We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of NAWIN Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added NAWIN Guesthouse to your Saves list
NAWIN Guesthouse
#29, Street 178 | Chey Chumnas, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 023, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Eh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Throughout my time in Cambodia I managed to stay in 3 different hotels in Phnom Penh and Nawin Guesthouse was definitely the most disappointing. I stayed there as part of an Intrepid tour so I am not sure how much I payed to stay there - but we stayed for 2 nights in 2 separate rooms. We had no safe in our room and the air conditioning made my partner sick - so we slept in the heat. We also stayed on the 5th floor and had to climb up 5 massive flights of stairs to get to our room, carrying our luggage the whole way. The location was quite convenient though - right next to the National Museum and the Royal Palace, close to Tonle Sap and riverside restaurants. However, after we left Phnom Penh we heard news of thieves on motorcycles targeting foreigners walking through the street the Nawin is located on at night. I would suggest there are far better hotel choices for great prices in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
5
39
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haleiwa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Avoid this hotel if possible!!
We were booked here for a night through our tour group and were very disappointed. First of two reasons: it wreaked of this sickly "freshener" smell when we first arrived to drop off our bags and leave for a tour and some of the appliances in the room didn't function. Second of two reasons: when we returned from the tour, our room smelled of a dead animal. Hence the sickly freshener smell when we first arrived. Horrible!!
We went downstairs to ask them if we could move and they told us they were full. At the same time, even though we told them not to, they sent a maintenance guy up to re-spray that freshener. We just couldn't take it. We went down the street to another hotel.
If you do have to stay here, make sure your room doesn't smell of a dead animal.
Additionally, the room we got when we returned for another night through the same tour (yes we stayed again!) had tons of mosquitos. We believed they were coming from the shower drain in the bathroom.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had to abandon this hotel, along with another couple. The smell of death in our rooms was over powering and we just couldn't stomach it. All the hotel offered to do was spray the room with some air freshener. Don't bother going to this hotel, it is unsafe. We went to a hotel around the corner and it was so much better.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Worst place ever! Between the traffic noise all night and cockroaches we didn't get much sleep. The clincher was the rat in the stairwell. Upon broaching these complaints to the manager, he simply said that he didn't care and told us to get out! Other people were complaining also at the same time that they had been told that the room that they had pre booked and paid for had been double booked and was unavailable. Stay here at your own peril.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chansathya, Management team at NAWIN Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear value customer,

Thank you so much for leaving the comment on Tripadvisor about our place as it is very helpful for us to correct our weak point to become a service standard.

We have been keeping trying to solve the problem and learning from every customer who gives us a good advice for inprovement our place.

Hopefully, we can service you in the next shortly future during your trip to Cambodia again and you will see what we have done after we received your comment.

Sincerely Yours,

Managment team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I had a booking and the transfer from the airport went well but then there were no rooms available. I was taken to another place " uncles's" around the corner which was not so nice, noisy and felt unsafe. This also happened to another person on my trip who ended up being taken to a brothel. Other friends had booked and paid for a triple which at first they claimed not to have then when shown all the paperwork managed to find it.
Once I got my room, it was fine. Clean, good air con and free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The two best things about this place are the location - within walking distance of the palace, the national museum (which was not worth going by the way), and the river along which there are various nice restaurants like the Khmer Sarawan - and the price.

The room was OK - you can't expect much given how much you pay. The sheets could be cleaner and the towels had seen better days some years ago. The air conditioner was placed so that one bed didn't get any and the other got too much, and of course if you take the key out of the power hole thing then it turns the fridge off, which makes the fridge rather useless. The lack of a shower curtain means water gets everywhere, though this is not the only accommodation in Cambodia that features a distinct lack of shower curtains.

The breakfast was a little sad-looking but can't complain given the price. I may go back there for a short stay but would not personally recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

So what a dissapointment.. I had read other reviews and had thought it can't be that bad... But no everyone was right.. This place is the pits.. No elevator, stuffy and smelly, weird room set up, exposed wires in the bathroom, 6th floor and many stairs to carry luggage, a/c only had one option freezing cold, fridge in room not working, water pressure and heat useless, bedding dirty, towels dirty, random desk with no chair, the place just looks unclean, perhaps I am being picky but for the last few weeks I've been traveling with intrepid and had stayed in many 2-3 star accommodation and nothing has been this disgusting. Glad it's only for two nights can't wait to leave this hotel. The staff are friendly and obviously they can't fix the issues, it comes down to management.. Do not recommend and will never return..

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NAWIN Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NAWIN Guesthouse

Address: #29, Street 178 | Chey Chumnas, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 023, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NAWIN Guesthouse is located in center of many tourist attractions. It is a walking distance to Royal Palace, National Museum, Fine Art Gallery/shops, night market, FCC and water front... It is clean, quite, khmer-style ambient, and more importantly affordable and comfortable place to stay. All spacious rooms are with A/C, fridge, free WIFI, hot water, cable TV, telephone, toilet amenities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your NAWIN Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NAWIN Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.