We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise behind solid gate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monument Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Monument Hotel to your Saves list
Monument Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22S, Street 29, BKK1, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 222 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Gold Coast, Qld
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice surprise behind solid gate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were a bit concerned that we'd made a bad choice when we arrived at the hotel after seeing surrounding properties with coiled barbed wire around their perimeters and the security guard at the large solid wooden entrance gate. However, once we went inside we discovered a modern, fresh and comfortable hotel. The pool with it's underwater lighting was great for an evening dip and the rooftop restaurant/bar was nice for a cocktail and again for buffet breakfast in the morning. The downside was that there is no lift. Our room was on the 3rd floor and the restaurant on the 5th, so be prepared to climb a few stairs.
The location is a bit far out of town. We walked to the waterfront area which seems to be the main hub for restaurants etc but it took around 25-30 mins. However, tuk-tuks are cheap and plentiful and preferrable to walking in the heat. The room was great and the linen was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear Tassie, thanks a lot for taking out time to review our property. We are happy we were able to come up to your expectations and would love to have to come back and stay with us again. Good luck with your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    91
    32
    8
    0
See reviews for
32
112
32
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

100% recommended! We saw reviews and then chose this hotel. Room size is good, we stayed in deluxe room on 1st floor with balcony. Room is big, mattress very comfortable. The deluxe room is exactly like in pictures. Newly opened in old building from UN mission after Khmer rouge so building has history and new lemon grass smell is gives good atmosphere. On a quiet street near monument of independence. Roof top view is good but restaurant could be made more gezellig.

Room Tip: two types of deluxe rooms, one without balcony but big windows and one with balcony. Choose with bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear Nyske, thanks a lot for writing such a splendid review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you to our hotel again. Also thanks for the pictures, the reception picture you put is nice, maybe we should put that on our website as well :)
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Booked the delux room.

Room was reasonably sized. Clean. Probably the best bed we slept in the while time in SE Asia, soft like home bed, as opposed to the hard futon like beds in other hotels of the region. Air con worked with no problems.

Shower was good power, with generous water flow, and no real hot water problems. Sink was a good enough size to do some laundry.

Location is good. Close to Independance Monument, the plaza there is usually teeming with night life. 30min by foot to the Royal Palace and the National Museum. Tuk tuk to Russian market is about $2, rides to Central Market / bus station is about $3 (with negotiation). Hotel is located off main street and is nice and quiet.

No elevator, seemingly a typical feature in most hotels in the region.

Room Tip: Just remember no elevators if you get assigned a room in higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear Borzy thanks so much for reviewing our property and for leaving such a fabulous feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It seems like the extra care and thought we put in choosing the mattresses did pay off as most of our customers have mentioned them in their reviews. I hope we see you again at our hotel. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Clean rooms. Great beds. Good breakfast if you get there early. Helpful staff.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe room 305
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
HI Charlie thanks so much for taking out time to leave such positive feedback for our hotel. We are happy we left a good impression on you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Front desk was unable to find our reservation (booked through Expedia). We waited for a few moments while they looked. We were upgraded free of charge for the inconvenience (it wasn't much of one at all) to a very nice room. The hotel is new and there is minor construction going on...nothing we really noticed. All the same, within 5 minutes of checking in, complimentary drink vouchers were slid under our door with a note apologizing for any inconvenience it may cause us. The pool was wonderful, the room was wonderful, the staff were amazing, and the open-air breakfast was one of the best I had on this trip (buffet complete with an omelette station). As a new hotel, I hope word spreads about the great service for money this place offers - it will be business well-deserved.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear TravelDuck, thank you so much for such an encouraging feedback, we must be doing something right :) it makes us happy when our customers are happy. Also thanks for putting up the pictures of the property as well, at least customers can see it first hand from another traveler. We hope we can have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Being located in a very convenient area, Monument Hotel not only provided a great service, but even inspired me on writing this review, which I dont normally do. Being absolutely unaware of Cambodia hosting, me and my husband booked the hotel randomly, having found the ad through the social network. We always try to stay at the new hotels, expecting the better treatment as customers. Aaaaand we didnt regret even a minute!! The price is quite affordable, including nice daily breakfast at the restaurant on the rooftop of the hotel. All the attractions are situated within ten minutes by tuk-tuk, which u can easily take at the entrance of the hotel and which usually cost almost nothing!

But what deserves a special highlight are beds!... Ive been told by the receptionist (who s been always very friendly and helpful to us) that they have special orthopedic matrasses, been ordered from Thailand. Believe me, it feels like heaven!!! Considering the fact that the hotel is in a very quiet area, we only could get out of bed by noon!..

The swimming pool is also very nice to chill out in a sunny day, as unfortunately Phnom Penh is not at coastal line. Salt water was an amazing surprise, because Ive never experienced any at the asian hotels before!

Amazing job, Monument Hotel!!! I hope, everybody who is hesitating - is not gonna be after my review! Good luck!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Monument Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear Gillian all i can say is WOW... thanks so much for writing such a detailed review and we are so happy that we were able to meet your expectations. We hope we can serve you again. We did spend a whole lot more on the mattresses (we put pocketspring aetherius mattresses in each room) because we thought hotel must have good beds. Thanks so much for this encouraging feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monument Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monument Hotel

Address: 22S, Street 29, BKK1, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 222 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monument Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in a restored building that housed post Khmer Rouge UN Peacekeeping force. Monument Hotel with its boutique rooms offers guests a secluded and tranquil refuge from the bustling city. Enjoy your stay in any one of our carefully designed rooms. Start your day with our signature complimentary breakfast, relax at our salt water pool and sleep on our custom made pocket spring mattresses just like at home. Its not us, our guests say we have the best beds in Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monument Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monument Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.