We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and cause” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Daughters of Cambodia Restaurant, and Sugar and Spice Cafe

The Daughters of Cambodia Restaurant, and Sugar and Spice Cafe
65, Street 178, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
+855 89 910 203
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 680 restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Cambodian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had a lovely BLT and banana shake plus cupcake. Great service and lovely done with shop and spa. Great cause

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    120
    35
    14
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great place for a snack!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I stopped here for a snack before visiting the Royal Palace. I had the best Chocolate Brownie I have had in Cambodia! Great value and for a good cause!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We went to daughters for a late lunch. I had the club sandwich which came with home-made fries and chutney. My husband had a pumpkin and avocado salad. The meals were $5 each but were the best meals we have had in PP. The service was lovely as all the girls were friendly. We purchased a few gifts at the shop and found the whole shop/cafe setting very relaxed and friendly. Would definitely recommend a visit and all for such an important cause!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We went there for a cup of coffee and a delicious brownie. The girls, who are working there, are very friendly. The souvenirs are more expensive than elsewhere, but of good quality, unique and eventually you are there for a good cause.
My husband and I bought some T-Shirts with some lovely themes. The quality is excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you're in Cambodia, you just have to go to 'Daughters of Cambodia'! My friends and I wanted to support the cause so thought we'd stop by for a quick bite to eat but we ended up staying far longer because we just loved the whole atmosphere of the place! The food in the cafe upstairs is so delicious. I had a yummy salad which was a welcome treat after 8 weeks of asian food! We all loved our meals and the waitresses were really friendly. The shop itself has some lovely things to buy and is a great place to buy presents for people back home because you're not only helping a wonderful cause, the things are genuinely lovely and of great quality! A few of us regretted having already bought some presents in other places where the quality isn't good and we were most likely ripped off! However, there's a lot of beautiful things here to choose from.

I even went back the following day and had a mani - pedi which was very well done and relaxing. Again, it all goes to such a good cause!

So please stop by if you're in Pnohm Penh - it's so worth it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Daughters of Cambodia Restaurant, and Sugar and Spice Cafe also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Daughters of Cambodia Restaurant, and Sugar and Spice Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Daughters of Cambodia Restaurant, and Sugar and Spice Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.