We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an exceptional villa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel to your Saves list
Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   #20R, Street 252, Phnom Penh 12300, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #70 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
S, B
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What an exceptional villa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our experience began the minute we were graciously met at the airport in Phnom Penh. The service at this wonderful villa is nothing short
of exceptional. They made us happy! Yes we felt special whether we were at the lobby, or the garden, spa, or restaurants. Everyone from
the door guy to the managers ensured we had a great time. What made our holiday more fun was the other holiday makers. We made
new friends with our fellow travellers at the bar and we actually shared a few dinners! My favourite is the spa - very very clean, great
scent, fantastic therapists, I couldn't get enough of their massage treatments. Very relaxing, very professional.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniManagement, Manager at Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for giving us an opportunity to service you during your stay at Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel. Your comments are valuable to us to improve our service and to ensure that our guests have a wonderful experience with Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you and your family at any of Frangipani Villa Hotel Group (Frangipani Villa-60s, Frangipani Villa-90s, Frangipani Villa Hotel, Frangipani Villa Hotel II, Frangipani Green Garden Hotel & Spa, Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel, and Frangipani Living Arts Hotel). The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
5
33
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The small villa really made me feel happy on the day i checked in as the staff were very helpful and very attentive to what you requests. Add more value to this villa, i can say that the garden is a plus for us to sit down to relax and to drink coffee. I definitely recommend to this place to others

Room Tip: studio room is very nnice to see greenary downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniManagement, Manager at Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for giving us an opportunity to service you during your stay at Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel. we keep working hard to meet your expectation. We look forward to welcoming you and your family at any of Frangipani Villa Hotel Group . The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This hotel has a good location, near the centre of Phnom Penh where night life concentrates. It offers pretty comfortable rooms,
with air conditioning, TV, free Wi-fi, hot water and windows in every room. The price per night is good compared to the services
offered. Very positive points in the service include cleaning of room and change of towels everyday. The manager and the owner
are very kind and ready to help the customer whatever need may he have. Staff is very kind, too. Sometimes it is possible to see
comings and goings of people as it offers Massage service, but it remains a safe and pretty quite place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniManagement, Manager at Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for giving us an opportunity to service you during your stay at Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel. We keep our service standard to meet your expecation. We look forward to welcoming you and your family at any of Frangipani Villa Hotel Group. The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed there for 3 days and it was great. I loved the service and the smiles....I read some reviews and knew why people appreciated this villa very much. Our room is brilliant and it was so comfortable...the service was absolutely top class and the staff was very helpful...i loved the shower...Rain style my favourite... great stay....loved it....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniManagement, Manager at Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for giving us an opportunity to service you during your stay at Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel. Your comments are valuable to us to improve our service and to ensure that our guests have a wonderful experience with Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you and your family at any of Frangipani Villa Hotel Group. The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We'd love to give this a top rating, but there is a high-rise being built right next door and the noise starts around 7:30 in the morning an lasts all day. Unfortunately, our bedroom wall was adjacent to the construction site and we had the noise during the day and a bright security light (from the construction site) all night.

SOME of the staff was quite attentive to our needs, but some seemed to be just learning their jobs with little "mentoring".

Overall, the experience was good, but not great.

Room Tip: Go for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniManagement, Manager at Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for giving us an opportunity to service you during your stay at Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel. Your comments are valuable to us to improve our service and to ensure that our guests have a wonderful experience with Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel. The construction is up at almost everywhere in Phnom Penh and the one close to Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel does not affect much to the environment in the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you and your family at any of Frangipani Villa Hotel Group (Frangipani Villa-60s, Frangipani Villa-90s, Frangipani Villa Hotel, Frangipani Villa Hotel II, Frangipani Green Garden Hotel & Spa, Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel, and Frangipani Living Arts Hotel). The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We booked this together with Frangipani Villa in Siem Reap online to get the 15% discount. We really loved the property in Siem Reap and we were expecting that this hotel would be the same.

As the name suggests, this hotel was built in the 1960s. The place and the room does show its age with old furniture to welcome you at their small lawn, and cabinets that do not close properly, and very imposing.

The room itself was ok, we got a room in the first floor and it had a living room area where the TV is, with a large cabinet to partition to the bed room. Since it is in the 1st floor, we opted to just lower the curtains. The bed itself was small and a queen bed would have been better. Lighting was bad, a lamp at the side of the room is the only source of light in the bed room.

It's an ok hotel if you will just be touring the entire day since it is very affordable. But if you are looking to have a relaxing stay, then perhaps you should consider the other Frangipani properties in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Try not to get the room at the first floor if you want some privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sokthearith, Manager at Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for choosing Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel for your stay and it was a great pleasure to serve you as our guest. We really appreciate your comments and we will take all your comments to improve our service so that we can service you once again at any place of Frangipani Villa Hotel Group. We accept the fact that the hotel is very old back to 1960s (it wa a golden age that Cambodia was prosperous and well developed comparing to other Southeast Asian countries) and it was renovated and upgraded to a boutique hotel in 2007. Given its ages, we are trying to maintain to make it function properly. Next time, hope to service you at the same place with new things renovated or at any of our property group. Best regards, The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

next to hotel is a construction building site..quite noise from 6 t0 21. if you would like to have a special guest from some nite place to stay with you ..the hotel policy is against you to enjoy such activity cause of they will doubt you are a sex tourist....I had been embrassed by the wording from staff and made my lady away with shame!!!

Room Tip: not recommend this time cause of noisy and darkness decoration in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sokthearith, Manager at Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. we accept the fact that there is a high building next to our hotel but it is not as noisy as you mentioned and also the against sex tourism policy being applied in Frangipani Villa Hotel Group as well as in many tourist places in Cambodia to make the guests feel safe and at home. Our staff are friendly and tried to accommodate the guests’ stay and not as rude as said. Our front desk staff always confirm number of guests and guests’ names once guests check in and will not allow to bring acquaintance to stay with inside the room. Moreover, we do not welcome sex tourists and those who really come to destroy Cambodia’s tourism sector and based on the government’s against sex tourism policy, person who committed such kind of act will be jailed for certain number of years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel

Address: #20R, Street 252, Phnom Penh 12300, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lush, leafy frontage of the Frangipani Villa-60’s boutique hotel conceals a carefully restored 1960’s villa of special character that gives guests an insight into the architecture of a period when Phnom Penh was known as the honeymoon capital of Asia. The hotel was restored by a team led by a Cambodian architect and a landscape designer and has 7 rooms, providing single, double, twin and suite accommodation. Guests can enjoy food and drinks throughout the day at the terrace cafe on the ground floor or relax in the comfortable outdoor seating surrounded by plants in the hotel’s garden. The Frangipani Villa-60’s hotel is centrally located providing ready access to all the popular sites in Phnom Penh as is just a few minutes walk from a good selection of restaurants, an international supermarket and ATM facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.