We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KAREN IS A GEM! This hotel should be in the No. 1 spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Mansion Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added White Mansion Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
White Mansion Boutique Hotel
26 Street 240, Phnom Penh 12207, Cambodia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“KAREN IS A GEM! This hotel should be in the No. 1 spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

It was our first time in Cambodia and we felt we were the luckiest people in the world to have discovered the White Mansion.

I know. My opening statement seems extraordinarily unrealistic. Truth be told, I believe it to be one hundred percent correct. You may check my previous reviews. I have stayed in a number of good hotels all over the world. This may not be a Raffles, Peninsula or Mandarin. BUT being a smaller hotel benefits their guests because they will get first class personalized service.

I agree with previous reviews. We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor ratings. I will not waste your time and reiterate what has been previously posted. Instead, I will put my personal anecdotes of my stay.

We were WARMLY greeted by the staff of the White Mansion. Shout out goes to the elegant and gracious General Manager Madame Moon. She gave stellar restaurant recommendations. She even shared tips on shopping,dining and transportation. One night, when our tuktuk driver got lost on our way to Armand restaurant, we called her on her personal mobile phone to ask her to direct our driver to right place. Wonderful service.

But what made our experience EXTRAORDINARILY OUT OF THIS WORLD was the level of service KAREN gave us. AMAZING can't even begin to describe this lady who seems to be running the whole hotel. When she learned that we were in Phnom Penh for business and that we needed as much help as possible, she disappeared into her office and within minutes (no exaggeration) came up with a whole list and itinerary of people and places to visit and meet for possible business. She also arranged our transportation to the said places. No task was too small and no question was unanswered. If she didn't have the answer immediately of the top of her head, she will magically find the answer and get back to us within a few minutes. In fact, we LOVED her so much that we seriously thought of pirating her and bringing her back home with us! LOL! She's so efficient.

She also introduced us to trustworthy sellers in the Russian Market. That helped us tremendously and we didn't need to waste time haggling with the sellers. They just gave us the best price they possibly could.

After numerous meetings with suppliers, including a trip to Silk Island (which Karen arranged for us), I got sick on my last night. I couldn't bear to get out of bed to eat dinner and ordered room service instead. She sent a Get Well Soon card along with some medicines/vitamins for me to take to feel better.

White Mansion is extremely lucky to have Karen in their hotel. Our first business trip to Phnom Penh was tremendously successful primarily because of her and Ryan. We look forward to more business trips to Phnom Penh now. We will MOST DEFINITELY stay in White Mansion Hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 13 on the second floor, just one flight of stairs up. They do have an elevator if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    193
    30
    14
    3
See reviews for
169
476
75
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The right place to stay in PP for business or leisure ,near from all the places to visit or restaurants and clubs, excellent staff always friendly and helpful. Never pushy to ask the guests to spend money I drinks ....The General Manager and The lady in charge of the guests always on board to look after the guests and the quality of service !!
The spa very good quality and real fair prices , the pool ...wonderful in themiddleof the city,and the suite we had was great ! No Noise good beds all amenities there and wifi everywhere in the hotel even in the garden/pool !!!
We had a real nice stay and we will go back there for our next stay . Thank you Mrs. Moune...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hppwm, General Manager at White Mansion Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear ''Visalux",

I am evidently enchanted to read from your lines that you enjoyed your stay with us at the White Mansion and that you described the property as "The best place to stay in Phnom Penh"
I strive,since day one,to focus on my patron"s well being and it is so gratifying to receive such comment that seems to prove that I somehow doing a good job!!
Our vision for the property is precisely in line with what you mention and such comment will evidently strengthen even more our motivation.

With best regards,

Mrs Sao Moun Daung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

White Mansion is not your usual boutique hotel. The design is intricately elegant, a very cozy place.

Checking in is fast and hassle free. They provided cool towels and quenching watermelon drink. Staffs are friendly but not intrusive and pushy. They showed us the hotel before leading us to our room. There is a small boutique at the corner run by a local NGO if u dont have enough time to go shopping at the markets. Pool is great! I was able to do my regular 10 laps in the morning. There are also several intimate shaded lounges and sun decks. A business center equiped with printer pc and fax plus a games area for those who are travelling with kids. I tried the deep tissue massage twice which is soooooooo relaxing. I never heard the masseuse talking or complaining about anything just a smile before and after the theraphy. For me its just perfect and professional.

When i first entered our room, i knw that this is my hotel! The aircon is on, there are fresh fruits and flowers , big cabinets to store our luggages, 2 tvs, high ceilings very clean and fresh. The bed is comfortable with reading lights and they have a pillow menu. The dark classy furnitures are well picked and arranged. A portfolio about the Phnom Penh is also provided. I requested a room with balcony as my husband smokes. It gives you the taste of the city.

The cafe has a vibrant aura. It is very clean and the food is yummy. I love how they prepare their breakfast its not the usual boring buffet. The food is hot and you have lots of options. I had my perfect egg benedict after staying 2 weeks in SEA. You can either choose from their set or mix and match them. The staffs speaks good english and attentive and its really a plus factor for me being very picky with food. They are well trained i must say.

The front desk staffs helped us with everything. Being new with place im quite anxious but they made us feel safe and comfortable. They were the ones talking to the tuktuk drivers where we want to go and even bargaining for us. They explained to us how and where to get from one place to another and the history beyond it. Its really interesting. The restaurant that we want to go is fully book so they recommend us to the place just down the road. The staffs seems to be enjoying what theyre doing not only because its a part of their job. Their GM is very kind. Shes always at front greeting everyone.

White Mansion is not really our first choice, but the hotel we initially wanted is full but guest what? Our White Mansion experience was the best part of our SEA journey. A real fab hotel with awesome staffs and delightful service. This is my home in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

we had a wonderful stay at the white mansion. the room was huge, really comfortable and well styled. the customer service of the staff was impressive, anything you asked for was not a problem, and everything was done with a smile. great hotel, great location, great service, book this hotel. i will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Based on TA reviews, we booked at this hotel.
While we cannot say it is a horrible place, the review seem too generous for the price you pay.
Rooms are large, with standard cheap furniture. We can hear people passing in the corridor, in their neighboring room, no sound insulation.
Where most of the hotels we considered in Phnom Penh offer breakfast as part of their room rates, this one alludes you to book with them at a "special price" and shocks you with 11 $ extra per person, for a basic nothing to salivate on breakfast. Their yogurt is so sour it seems like it is expired and breakfast offers a recycling opportunity.
To add insult to injury, we tried their spa and instead of coming out relaxed, we were nearly crying to the plight of their therapist, who was explaining to us the miserable salary reinforced by a very sour face (all this while we were getting our treatment). The poor person might have eaten an even more expired yogurt than us.
Seriously speaking not a bad building, but not worth its rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I booked on Wotif for 2 nights and found it a beautiful boutique hotel at an excellent value for money. We were told it was only opened after extensive renovations in January this year being the old American Ambassadors residence. Large room with nice touches such as cookies, fresh fruit platter daily and plenty of complimentary bottled water.

The service was great, very attentive although a few seemed a little nervous in their need to please at times. The breakfast in the cafe was included and plenty for us with plenty of choice.. The pool was a lovely way to relax at the end of a hot day exploring the city with a mojito in hand. There was a little notice around during the day which is expected in the middle of the city but over night it was very quiet.

Would recommend to anyone who likes the more personal boutique type hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Have been visiting PNH for business and vacation since 1994 and have stayed in many properties

Stayed 5 nights on level 4

room had a large balcony and was very light

Phnom Penh is now flooded with properties claiming to be boutique with very few living up to the title.

This property is probably one of the best in the category - the room was reasonably sized and most importantly the bathroom was excellent ( usually the downfall of most properties ) namely

well lit

good large shower that didn't send water cascading over the bathroom

good toilet facilities with decent quality toilet tissue

room decor is quite sophisticated and room amenities were good inc tea/coffee, hairdryer and iphone charger

good house keeping

landscaping was excellent with very nice lap pool

staff friendly and efficent

Restaurant was ok but there is better food outside

very good value for the price $55 per night - i would stay again

Downsides

towels in room - with such a good bathroom its a pity towels are not of a similar standard

check in fee - I arrived at 1030hrs and was asked to pay an early arrival fee of $20 which I agreed to but given the property was not full and my stay duration I was a little surprised

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Mansion Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mansion Boutique Hotel

Address: 26 Street 240, Phnom Penh 12207, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Mansion is the historical Residence of the American Embassy in Phnom Penh, unique charming Boutique hotel located right in the heart of the city. Only few steps away from all major highlights and business area in a very quiet environment.A unique experience of Phnom Penh... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your White Mansion Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Mansion Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.