We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Royal

Le Royal
92 Rukhak Vithei Daun Penh | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 775 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Cambodian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The restaurant Le Royal is the restaurant of THe Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
573 reviews 573 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
456 helpful votes 456 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We dropped in here for dinner on our first night at the hotel - what a great experience! We chose the special tasting menu for the Chinese new year - and were rewarded with a fantastic feast that delighted our taste buds.
Yes it is a bit pricey, but we felt that we deserved a special treat at the end of our 3+ weeks in Vietnam & Cambodia.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    6
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Food is fine. Wonderful, in fact. My favorite part about this restaurant is actually the pace. It makes you slow down, really ask your date how they're doing, & celebrate the gift of taste buds. They march to the beat of their own drumline distinct from the go go go just outside.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“The Elephant Bar : Colonial Charm From A Bygone Era”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you are looking to spend a relaxing afternoon, in elegant surroundings, look no further than The Elephant Bar at Raffles Le Royal.
From 4.00pm to 9.00pm is happy hour which makes it doubly delightful to sit by the large arch windows soaking in the sunshine and sipping the sumptuous cocktails.
The service is first class, as would be expected in such an establishment, and the food we ordered from Café Monivong, was delectable.

Our cocktails included Singapore Sling and Phnom Penh Signature Cocktail, which were served with a selection of nibbles, Mojito, and Long Island Iced Tea.
We ordered Sihanoukville Crab Cakes, Baba ganoush , Hommos, Pita Bread and Olives which were served with a bowl of six different varieties of dinner rolls. To finish, we ordered Irish Coffee, which, I must be say, is the best I have ever tasted.
Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend The Elephant Bar, if you want to spend an afternoon in style, and not too concerned about your budget.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awful!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here last week with my wife. Happened upon the hotel and decided to treat ourselves! Wish we hadn't!! Had some taster menu which included breakfast leftovers! Could not eat any of the food, Total rip off!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“hyper-colonial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you hate a large, ornate, colonial dining room with few guests and an almost eerie silence (at least until such time as the piano player starts), stay away. If you don't like waiters dressed as penguins hovering around your table fussing over you continuously, stay away.

I do, occasionally, enjoy this thought and so, even though I was alone, enjoyed my dinner here, which was well-cooked.

If you enjoy this kind of thing, you'll like it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Royal also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.