We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK show. Good underlying reasons to support this though.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plae Pakaa

Plae Pakaa
St 13, corner of St. 178 | National Museum, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
+855 17 998 570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 118 Activities in Phnom Penh
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Plae Pakaa is an initiative by Cambodian Living Arts, a non-profit organization dedicated to the transformation of Cambodia through the arts. The production features three rotating shows in an open-air theater at the National Museum of Phnom Penh. Each performance showcases a wide range of traditional performing arts. With more than Apsara dances, we offer you the chance to discover the diversity of Cambodian culture and traditional arts through dramatic and dynamic performances. In addition to giving a unique opportunity to experience Cambodian culture and arts, Cambodian Living Arts aims to empower emerging arts professionals through their development and employment. Your participation enhances our mission to transform and revitalize the country through creative expression. Tickets for high season are on sale starting October 1, 2014 and available till March 28, 2015. Change in Schedule: There will be NO show during the Water Festival November 5,6,7. The regular schedule will resume Saturday November 8.
London, UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“OK show. Good underlying reasons to support this though.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We saw the Monday show (folk dances) which was OK. Not the same quality of music and dance as you might find in a large western city for $10 a ticket, more like a decent school performance, But interesting to see some local culture, and we felt good about supporting this venture which Is rebuilding the knowledge of traditional Cambidian dance in young people, in a country where this knowledge was almost lost forever due to Pol Pots regime which killed "artists" of all types.
Inside the programme is a slip of paper asking you to please comment on Tripadvisor, also at the end they ask for donations and for everyone to comment on Trip Advisor. This may explain how they are the number one ranked attraction in Phnom Penh.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    46
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Loved every minute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Not exactly one for the opera, I was a little nervous heading into this show. But everything about Plae Pakaa was amazing - the outdoor theatre, the sweet trails of candles leading to your seat, and of course the performance. Costumes, music - it was all wonderful. I was captivated from the first moment and actually teared up at times! If you've spent the day visiting Choeung Ek, this is both a nice, relaxing change and a way to really drive home all that Cambodia has been through. Knowing that 90% of Khmer artists were killed in the 70s and then sitting in front of an amazing display of culture - it's so great to see brave people keeping Cambodian culture alive. Wish we were in the city for more nights so we could see the other two rotating performances!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

It was a good performance which lasted just an hour. My 5 yrs old boy was able to sit through the whole performance and enjoyed the Monkey dance very much. There were a lot of mosquitoes as it was held outdoor. So bring along your repellent and a fan too as it can get very hot. They also have fans for rental at USD1 each or you can purchase it at USD2.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A good show, but nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

For $10 entry, it's a great price to get an insight into Cambodian life and traditions. However, from everyone else's reviews on tripadvisor I must say I was expecting more.

The cast were enthusiastic and did a great job but I'd take a trip to the Killing Fields or Genocide Museum over this.

I feel a little bad that I've only given the show an average rating, I'm sure for the more cultured traveller, this would be a great find - it just wasn't for me.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Above expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We went to watch this show and it was above our expectations. Great performance, excellent costumes and a lot of enthousiasm from the performers. Although a bit expensive for cambodia it is worth the money as the show is really good and the money goes to a good cause. The performers are great actors as well and it is well worth it to watch their facial expression during the dances. Just one more remark if you decide to go and want to take pictures: do not use flash you are bothering the artists!! It is announced in the beginning of the show but apperently some people feel it does not apply to them as it is more important that they make the best picture... Please show a bit more respect and consideration than that to the artists and the rest of the audiance. Thank you!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plae Pakaa also viewed

 

Been to Plae Pakaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plae Pakaa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.