We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kabbas

Kabbas
#166, Street 13 | Sangkat Chey Chum Nah, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 775 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Across the road from Friends Restaurant
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

As with most other people who seemed to have stumbled across this little gem, we were initially trying to get into Friends restaurant across the road, but after a long queue, which didn't get any shorter we decided to give this place a try, and are glad we did.

The menu was a mx of both Khmer and Western; we opted for Khmer. The flavours and quantity did not disappoint. We were blown away by the flavours and the heat in some of the dishes. This was nicely washed down by our $2 beers.

The staff were really friendly, and happy, and we were entertained by a group having an impromptu street party a couple of doors up.

The service was quick and efficient, (although arrival of dishes slightly sporadic) the price reasonable for the huge quantities.

Would definitely recommend this place as a back up to friends, or even just because...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“A nice gem tucked away.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a nice gem of a place. Was there late afternoon, after lunch crowd, so it was quiet.
Staff was friendly and attentive. The wait staff are eager to talk to customers, because they are university students wanting to practice speaking English. It was a great way to find out more about Phnom Penh.
Food was reasonable. Had snacks - the steamed spring rolls and peas fritter. The Lime juice was bit too sweet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent food, but overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Kabbas offers some decent meals, but not to the quality one would expect for the price you pay here. Four people should be able to eat a light lunch in Phnom Penh for less than US$ 20, but don't expect that at Kabbas. Compared with the children's charity restaurant across the street, I would recommend Kabbas, but with the many other decent restaurants in the area, I would not eat here again. The food offerings are not especially unique and the service doesn't hold a candle to most restaurants in the same price range.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Food! Nice dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We also found this place after Friends was full but it was a very pleasant surprise. One of the best meals Ive had in Vietnam/Cambodia so far. We had the Kmer curry (my fav and recommended by the staff), sweet and sour fish, spring rolls and banana shakes. All very tastey and delicious. The staff were very friendly and it was a pleasant dining experience Id recommend!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, wonderful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We walked through the city looking for a place to rent a bike. We stopped at Kabbas, as they had a sign and bikes standing in front of their restaurant. Inside, there are many handwritten "reviews" of previous, international customers, obviously all more than content with the food!

After returning the bikes in the evening, we decided to stay and give it a shot ourselves - we we're not disappointed. The food was great, very tasty - we went for some Khmer Curry (Amok).

The people working there were wonderful, so friendly, all smiles, just a great place for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Give it a try, I am sure you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabbas also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Kabbas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kabbas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.