We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“safest hotel in PP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Marais Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Marais Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Le Marais Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
No. 33, street 222, Phnom Penh 12211, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“safest hotel in PP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

im stayed here for 3 nite, serve with fanstastic breakfast, the stuff is helpful & friendly,
this hotel serve with 4 star facilities, even u can rent the local handphone which i think is very helpful to tourist, hotel is super clean, even they provide in house massage ,,tuk tuk (local taxi)is just infront the hotel almost 24hrs, most important is hotel is safe for all our belonging.
wifi is not issue at all`, good connection.quite & cosy places.
Highly recommended friendly hotel.good job guys.-gary

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    21
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
14
57
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Lovely small hotel in PP. do not expect lush green surroundings as you are in the city but they do have a very nice small pool.
Staff are welcoming and very helpful attending to all your needs including organizing tuk tuk drivers at a good price and asking you what you would like for breakfast the night before.
The room I had was very spacious with a lovely sitting area inside and out. Gorgeous room. Excellent cleanliness.
Breakfast was good get the croissants they are fabulous and probably fattening.
I met the hotel owners wife who sponsors local street children. Lovely compassionate lady. All staff spoke good English.
They had arranged our bus tickets to seim reap. We left the hotel by tuk tuk to get the bus and all of a sudden one of the hotel staff was beside us on a motorbike as we had forgot our bus tickets. Highly recommend hotel.
DO NOT USE FORD TRANSIT to seim reap horrible experience. We chose the company not the hotel. We thought going in a smaller vehicle for a 5 hour instead of 6 hour ride would be more comfortable. NOT they overloaded the van with 10 people and there was no room for luggage (they were surprised we
had luggage) The driver was insane he drove so fast over a very poor highway. We got a flat which he was driving on for about 20 minutes and only pulled over because of other drivers- we all felt it go flat as it was like he hit something but did not stop. There was a spare tire but not in working because we had to wait one hour for a tire to be delivered. During this our we were besiged with children trying to
sell to us. The bus company did not even provide a cold bottle of water which other companies do. Once on our way again the driving was even more erratic and it was getting dark. At one point he almost hit a child on a bike and swerved so sharply we were all tossed around. This was the most expensive bus ticket I have purchased in Asia and the worst ride and service. We arrive one hour late in seim reap on some dark street and then the driver took off leaving us alone with random tuk tuk drivers. Next time I will spend $3 less and take Mekong express they are much better.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

nice and quite location in a "nicer" residential area, but still close to all the attractons (you may ask what attractions there are in PP, but that's a different topic and has nothing to do with hotel).
We had a very nice room (top floor with terrace, which is not really necessary as you won't get to use the terrace - Not to scenic to be sitting up there and watching the derelict properties around), which was clean, but rather bright and hot. Rather expensive for what you get.
The pool is very small and I am not sure if anybody would actually use it.

Breakfast was good. The best we had during our trip in Cambodia.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I think fir this price you can find something much better in Phnom Penh.
The room was really small not at all that you can see on the web page! And not really clean!
The staff was not so helpfull and don't give us any advice about what to do in the city!
The pool is really small... And not so nice!
I suspect that the review there are not so objectif! All together this more a bed and breakfast as a hotel!
The breakfast was basic but ok!
You can find much better in the same price in the city!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here on 2 occasions in our holiday. I highly recommend staying here if you want a great night's rest with friendly and attentive staff in modern , clean and luxurious rooms. Breakfast was included and was the best we had in our whole trip. Croisants and Pan Au Chocolat were fantastic, omelets and fresh fruit made a wonderful start to the day. The owners were a mine of useful information and helped us when ordering private cars for transport around the country.
I used this travel company - Derleng tours for all our transport and they were very efficient and also more competitive on price than some of the travel agents we visited.
http://live.derlengtours.com/ContentManagementMaster.aspx

the hotel website is here
http://www.lemarais.com.kh/#

and the pool is small but great to cool down in after a hard day trekking round the city. I also recommend eating at Friend's restaurant, or at Romdeng - both of these restaurant serve fantastic cambodian food and are run as part of charity to educate and train disadvantage children. http://friends-international.org/ourprojects/hospitality.asp

Room Tip: superior room was very spacious, and the penthouse suite ( an free upgrade) was enormous with double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The tripadvisor reviews on this hotel were so good that i was a bit concerned at first. I will have to say that the hotel lived up to every bit of its reputation. The rooms are large and spacious, the breakfast was amazing, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The in-house masseuse, despite her shy feminine appearance, had hands of steel that left you numb and speechless (in a very good way). I recommend a combination of 1-hour foot massage and 1 hour body massage. This hotel is well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed in le Marais for only one night and it was a shame we couldnt stay longer. We were upgraded to an absolutely amazing room as the one we had booked was already taken. The whole experience was a dream. The rooms were incredibly clean, fresh robes were included, and the pillows were perfect puffiness. The attention to detail in the rooms, and all the little extras were a pleasant surprise. The location is fabulous, walking distance to street 240 and central market (and right across from Bloom for cupcakes!).

But it was the staff that set this hotel apart from others we have stayed at. The staff were incredibly friendly and were so helpful. They organised the bus back to Siem Reap for us, fixed the wireless within 2min of asking and were all round fantastic. I

Living in Siem Reap we travel to PP for work a lot, and I can say I will be staying at Le Marais from now on.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Marais Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Marais Boutique Hotel

Address: No. 33, street 222, Phnom Penh 12211, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Marais Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.