We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing like the pictures...and very noisy!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel to your Saves list
Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   #20R, Street 252, Phnom Penh 12300, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #70 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“nothing like the pictures...and very noisy!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I really don't have many positive things to say about this place. Very very noisy from building sites, the room not very clean.The day time staff pushy to sell us tours. The breakfast we got nothing we asked for, the cleaners cooking the breakfast. The water boiler didn't produce much hot water, mostly cold water.

Room Tip: Don't stay in hotel not worth it!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
5
33
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bucks england
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were only here 1 night and left very early next morning. Very quiet street but the entrance opens to a small garden area which could do with a bit more care and attention. As with several other reviews we were upgraded to a ground floor suite. Very nice but again lacked a little in care. One electric plug had been damaged so bare wire exposed. 10 minutes to fix it and minimal cost but not done. That said it had a safe and a good bathroom but not always hot water. Shower ok but in basin
the water was tepid.
We had to leave at 6.15am and asked for something to take with us for breakfast. They said no problem and we discussed a bagette and boiled eggs etc. Nothing appeared. The young man in charge in the day, who seems to cover all posts, had not fixed anything. The night man, a university student earning some money, tried to help. He prepared some rice for us, which was kind, but not what was promised.
Overall I would not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very good value for your money, very helpful staff !
Breakfast was OK, I got an upgrade to a very nice room with a private balcony.
Breakfast was ok but could be with a bit more varity, but nevertheless, great value for your money

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. When we arrived, we found the entrance/lobby/terrace area really quiet, in a sort of creepy way, not in a serene and peaceful way. The day-time staff guy was helpful, but also kind of pushy to sell the other property in siem reap and their bus company to get there. But he obliged all of our requests and questions.

He did try to give us an "upgraded" room right off the bat, which was located on the first floor right next to the foot of the stairs. The room was much bigger than a standard room, but had so many windows and was on the ground floor, so we were a little hesitant to stay in the upgraded room. When I asked to see the room we paid for, he said he gave it to someone else. I asked him how that's possible since we just arrived and didn't agree to the upgraded room. He magically found the room we paid for, which was still large enough and on the second floor, so much quieter.

The room itself was fine. Comfortable enough bed, clean floors and bathroom. The water boiler didn't produce much hot water, but it was lukewarm, which is to be expected for Cambodia. Overall, we found the room to be pleasant.

However, there was one evening when we were in our room and someone tried to come in unannounced. There was a slight knock on the door, then the knob turned a couple times. The door was locked, of course, and I immediately said, "hello?" or something, but there was no response and we heard footsteps walking away. It was a little unnerving. We had read one review about someone's property being stolen, so we were perhaps a bit paranoid. We would probably not stay here again, though.

Room Tip: Don't take the "upgrade!" It's a giant room on the first floor right next to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had a great room, clean and spatious with an outside balcony area. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was appetizing and delivered promptly. Also tried some of the other food from time to time, which was tasty and reasonably priced. The hotel is in a quiet location, but still reasonably close by tuk tuk to all of the main places of interest and restaurant and bar areas. Only thing missing was a pool, if this is on your must have list, then pay a few dollars more and stay at the larger Frangipani Hotel, however if you want quiet boutique hotel, this place is it.

Room Tip: If you want to arrange a tuk tuk for the whole day to see a lot of the sights, the hotel can arrange...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I enjoyed my week-long business stay. I arrived to find a clean and organized suite, an adequately stocked non alcoholic mini bar and snacks, a room safe and a decent closet with just enough hangers. The rooms and bathroom were cleaned daily. The staff is friendly, helpful and non intrusive. I found the breakfasts and meals reasonable, tasty, easy to order in writing on their individual order forms. No mistakes. The outside dining area is always clean and adequately covered against rain. I very much enjoyed the stay. It's location is convenient to other restaurants and center city attractions. Worth a stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I chose to stay here because the hotel seemed to have a certain 'yester-year' charm that we were keen to experience. The hotel lived up to our expectations and even exceeded them in many ways. The room was extremely spacious and the high ceilings give the appearance of even more space. The hotel has a hotel manager who runs the entire show on his own. There are a few folks in the kitchen who help out, but the manager himself is very friendly and goes out of his way to make you feel comfortable.

The hotel is located about 10mins away (by Tuk Tuk - costs about 2 USD for 2 people) from the hustle of Sisowath Quay.

We would strongly recommend this place if you're looking for a quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel

Address: #20R, Street 252, Phnom Penh 12300, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lush, leafy frontage of the Frangipani Villa-60’s boutique hotel conceals a carefully restored 1960’s villa of special character that gives guests an insight into the architecture of a period when Phnom Penh was known as the honeymoon capital of Asia. The hotel was restored by a team led by a Cambodian architect and a landscape designer and has 7 rooms, providing single, double, twin and suite accommodation. Guests can enjoy food and drinks throughout the day at the terrace cafe on the ground floor or relax in the comfortable outdoor seating surrounded by plants in the hotel’s garden. The Frangipani Villa-60’s hotel is centrally located providing ready access to all the popular sites in Phnom Penh as is just a few minutes walk from a good selection of restaurants, an international supermarket and ATM facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.