We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms, but cool lobby/restaurant area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Number 9 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Number 9 Hotel to your Saves list
Number 9 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7c St. 258 (Longet) | Behind Landscap Hotel, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
new york city
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Average rooms, but cool lobby/restaurant area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

While our room wasn’t terrible, it wasn’t very cool either. Pretty basic, no windows. However, the lobby/restaurant area has a cool vibe and great wifi, so we ended up hanging there and getting some work done. Within walking distance from a bunch of mani/pedi and massage places as well as cheap laundry! We bought our first night on Agoda and then negotiated a further-reduced rate, which we paid up front in cash for the rest of our nights there.

Room Tip: Ask for one with wifi as the wifi doesn't reach to all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    52
    47
    31
    10
See reviews for
11
52
36
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Clean rooms, $25 a night for a double, small swimming pool on the roof that was well needed after a sweaty day in Phnom Penh ( a bit dirty though) . Right next to the palace and the river, lots of good places to eat within walking distance

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Going by the website pictures, my friend and I were really excited about staying here. While our budget was $15 per night for our holiday in Cambodia, we thought it was ok to stretch it to $25 for this leg, as the property seemed promising, and we felt we could do with a wee bit of luxury. But it was perhaps the worst choice in our 10-day stay in Cambodia.

We had already booked with them over internet and a couple of days before we were to reach Phnom Penh, I shot out a mail to them requesting information about how far they are from the Bus Station and whether they have pick services. I got no response.

When I mentioned that to them at checkin, the receptionist said they can't access mails. What?? You are

Also the receptionist looked utterly annoyed about speaking to us. He wanted to get done with us as soon as possible and our attempt at familiarizing ourselves with the surroundings and the city were met with irritation and frustrated looks, while he did pass on the information without our eyes meeting. Which was not the case when he was speaking to other white-skinned women.

Later that evening when we returned from outside, there was someone else at the reception and he was quite helpful and cheerful. We booked a bike through him. It was $6 for a day. And he needed one of our passport. So we give it to him. He reconfirmed that the bike would arrive at 0645am, as we wanted to leave at 0700 am. All was good, till at 0715am in the morning there was no sign of the bike. A couple of calls later there was no development. At 0745 my friend climbed down 4 stairs to sort the matter. Apparently, they had understood it at a bicylce. I wonder which country takes your passport to ride bicycles? Anyways they took one dollar more for a motorbike and said it would arrive in 15 minutes.

15 minutes later we get a call from the reception saying they would like to speak with us in person. When we head down and the grumpy receptionist from the previous day tells us that we have to deposit $800 to take the bike out, because we are Indians!! When we asked him why he hadn't clarified the same the previous day, he honeslty didn't seem to care. We offered to deposit $100 with a promise to be extra careful with the bike. It didn't work. When we told him how he had set our plans back by almost 2 hours and didn't know how we should head out now, he seemed unconcerned and shrugged his shoulder saying 'Take a tuk-tuk'. We were pretty furious, but it seemed pointless to have a conversation. We did take a tuk-tuk eventually and were happy to check out of that place.

They erased our happy memories of the most helpful and gentle people we met at our other stay in Cambodia.

The rooms were indeed clean and comfortable. The a/c was initially working, but in the night it just seemed to go dead. We honestly didn't bother about it as we were only there one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I changed rooms 3 times (my own fault), 1 room was great but the other 2 werent very good. The beds were very uncomfortable and the rooms had poor lighting and no view.
Pricing was quite expensive for SE Asia, that being said, the meals were excellent.
My favourite part was the service, in particular Chandy. He was really helpful, had great English and made my stay really enjoyable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This place was pretty expensive as far as SeA, It looks great in all the photos but the rooms aren't actually that nice. Initially we were put in a room with a window right on to the bar/pool table area. We asked to be moved because we knew it would be really noisey. The staff were nice and moved us the next day when a different room became available. Our second room was much quieter, but smelled of cigarettes and was pretty bland. The common areas are really nice though. One annoying thing is that the hotel lets tuk tuk drivers loiter outside the doors so you can't walk in or out the building without being harassed by half a dozen drivers. Not very relaxing.

Room Tip: Make sure you find out where your room is. Many have windows are right on the bar area on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here nov 2013 as part of a group of ladies on the hunt for nightlife, shopping and sightseeing.
Overall we had a great experience here; the beds/rooms were clean and comfy, staff were friendly and attentive and the hotel in general was aesthetically pleasing.
Happy hour provided an extensive choice of buy one get one free cocktails ($3) and the food was really tasty whether it be a traditional Khmer curry or a Greek salad. Relaxing in the outdoor jacuzzi with cocktail service was easily the best way to cool off after a full day of shopping near the Russian market or taking a trip to the killing fields. Tuk Tuks were a-plenty outside the hotel making both very easily accessible.
The only criticism I have about our stay here is that when we asked about staying an extra night for the same price we were told we needed to move to another cheaper room (no problem), so we booked it at reception. However after packing up an checking out of our original room we were told no other booking had been made and the only option was to return to our room and pay more: they would not rectify their mistake and give us a discount. I put this down to miscommunication but really we should have received a discount for the cheaper room not being booked.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to holiday makers with a bit of disposable cash and traveling workers for a pay day treat.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We all had a terrible nights sleep at this hotel. My room was near the kitchen/bar so noisy plus the 'window' opens out to the hallway opposite the kitchen and the curtain wasn't thick enough to darken the room. Another friend had a room near the laundry - machines going all night and staff talking, and the other couldn't lock the shutters that opened directly outside so had a bad nights sleep worrying about that. Staff were fine and the rooms were small but cheap and clean. 1 of the showers flooded. We didn't eat there and didn't see anyone else eating there but there are other options close by. The pool on the roof is a small 'have a dip' kind of pool, more the size of a spa pool, which we didn't use but if you simply wanted to cool off then it would be good to have it. We asked for wake up calls, 2 our of 3 of us got them. Internet went off in the night and didn't come back on. For one night like we wanted, it was OK, but it did leave us pretty tired for the next day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Number 9 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 9 Hotel

Address: 7c St. 258 (Longet) | Behind Landscap Hotel, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 9 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Number 9 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 9 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.