We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Fantastic staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monument Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Monument Hotel to your Saves list
Monument Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22S, Street 29, BKK1, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
“Great hotel, Fantastic staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I actually live in Phnom Penh, but I recently stayed at the Monument Hotel for 4 nights to get away from some noisy celebrations that were going on in my neighborhood. The hotel itself is great, but it is absolutely the fantastic staff that makes this the place to stay!

My interaction with the staff began outside at the gate where I was greeted by Mr. Rith, the security guard, who speaks very good English (and I found out later is also studying Korean). I was driving my own moto, and moto security is always something to be concerned about. But I had no worries while at the Monument. During the day, my moto was kept just outside the gate with easy access and under constant supervision, and then at night Mr. Rith brought it inside the gate and chained it up for extra safety. So if you're the adventurous type who will be renting your own moto in Phnom Penh, no worries, Mr. Rith has you covered!

Continuing into the hotel, I was greeted by the great reception staff who all speak excellent English. They were extremely friendly and helpful in making sure I knew about all the hotel's amenities and also about the tourist attractions and restaurants nearby. Nothing that I asked of any of the receptionists was ever any problem for them. I especially enjoyed my interactions with Kakada (which is Khmer for "July") and Mey.

Breakfast in the upstairs restaurant was very good with excellent service from Sarom who also speaks very good English. The breakfast is buffet-style, and in addition to the buffet, Sarom will offer to make any kind of eggs that you want. On the first day, I turned down Sarom's offer because I don't like eggs. The next day Sarom remembered my preference and instead made me toast with jam. Very personalized service!

The hotel itself has all the comforts you could want and is very clean, but the staff is what really puts it over the top. When I have family or friends come visit me in Phnom Penh, I will definitely be putting them up at the Monument!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi Brandon,
First of all please accept my apologies for not replying to this review earlier; somehow it slipped from the radar until now when i noticed we hadnt responded. Secondly, thank you so much for a detailed review about our place and about our staff. We think its the people who make a difference and add the touch of warmth that places alone cannot accomplish. Thank you for appreciating this and for writing about it. We notice that you live in pp so please do come by maybe for the use of our pool or just to have a drink by the pool side. We would like to thank you again for staying with us and would love to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    91
    32
    8
    0
See reviews for
32
113
32
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for only one night. It is fairly well located - can easily walk into the centre of town. Pool looked inviting but we didn't really have the chance to try it. Staff were friendly but it was just lacking in that something to make it special.

The bar / restaurant are on 4th floor and the is no lift (not a major issue) just a very narrow staircase.

The room was adequate, with good AC but a half drunk bottle of orange had been left in the room, the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor (and it wasn't really meant as a wet room), the was a nice scent of lemon grass in the room. What really let it down for me was that in the evening we watched the daily 8pm film on Cambodia in the bar area. V good. Then ordered some food, but whilst I was still half way through eating it, we we asked to leave the bar as they wanted to close it. Very poor customer service.

Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi PurplegirlEssex,
Happy new year to you from everyone at the Monument Hotel. Thanks for staying with us. We took note of the incident at the roof top bar and although i wish it hadn’t happened im sure it was an isolated incident. Nevertheless the management took a serious note of this and the staff were informed to be extra careful. For the housekeeping part also we have taken note and the housekeeping manager took note of it. Although completely unacceptable you see in a busy high season sometimes some slip ups happen. I hope you will put that one incident behind you and visit us once again. Safe travels.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked this hotel to escape the -40 canadian winter.The customer service was awesome!!
The hotel rooms are very clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel is very convenient for the tourists. The amenities are hand picked and give the feel of home.
We had a standard room with our two kids. Upon arrival we were upgraded instantly for no charge. On christmas night chocolates were setup on the bed which made it worthwhile for the kids.
The pool was well kept.
Overall the customer service at this hotel is very good which means on our next trip to cambodia I will definately come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Rebecca,
Thanks for an awesome review :) We are glad it all worked out well and your stay was great. Please do let us know if you decide to come back next arctic winters. All the best.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

This place already has great reviews for a reason
Location is great. Near some fantastic restaurants cafes and bars
Much more chilled out and better value than the hassly touristic riverfront area.
Hotel itself is charming. Great pool too cool off in after wandering around town.
2 dollar cocktails from 4 til 8 and nicely made
Get a room with a balcony for a cooling breeze that made aircon unnecessary for us. Comfy beds and pillows
Nice rooftop dining/breakfast area

But best feature of all is the staff. Nothing too much trouble and all done with grace and a smile

July you rock

Thanks
James Fee JoshJosh & Tara

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear James, Josh & Tara,
A very happy new year to your and your family and the warmest regards from July Kakada :) We are glad everything went well and that you loved our service. We appreciate your encouraging words. Safe travels and all the best.
the Monument Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I recently stayed here for 2nights, was meant to be 3but we decided to move on from the city early.

Overall the hotel is pleasant and the staff are fine, but it's a little confused as to whether it wants to be a boutique hotel or a slightly higher end hostel. I would say they should stick to higher end hostel as they would likely get more custom. For what's on offer and comparing to other nearby hotels its a little expensive.

There is a pool but there's only space for 4beds and it doesn't get the sun at any point so don't expect to be getting a tan staying here!

The breakfast is ok and if you need to leave on an early morning bus/journey then they offer to arrange a take-away breakfast.

One tip is to ALWAYS take a hotel card around with you as not all tuk-tuk/remork drivers know where it is.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear European_Traveller84,
Thanks for taking out time to review our property and for choosing to stay with us in the first place.Since we are a new hotel that has been in service less than a year that is why some tuktuk drivers dont know of the hotel. Given that there are perhaps a few thousand tuktuks and over 200 hotels in Phnom Penh there is a fair bit chance that some will not know where we are :) That is even though we are right by the Independence Monument which is arguably the best part of town. Furthermore we are sorry to hear that what you experienced was different to what you expected. As with your reference to the hostel part, we believe otherwise since we are perhaps one of the very few properties in Phnom Penh with a salt water pool with considerable amount of sun (as evident from pictures), all our rooms are fitted with Springmate mattresses that are available in 5 star hotels and all rooms have standard hotel accessories like mini bar, in-room safes etc. Since its a refurbished former UN building there is little we can do with the structural design. We realize that it is not possible to make everyone happy however we do try our level best to give our customers the very best during their stay with us.
Happy holidays and Merry Christmas.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions, once before visiting siem reap and then on the way back. I booked a standard room on both occasions but was upgraded to a larger room with balcony on my return trip. The receptionist July was very helpful throughout the stay and gave plenty of advice on trips etc. The pool is a great relief after walking around the city or going on tours. Happy hour between 5 and 8 means reasonably priced drinks around the pool or on the roof terrace bar. Breakfast is pretty good, however I would recommend them to invest in a new toaster. Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Standard rooms have no view so recommend upgrading if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Hi Travellerfreddy,
Merry Christmas, a happy new year and we hope you have awesome and safe travels this coming year. Thanks so much for the encouraging review and for choosing to return to stay with us. July is beaming as we write you a note of thanks :) We hope to see you again. Greetings from all of us at Monument Hotel.
Cheers,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The staff at this hotel compliment the atmosphere of being in a restored french colonial building beautifully, they are gracious and attentive. From the aroma that wafts throughout the hotel to the decor and rooftop restaurant/bar, everything lends itself towards a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We were guests for one week and not once was anything out of place inclusive of guest amenities, room service, swift and effortless check in and check out. Our two sons would enjoy the pool during the mid afternoon heat and we would enjoy the benefits of a generous happy hour. Food at the restaurant was well cooked and presented. The location is great and as it was our second visit to Cambodia, we knew the location we wanted to stay in. The Monument Hotel is everything one could want from a boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh. I would recommend this hotel to everyone considering a visit to Phnom Penh. We loved it.

Room Tip: Room number 205 & 206 are both large deluxe rooms, 205 has a balcony which is wonderful for fres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hi carmel08,
It is so kind of you to write such a special review for us and for highlighting all the things you thought were nice. We try our best to make sure everything runs smooth and yes sometimes it may not be as smooth as one would wish for but we try our best and customers like yourselves very generously encourage us with their kind words. We hope everything during your travels went as smooth and safe as you would have hoped for. All the best wishes from everyone at Monument Hotel.
Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monument Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monument Hotel

Address: 22S, Street 29, BKK1, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monument Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in a restored building that housed post Khmer Rouge UN Peacekeeping force. Monument Hotel with its boutique rooms offers guests a secluded and tranquil refuge from the bustling city. Enjoy your stay in any one of our carefully designed rooms. Start your day with our signature complimentary breakfast, relax at our salt water pool and sleep on our custom made pocket spring mattresses just like at home. Its not us, our guests say we have the best beds in Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monument Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monument Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.