We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   #17, Street 208, Sangkat Beoung Reang, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked a double delux through agoda. We had no problem with check in and everything was quite straightforward. I think the hotel is value for money. The rooms are neat and tidy including the bathrooms. The staff very helpful. We stayed here for only 1 night and it was a good experience. The breakfast is decent and what we expected it to be. It is about 10 mins walk to riverfront, located in a quieter street so those who are not looking to be around the buzz will find this location good.The staff as we found throughout our stay in Cambodia were very helpful and pleasant. We would surely pick to stay here again. Plenty of tuk tuks outside so no problem hailing one for our daily visits. We later stayed in a more expensive hotel and found alot of their amenities and housekeeping quite lacking compared to this hotel so we were pleased with our stay and found it worth its price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    61
    27
    7
    7
See reviews for
7
47
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

14 spacious rooms. A well worth and smart choice to be in the central, away from the noise of backpacker area. Rooms are spacious wth nice shower room. Have all basic things you need. Windows for rooms in the front should be fixed tightly to reduce the noise. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Will be back again for next stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked a deluxe double bedroom with breakfast.Booked this through Expedia.co.uk.Emailed the hotel before leaving the UK
requesting they send a taxi to the airport to pick us up,at 10 u/s dollar it was well worth it.Check in was straight
forward.We got the room on the first floor as requested, it was clean and had in room safe, tea/coffee making,tv etc,
all worked ok.The breakfast was a set menu with a few choices which was ok.We used the hotel to arrange a tuk driver to
take us to all the places locally you should see.Only a one dollar 5 min tuk ride to the river front where there
is plenty of places to eat and drink.The hotel as a small dinning area,you can get eats and drinks.There is a chinese
restuarent just across the road.In all not a stay for three nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads South
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights from 26th April, given room beside front desk/ entrance (way too noisy) but staff moved us to first floor which was much better. Staff were helpful & friendly, breakfast was reasonable with eggs cooked to requirements. Good location with tuk tuks readily available out front & markets/ restaurants close by. Wireless internet could have been better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

where do i start? a) they promise a cool towel and welcome drink on arrival. despite it being 35 degrees outside, was offered neither. b) 2nd day, my toilet was leaking - was told by staff to urinate in bath. c) shower heat and pressure totally inconsistent - either scalding hot or lukewarm. d) another advertised service is 24 hour room service - came back at 7.15pm after long day out and fancied snack as wanted to rest and have bath before going out. was then told there was no food after 3pm!!! e) my room was not cleaned for 2 days - had to go and ask for toilet roll and coffee. f) staff - although good english skill, no attempt at customer service beyond basic politeness. g) noise - building site across road and kindergarten next door. luck of draw whether you are woken by screaming toddlers or electric tools. h) it was the end of april yet they still had a xmas tree up on the 1st floor!! i) food - utter mediocrity - breakfast is passable, though juice was not well chilled. lunch menu (tried 3 times) was bland and uninspiring.j) i had a 'junior suite' (ie; big double) was promised complimentary fruit basket but it never arrived... this could be a lovely hotel, but they need to pull their socks up and make some improvements. and their stated room rates are a joke.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere If you do book here, never eat apart from breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here on a stop over whilst travelling around Asia. It suprised me that in all the chaos of Phnom Penh this little awesome place was hiding away. I say hiding because our cab driver literally could not find it and we had been driving for HOURS from Sihanoukville. Service was great though and staff very friendly. Rooms were very neat and clean and everything functioned well. Felt safe at all times and found it was fairly central to everything. I can honesly recommend it for its price and the fact it is very modern. Cant comment on the food as we didnt eat here.
First timers, watch out for the tuk tuk drivers as per, they will try and take you for a ride. If you pay over a few bucks for anything you have been scammed. Get out at night and go for a walk, some of the scenery is fantastic.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.
Brilliant location, brilliant staff, brilliant food, brilliant room.
Phnom Penh was empty though due to Songkran so we missed a lot of what we would have liked to do/see - the road that the hotel was on had a supermarket at the top of the road and a Chinese restaurant opposite (the Chinese was particularly busy over New Year!) but everything else was closed, so it was nice and quiet!
Unfortunately, due to the city being deserted, we'll just have to come back, so will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 305. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channa R, Director of Sales at Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for coming to stay in our hotel! How are you?

I truly appreciate your precious time you spent writing a positive review about the hotel and her services to share with everyone around the globe. Many thanks again for your care!

I will share your review with my staff, trust they will be happy to hear this. Once again thanks for coming to stay in our hotel!

We are all looking forwards to welcoming you in the future again if you revisit Cambodia.

Please email us (info@royalmekongboutiquehotel.com).

Finally i and my team wish you and your team all the best!

Best regards,
Staff and GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel

Address: #17, Street 208, Sangkat Beoung Reang, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel is an international luxury boutique hotel located in the best location which you can walk a distance to Royal Palace, National Museum, Independent Monument, Shopping, Business Center, Mekong River, Banking and others main places. The building was built in 1993 but our expert architecture made renovation to be unbelievable new place. It is imagination place and a sanctuary for tourist and corporate guests who expect excellent hospitality and friendly service. The Hotel has been designed to guarantee you a most pleasant and memorable stay as we aim to deliver products and services that consistently meet and exceed your travel needs and wants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.