We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Daughters of Cambodia Restaurant, and Sugar and Spice Cafe
65, Street 178, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
+855 89 910 203
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 787 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Cambodian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Some Entrees OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Went for lunch today with three others. Two had cheeseburgers with fries which were quite good but small. One had Spicy Chicken with fries. Chicken and fries deep-fried but good. I had pork & mango crepe. It was OK if you like lots of mango and very little pork! The pork was overcooked, dry, and tough. My side vegetable was nothing to rave about. I wouldn't order this again. Their menu is limited for lunch or dinner and the prices a bit excessive compared to other many nearby western food restaurants. It's for a good cause but I am wondering it that is an adequate reason to be a bit sparse with the food and with elevated prices when there are countless other places to eat in the area.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    48
    27
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious food that supports a good cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011 via mobile

NGO run cafe located above the Daughters of Cambodia visitor centre. Delicious food including the best fish n chips in town - trust me, I've tried a lot of fish n chips around Phnom Penh and Sugar and Spice puts the rest to shame - including Fish Cafe and FCC.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great food and goods for a great cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Plenty of shops in Phnom Pehn dedicated to charities/NGOs etc, but this one has a cafe above the shop serving breakfast, light lunches and snacks. I just had cake and tea. All cakes made on premises and fantastic. Upstairs balcony with view over street below. Shop has a good range of goods made by the women including interesting necklaces made from beads and buttons, Xmas decorations and lovely tea towels made from 100pc cotton. The organisation helps women who are in the sex industry create new lives for themselves.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Run by the Daughters of Cambodia, this restaurant teaches young people rescued from the streets of Phnom Penh to wait tables.

So you get good food with one heck of a purpose.

The drinks -- coffee drinks and smoothies -- are fantastic. The sandwiches are tasty. I had a fine hamburger and my wife enjoyed her grilled pepper salad and tomato-basil soup.

The service is something to behold. The young people take their jobs seriously. Our waitress overflowed with personality (she brought out a dress to show us that she had just purchased at the Central Market). The young man behind the counter is always smiling.

A great place for lunch.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great dining to help a meaningful cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We went to this cafe above Daughters of Cambodia today and were so pleasantly surprised of this fabulous cafe. The food was fresh and delicious, plus the service was warm, friendly and fast. They serve mostly Western-cafe style food., i.e., sandwiches, burgers, fish and chips, etc, and muffins, cupcakes, cookies, etc., and everything is made onsite. We had the fish and chips (the best fries we've had in Asia!) and the chicken and mango sandwhich on a fresh baguette, and then topped off the meal with a chewy brownie served with vanilla ice cream...oh, it was so good! Plus, I had a great cappuccino, too.

The staff of the cafe are young women who have left the sex trade industry (told most of them were forced into it) to seek rehabilitation, gain new life skills to be self-sufficient, and support to reintegrate back into society to be contributing members of their community. By dining here, not only will you have a great meal, but you'll be supporting a great cause, too!

Also, on the first level, there's a store, Daughters of Cambodia, with wonderful, handmade finds, ie., clothes, handbags, pillows and jewelry, etc., and a small spa to get manicures, pedicures, and neck and shoulder massages. After lunch, I had a pedicure and bought several items from the store.

I was really impressed with the quality of the cafe and products in the store as well the wonderful customer service. I HIGHLY recommend this place!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Daughters of Cambodia Restaurant, and Sugar and Spice Cafe also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Daughters of Cambodia Restaurant, and Sugar and Spice Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Daughters of Cambodia Restaurant, and Sugar and Spice Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.