We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time guest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   #17, Street 208, Sangkat Beoung Reang, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Third time guest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Real wish to please the customer. New hotel, so a few kinks but the new manager Mr. Sun (speaks excellent English) is dedicated to straightening them out. I think negative comments must have been before he took over. Rooms are decidedly modern, good use of space, could use more comfortable chairs. Very clean. For breakfast (included) you can order everything from continental to full "American" to cheeseburger to chicken cordon bleu (no kidding). Sizeable bathrooms. Rates are good, to keep occupancy up. Location is excellent, and no noise at night on quiet street. They may send a tuk-tuk to meet you at the airport, with advance notice. Not sure if this is standard or just for returning guests. Good way to get a feel for Phnom Penh in first few minutes.

Room Tip: In some rooms the contractor used inferior shower temperature control. In double rooms, however, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channa R, Director of Sales at Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Robert,

Thanks for being our valued guest! Thanks for the fact you have mentioned in the review to share with everyone around the global!

My staff and i are very pleased to have a positive review based on the fact that we as the hotel always try to satisfy our customers every minute and every second.

We all have learned that the first rule is that our guests are always right, the second rule is that we must never forget the first rule.

Once again thanks for always returning the hotel and being our respected guest.

The hotel management and whole staff wish you and your family all the best!

Best regards,
Hotel management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    61
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
7
47
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have stayed in many boutique hotels but the royalmekongboutiquehotel is the best ever. It is truly boutique hotel. From the moment I arrived to the moment that I left, pampered and given the full treatment. Within hours of my arrival, staff were addressing me by name. If i come back to PP then i will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channa R, Director of Sales at Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Sokhen,

thanks for always returning to the hotel for your accommodation! Thanks for your precious time you spent writing a positive review based on the fact for the hotel!

My staff and i are very happy to have you as our guest and to have such a very good review on Trip Advisor to share with everyone around the globle.

We always look forwards to welcoming back to PP when you have time.

Finally wish you and your family all the best!


Best regards,
Hotel management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

First of all, we arrived at this hotel in the evening after a long 6 hour journey and had been looking forward to our stay at the Royal Mekong after reading reviews and looking at photographs. I am pregnant and had found the long journey extremely discomforting so was even more excited to get to my room and rest. On arrival there was a queue as there were people checking into 2 seperate rooms in front of us. The receptionist looked surprised at us as we had arrived with our baggage etc. We sat and waited about 10 minutes. The lobby looked ok. We had prebooked this hotel (there were 4 of us in total and had booked 2 seperate double rooms) and we had confirmation for this booking. When it finally came to our turn the receptionist said that when he had received our booking the hotel was already full (even though we had received confirmation and money had been taken out of our account to pay for it). However despite them knowing this (and having a day to contact us to tell us this) they DID NOT BOTHER to contact us in any way to inform us that the hotel was full. That reflects disgusting customer service. We DID NOT receive any form of apology in the slightest. We were told we could go to another hotel BUT WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE NEW HOTEL OURSELVES and wait 3-5 days for our refund from The Royal Mekong. If this hotel had any form of sense for customer service then they should have kept the money from our booking and paid for our new hotel. 4 of us were shoved into ONE tuk tuk and taken to the new hotel which was not a pleasant experience (but I will review that seperately).

If the Royal Mekong receptionist had sincerely apologised and explained truthfully what had happened then I am certain I would not be writing this review. The fact that he simply did not care; made us pay for the second hotel and was rude is why this review receives such a low rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channa R, Director of Sales at Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear DB-GBR and KAYEW,

Thanks for both of your reviews to pinpoint our weak point! We do apologize for relocating you and your group to our hotel's partners who are among the best in towns due to room maintenance took place in the last minute.

Credit card security is very safe, no banks or third parties such as Expedia, Agoda, Booking cambodia will allow us to charge our valued guests twice without their approval or signature on the slips.

If such as a twice charge does happen, then our valued guests will email to the hotel to get a refund. We as the hotel, try very hard every day to create trust among guests for a very long term business.

The hotel has just been opened for seven months therefore we admit that we have some flaws in the hotel operation.

If you could identify yourself by emailing the hotel then we will investigate your case. When we have found out which receptionist was impolite to you and your group, one of whom is pragnant then an appropriate discipline will be taken against him or her as they do even not know the rule of good maner: Serve lady first, senior first...

Once again thanks for booking with us! Please accept our apology.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We booked our stay here through Expedia for 20 pounds a night in a double room including breakfast! Bargin considering the standard of the hotel! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and helped arrange our bus to ho chi Minh as well a a tuk tuk to take us to the killing fields! The answered all our questions and spoke good English! The rooms were extremely clean and the funky design of the hotel was lovely! The beds were comfortable, only thing I would say is the walls are fairly thin and the light from the landing came under the crack in the door so out bedroom was not complelty dark, a small issue! The breakfast was basic, a selection of fruits and breads but you could order further food if you wished! The location was excellent set on a quite street away from the noise but only a 5 min walk to the riverside, 15-20 to the genocide museum. We did not take any tuk tuks to get around the city despite to the killing fields. If you are prepared to walk this is a great way to see what's going on. I would also recommend that visitors head to raffles hotel between 4-9 and enjoy their happy hour with lots of free nibbles and great cocktails. A bit of a walk but a lovely hotel and their elephant bar is the Perfect place to get away from the hussle and bussle of the streets! Loved our stay at the royal Mekong! Perfect place for a city break and amazing value would reccomend to all!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channa R, Director of Sales at Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
The warmest greeting from Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel!
Many thanks for coming to stay with the Hotel. Thanks for leaving a good review on Trip Advisor to share with everyone around the world.

If you have a plan to revisit Cambodia, please let me know through info@royalmekongboutiquehotel then i will offer you something special.

Once again thanks for supporting our hotel and for being here as our valued guest to better our life!

Best regards,
Hotel management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

There are many choices one can make, as a business traveler I have stayed in many different hotels in Phnom Penh and I have to say the Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel is "the Best"in it's class !!!
I have stayed here 3 times already and I will continue coming back.The staff is very forthcoming and helpful!
My special thanks though goes to the General Manager who seems to be "the heart" of the operation ! Very professional and hard working person who talks his position beyond the call of duty!!!
This place makes me feel at home,while I'm at work!!

My family joins me by wishing the entire crew all our best and continued success !

See You soon....... Kind Regards, Michael Grueneberg

Room Tip: All rooms are recommendable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channa R, Director of Sales at Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Michael,
Thanks for coming to stay in our hotel! We truly appreciate your review to share with everyone around the world.
My staff and I are happy to have you as our guests plus a very good review on the Trip Advisor.

We are willing to go an extra mile to make you and your wife feel at home and relaxed when you
stay in the hotel.

Best regards,
Channa
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Upon arriving after booking on hotels.com we were told there was no room available, even though we had payed for the room in advance and received a confirmation email. The Hotel looked dirty, they stuck us in a tuck tuck to an even worse hotel which we had to pay for even though the Mekong had our money and had not refunded us. Spoilt our stay. Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channa R, Director of Sales at Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear DB-GBR and KAYEW,

Thanks for both of your reviews to pinpoint our weak point! We do apologize for relocating you and your group to our hotel's partners who are among the best in towns due to room maintenance took place in the last minute.

Credit card security is very safe, no banks or third parties such as Expedia, Agoda, Booking cambodia will allow us to charge our valued guests twice without their approval or signature on the slips.

If such as a twice charge does happen, then our valued guests will email to the hotel to get a refund. We as the hotel, try very hard every day to create trust among guests for a very long term business.

The hotel has just been opened for seven months therefore we admit that we have some flaws in the hotel operation.

If you could identify yourself by emailing the hotel then we will investigate your case. When we have found out which receptionist was impolite to you and your group, one of whom is pragnant then an appropriate discipline will be taken against him or her as they do even not know the rule of good maner: Serve lady first, senior first...

Once again thanks for booking with us! Please accept our apology.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel offers an excellent service, courtesy and care .... which normally missing in many hotels ..the manager is an excellent human being attends guests every day personnaly and take care ..the break fast is wonderful.. the house keeping very good .. I am fully satisfied & stronghly recommend Royal mekong Boutique

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channa R, Director of Sales at Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
The warmest greeting from Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel!

Many thanks for coming to stay with the Hotel. Thanks for leaving a good review on Trip Advisor to share with everyone around the world.

If you have a plan to revisit Cambodia, please let me know through info@royalmekongboutiquehotel then i will offer you something special.

Once again thanks for supporting our hotel and for being here as our valued guest to better our life!

Best regards,
Hotel management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel

Address: #17, Street 208, Sangkat Beoung Reang, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel is an international luxury boutique hotel located in the best location which you can walk a distance to Royal Palace, National Museum, Independent Monument, Shopping, Business Center, Mekong River, Banking and others main places. The building was built in 1993 but our expert architecture made renovation to be unbelievable new place. It is imagination place and a sanctuary for tourist and corporate guests who expect excellent hospitality and friendly service. The Hotel has been designed to guarantee you a most pleasant and memorable stay as we aim to deliver products and services that consistently meet and exceed your travel needs and wants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.