels. The staff were all extremely pleasant and met us at the airport as organised by email. The breakfasts were perfectly adequate and lots of choices outside hotel if preferred.
There were plenty of tutus always available tho we often chose to walk to the riverside area especially entertaining in the early evening watching the local people meeting to eat and dance/exercise to music in the park areas . I would definitely return to this hotel should the opportunity arise

Room Tip: It was great to have the large balcony and I spent time most evenings just watching the world go by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Touma,
A very happy new year to you and your family and safe travels in 2013. We are glad the stay with us was relaxing and im particularly glad you liked the hanging basket chair :) We hope to see you again should you return to the Penh. With very best wishes from all of us at the Monument Hotel.
Cheers,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you are visiting Phnom Penh, you should definitely stay at the Monument Hotel! This place is well-situated, only a $1-2 tuk tuk ride from the riverside shops and restaurants, and it is quaint and nicely maintained. The staff is excellent. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the Manager and her husband who were extremely helpful. They even gave us a ride to dinner that evening and recommended a fantastic restaurant (Titanic --not to be missed!). Our room was right behind the front desk and they offered to change it for us a few times in case we were bothered by the noise. However, we actually liked being so close to the exit, and it ended up being quite convenient. The hotel was also very helpful in arranging tours, bus rides, etc. Overall, a great stay, and definitely a nice place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
HI Anjali,
We would like to wish you and your family a very happy and a prosperous new year. Glad everything worked out for you guys in Phnom Penh and that your stay with us was good. Its really nice of you to write a few lines for us as a token of appreciation. We hope you will choose to stay with us on your next trip to Phnom Penh and we wish you all the best and safe travels in all the other amazing places you will visit.
Have a good one.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very reasonably priced- we paid €33 per night and for that price scores highly. Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Pros:
Good location. Phnom Penh is a relatively big city so a tuc tuc is necessary for most journeys. It was $3 to almost everywhere and there was always a driver waiting outside. The hotel is in a very nice location- quite safe.
The service in the hotel was second to none- very easy to arrange tuc tucs, buses to Siem Reap etc.
Great selection of very good quality food and drinks, available by the pool, in the restaurant on the 4th floor or in your room
Good selection of drinks etc in mini bar at reasonable prices
Nice salt water pool which was never crowded.
Safe in room, cable TV in room
Decent breakfast, although more fruit would be good
Cons (these are only small points):
The bathroom is a little small.
There was limited hot water in the morning, which made washing long hair a bit of a pain.
The TV in our room was very inconveniently located- made viewing very difficult.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi picnicingispleasant,
Thanks for a detailed review of our property and well, for staying with us in the first place :) we are glad you liked our service and amenities and the 2 things that you asked us to improve we took note of those also. We hope you had a great new years eve and hopefully 2013 brings the best of everything and a trip back to Phnom Penh so you can stay with us again :) All the best.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monument Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monument Hotel

Address: 22S, Street 29, BKK1, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monument Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in a restored building that housed post Khmer Rouge UN Peacekeeping force. Monument Hotel with its boutique rooms offers guests a secluded and tranquil refuge from the bustling city. Enjoy your stay in any one of our carefully designed rooms. Start your day with our signature complimentary breakfast, relax at our salt water pool and sleep on our custom made pocket spring mattresses just like at home. Its not us, our guests say we have the best beds in Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Monument Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monument Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.