We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bloom Cafe & Training Centre

Bloom Cafe & Training Centre
#40 Street 222 | Sangkat Beung Raing, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12211, Cambodia
+855 77 757 500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 870 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“An oasis in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I accompanied my 17 year old daughter and 2 of her friends to this amazing place. As we walked in the relaxing and welcoming atmosphere hit us. It was bright, cheery and the women were smiling and looked happy. The cake display looked very pleasing and delicious. The prices were fantastic and the taste of cakes and drinks were wonderful. The seats were really comfy and we stayed for a while talking. It was great meeting the owner as well. Also knowing that the money was going towards helping Cambodian women made us want to spread the word. I recommend a visit to this cafe.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    16
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phuket Town, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Over priced cup cakes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Why so expensive?? These cup cakes are the same price as I pay for a cup cake back in Sydney, yet we all know there is a considerable difference in business costs between Sydney and Phnom Penh, so how does that work out? Western owned, guess they are wanting to charge western prices for the western expats to get a Western income??

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray l, Owner at Bloom Cafe & Training Centre, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Hi Richard, thanks for visiting Bloom. Just to provide some insight about Bloom, I think you would be pleased to hear that it is actualy a non profit training centre for Cambodian women, so there is no profit going to foreign owners.

But as to the prices themselves, each cupcake has hand made sugar art, plus to make the cakes to the quality our customers enjoy, we do need to import a lot of the ingredients so this is why there is a differential with a local backery and coffee shop. (And also why you don't see the same cupcakes anywhere else in town!)

There are other bigger cupcakes available around town, but they are also twice the price of ours (eg. $3). Our philosophy is that people would prefer to try two flavours rather than one bigger one... for the same money. Anyway, that is a little bit of info about Bloom, and thanks again for coming to see us.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This place makes the best-looking cakes in town. The staff are friendly and will sit with you to design a cake. It's impressive what they can do with sugar icing. They also deliver the cake for $5.

I have also sampled the cupcakes, which are delicious. But at $1.50 a pop, they could be bigger in size, as they are mini-cupcakes.

The coffee here is also delicious.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bloom is the Bomb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The Most amazing cafe in all of Phnom Penh! The coffee is superb but the cakes are phenomenal! The atmosphere is cozy and stylish and it's a great place to dump your heat after a long day in the city!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great cupcakes in Phnom Penh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Somewhat incongruously this little cafe puts out very good cupcakes which one struggles to eat because the designs are so amazing. Though the taste can't compare to places like "Hummingbird" the designs make up for it. The staff are very competent and friendly too. Furthermore, the one time I had a coffee, it was excellent. Definitely recommended. Only issue is cupcakes are quite expensive $1.50 for Phnom Penh and they do no discount. They also make it impossibly complicated to tip the staff which is disappointing...

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloom Cafe & Training Centre also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Bloom Cafe & Training Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloom Cafe & Training Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.