We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet elegance in a chaotic city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Mansion Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added White Mansion Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
White Mansion Boutique Hotel
26 Street 240, Phnom Penh 12207, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Westborough, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet elegance in a chaotic city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived in Phnom Penh at about 11pm after travelling from Boston to NY to Seoul to PP, not sure what to expect and dead tired. The guide we had hired was there to meet us and deliver to our hotel - yay! When we arrived at the White Mansion we were very pleasantly surprised. It is a lovely boutique hotel with a simple but elegant lobby and a sense of quiet while the city outside is not. Our room at the front corner of the hotel on the 2nd floor was big and beautiful. The bathroom was lovely and spotless. In addition the manager was lovely and could not have been more attentive and the cafe served a great breakfast and great coffee!! Loved it!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    194
    30
    15
    2
See reviews for
172
478
75
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here in Phnom Penh for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful, greeted us and took us to our room. Rooms were huge, breakfast was fantastic with a range of choices. Power went out during our arrival but staff were overly helpful making sure we were okay. each morning we were greeted by the lovely staff and they always enquired of our plans for the day giving us helpful tips. would defiantly stay again. place was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Not entirely sure why someone would give a bad review to this hotel. Location is very good (central) and just a short tuk tuk ride or adventurous walk to many interesting areas. The staff were fantastic and very welcoming. Check in was a breeze and they even got us checked in quite early which was not necessary but very much appreciated. We quite enjoyed the decor of the rooms which had both an old style and new style feel. The bathrooms are very large and the entire room was very clean. The hotel staff also set out a plate of fresh local fruits and a desert plate for us as well which was complimentary. Only problem was a slightly loud air conditioner. Choices for breakfast were fine with us. Did not use the pool facilities although they looked very nice from the room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The White Mansion was a good value boutique hotel for our brief stay in Phnom Penh. Service was excellent - we arrived in the late afternoon on New Year's Eve and had all our evening's entertainment organised for us in a matter of moments. The rooms are of a decent size but ours did have a view over a car park. The breakfasts were generous with four/five set options. Overall, a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is housed in the former US embassy and has been tastefully reconfigured. The hotel reception staff are excellent as is Le Cafe the hotel dining area. It has a neat boutique pool area that makes the most of the limited room available but it is still 25 metres long. If you want a massive pool you won't get it in PP.

The rooms are spacious and we never heard anyone outside the room as per a previous review. The staff were timely and efficient. We actually got a decent coffee as good as you can find in a good cafe in Australia.

Breakfast is quality and prices are reasonable . They have a small boutique area selling handicrafts made by disabled people. Normally this stuff is poor quality. The handbags my wife bought for around $22 US were outstanding and were obviously selected to fit in well with the quality of the place.

We came with my family and could recommend the hotel as a quality Oasis in a busy city that is a $2 tuk tuk ride to the restaurants and action of Sisowath Quay and the palace.

If you want a Raffles style experience at half the price consider this.



Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Maybe I missed what the other reviewers who have given the White Mansion top scores saw.

Yes the rooms are big, yes they are furnished, yes they've got a large bathroom, etc. However, the rooms feel cold. Decoration-wise they're painted white and black, and for me they were missing something that made the rooms (or the hotel interior) unique, unusual or linked to Phnom Penh.

The attached cafe is good for breakfast (which was included in the rate), but at other times the service was really slow (30 minutes for a sandwich to arrive felt overly long especially when it arrived).

As I say maybe we missed what others saw.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel, those at the back (especially on the 1st floor) have a pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hppwm, Guest Relations Manager at White Mansion Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Let me first thank you for posting a positive review about your stay with us.

To answer your question (did I miss something that other reviewers saw?), the answer is no.

I mean you wrote that you were disappointed with the design of the rooms. We perfectly understand that: when it comes about design, colors, decoration and taste, we, of course, cannot please everyone. Your tastes are simply different from our designer and from 90% of our guests. It is perfectly understandable that you did not miss anything, you just looked at it differently. The choice was made to emphasis on what is unique in Phnom Penh about White Mansion: the incredible volume of the existing former American Residence, by having clear, white and pure walls. The design aims to bring you a notion of Grandeur and Privilege.

What makes the junior Suite design unique in Phnom Penh, you wondered. This:
- Size of the room (over 400sqft)
- High ceiling with molding
- Modern Cambodian hand made furniture and pieces of art (cabinet, desk, sofa, chairs, bathroom furniture, head beds, etc).
- Imported marble floor

Once again, thank you for your review.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
Guest Relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed there 4 nights and had a great stay. Super friendly staff, very helpfull and service minded, clean and big rooms, small restaurant with nice and healthy breakfast choices.
Nice pool, free wifi, well just positive things to say about the Mansion. Do not miss if you are staying in Phonm Penh.

Room Tip: Ask for room 415, great overlook over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Mansion Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mansion Boutique Hotel

Address: 26 Street 240, Phnom Penh 12207, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Mansion is the historical Residence of the American Embassy in Phnom Penh, unique charming Boutique hotel located right in the heart of the city. Only few steps away from all major highlights and business area in a very quiet environment.A unique experience of Phnom Penh... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your White Mansion Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Mansion Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.