We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   #17, Street 208, Sangkat Beoung Reang, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 296 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here on a stop over whilst travelling around Asia. It suprised me that in all the chaos of Phnom Penh this little awesome place was hiding away. I say hiding because our cab driver literally could not find it and we had been driving for HOURS from Sihanoukville. Service was great though and staff very friendly. Rooms were very neat and clean and everything functioned well. Felt safe at all times and found it was fairly central to everything. I can honesly recommend it for its price and the fact it is very modern. Cant comment on the food as we didnt eat here.
First timers, watch out for the tuk tuk drivers as per, they will try and take you for a ride. If you pay over a few bucks for anything you have been scammed. Get out at night and go for a walk, some of the scenery is fantastic.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    68
    34
    10
    9
See reviews for
7
58
34
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.
Brilliant location, brilliant staff, brilliant food, brilliant room.
Phnom Penh was empty though due to Songkran so we missed a lot of what we would have liked to do/see - the road that the hotel was on had a supermarket at the top of the road and a Chinese restaurant opposite (the Chinese was particularly busy over New Year!) but everything else was closed, so it was nice and quiet!
Unfortunately, due to the city being deserted, we'll just have to come back, so will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 305. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channa R, Director of Sales at Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for coming to stay in our hotel! How are you?

I truly appreciate your precious time you spent writing a positive review about the hotel and her services to share with everyone around the globe. Many thanks again for your care!

I will share your review with my staff, trust they will be happy to hear this. Once again thanks for coming to stay in our hotel!

We are all looking forwards to welcoming you in the future again if you revisit Cambodia.

Please email us (info@royalmekongboutiquehotel.com).

Finally i and my team wish you and your team all the best!

Best regards,
Staff and GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for just one night on the way to Siem reap. The biggest plus about the hotel was its location which is literally 5 mins walk from royal palace, 10 mins from walk from the river front. Staff is quite helpful and friendly. We got a room on the ground floor which was quite noisy and dinghy.Though the rooms on the floor above are better (one room from our travelling party was upgraded and that was quite spacious and facing a common balcony, so overall seemed quite pleasant). Nothing that was seriously annoying about the hotel. Considering Cambodia, hotel price was a bit steep though for what it offered. Its a small hotel yes, but not really a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book the cheapest rooms here as they are on the ground floor and can be quite noisy (Noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been a regular visitor to PP for the last 10 years and decided to try a different hotel to my regular. This hotel cost me $35 on agoda and was great - quiet, very helpful staff, good room, rain shower, 80 channel sat TV, AC, and one of the best hotel breakfasts you could hope for, especially in this price range.
Breakfast is a menu-choice of abot 20 options which is cooked to order (omelettes, bacon & eggs, noodle soup, rice porridge etc), with fresh orange juice, fruit platter and fresh real coffee.
10 mins slow walk to the river and 15 mins walk to the main riverfront restaurant area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had a good experience with Royal Mekong Boutique. I stayed 3 nights on March 30, 2013.
when i arrived at hotel staffs were welcomed me and my friends warmly. I went to room (304) and so surprised to saw it. Good bed very comfortable better that my room at home. More then bed room and i look back to bath room, oh! so big and really love it.

location the best by walking to Royal palace, quite place the best for business people. Breakfast is good by menu but it free good coffee and fruit. i recommend to all of you to room (304).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Keen to experience Cambodia more following our 4 nights stay in Siem Reap, we decided to spend two nights in the capital, Phnom Penh. We wanted to be in a nice hotel which was fairly central but also in a quite area! It also had to be reasonably priced and with this, we found The Royal Mekong Boutique. It sits on a quiet street (208) which is close to the Royal Palace and about 10-15 minutes easy walk to the main bar / restaurant street on the river. Management and staff are great and speak good English and the hotel is clean and feels very safe. We booked a superior room but for some unknown reason, were upgraded to the suite which was brilliant (massive room with separate bath / shower and a balcony where we could sit out). The hotel was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfy (hubby finally managed to get a good nights sleep). The aircon worked well and wasn't noisy. The beds have mosquito nets around them.

We booked a tuk tuk to the Killing Fields and S21 prison. We paid $20 for the tuk tuk for the day (we could have got it cheaper but felt that $20 was fair). It costs $5 pp with audio tour at the Killing Fields and $2 pp for the S21 prison. We worried that they may be a bit disturbing but in fairness, they were fine and as a bonus, we got no hassle from hawkers / beggars etc (didn't seem to be many, if any).

The hotel also organised our bus from Phnom Penh to Saigon ($13 pp) without an issue.

Breakfast was nice and there was a selection of fruit / juices / breads and then you picked a cooked breakfast off a menu. The cooked food was very nice.

There is lovely restaurant across the road from the hotel - it's a bit more expensive than most but the setting is very nice and relaxed. Also, it's a dollar down to the riverbank of you want to eat there - there was always about 3 Tuk tuk's parked outside the hotel so no problem getting one.

For the money, this was a great hotel. Great service, friendly people, nice hotel with safe / clean rooms. If we ever come back to Phnom Penh, we wouldn't hesitate to stay again at The Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channa R, General Manager at Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for coming to stay in our hotel! How are you?

I truly appreciate your precious time you spent writing a positive review about the hotel and her services to share with everyone around the globe. Many thanks again for your care!

I will share your review with my staff, trust they will be happy to hear this. Once again thanks for coming to stay in our hotel!

We are all looking forwards to welcoming you in the future again if you revisit Cambodia.

Please email us (info@royalmekongboutiquehotel.com).

Finally i and my team wish you and your team all the best!

Best regards,
Staff and GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwakuni
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed three nights in this hotel and had a wonderful time. They provided a free tuk tuk pick-up from the airport and helped us organize our bus trip to Vietnam later in the week. It's inexpensive and centrally located - a few minute tuk tuk ride to the Riverfront where there are loads of restaurants and bars. Our room was large and suited our needs. The only complaint would be that the power shuts off in the room when you're not using it, so it would be really hot and humid when we returned for the night. And the air unit in the room was not the most efficient and our shower was broken but useable. We were prepared for some of these things though as we wanted to get a good cultural taste of Cambodia, so suffering in some humidity in the room and having to stand in a certain place in the shower were really not worth making a fuss about. I would recommend this hotel for future travelers - there's free wifi in the rooms and free breakfast in the morning. It really was all we needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channa R, General Manager at Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for coming to stay in our hotel! How are you?

I truly appreciate your precious time you spent writing a positive review about the hotel and her services to share with everyone around the globe. Many thanks again for your care!

I will share your review with my staff, trust they will be happy to hear this. Once again thanks for coming to stay in our hotel!

We are all looking forwards to welcoming you in the future again if you revisit Cambodia.

Please email us (info@royalmekongboutiquehotel.com).

Finally i and my team wish you and your team all the best!

Best regards,
Staff and GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel

Address: #17, Street 208, Sangkat Beoung Reang, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel is an international luxury boutique hotel located in the best location which you can walk a distance to Royal Palace, National Museum, Independent Monument, Shopping, Business Center, Mekong River, Banking and others main places. The building was built in 1993 but our expert architecture made renovation to be unbelievable new place. It is imagination place and a sanctuary for tourist and corporate guests who expect excellent hospitality and friendly service. The Hotel has been designed to guarantee you a most pleasant and memorable stay as we aim to deliver products and services that consistently meet and exceed your travel needs and wants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.