We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun stay ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh to your Saves list
The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cheapest To Book Direct
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun stay ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay from start to finish. The rooms were good and clean, the staff were really helpful in helping us get bus tickets, and the food is great and affordable.

We had a great night on the town where they organise free tuk tuk rides when the bar closes for the guests to go out to the love bar where we also had loads of fun and met some great travellers who joined us on our trip around Asia.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
It was a real pleasure to host you here with us - do find the time to come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    255
    72
    30
    15
See reviews for
10
153
235
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howell, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here two nights, good atmosphere, good food and a great place to meet people. The only thing I didnt enjoy was the location. I guess the location is good depending on what you want to do. It is a little ways away from the river area. A 5 min tuk tuk ride can take care of that problem though. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your review - it really means a lot to us and we are very thankful that you found the time. We miss you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I've stayed here in both a private room and a dorm and I would recommend both. The sunset bar upstairs has a great atmosphere, and at the Friday BBQ there it was so easy to meet people. Another great thing is that the Khmer staff here are paid very good wages and get days off so everyone is happy in their job and it makes for a much nicer atmosphere than if they were paid the bare minimum - you know they're not being exploited so you can stay here with a clear conscience!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for your kind review - We miss you! come back soon and bring some local beers from your country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

After a long bus ride from HCM, this place was a welcome sight. We booked the family room and found it to be very spacious to accomodate the four of us. The restaurant had good food, and the staff very accomodating :) Its very good for groups of friends because the place offers a very friendly vibe, from the restaurant to the bar. A bit far from the city center, but very accessible via tuktuk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi! A great review for us thank you so so much - We are really looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Everyone is nice and friendly and smiling and I enjoyed my stay for the most.
The beds are clean and large and have storage underneath (so bring a padlock for security) and the eating area is lively and the food is delicious if a little over priced for Cambodia, so the staff are getting paid handsomely compared to average wage countrywide.
The laundry service was expensive and was late too so luckily I didnt put everything in.

Unfortunately my stay ended bitterly, I was charged $2 more than the company charges to take me to Siem Reap and lied to about which type of vehicle and the type of seat. I ended up in an old minivan at the back feeling every bump of the 8hr journey, which was quoted at 6hrs max.

Room Tip: A dorm is a dorm, there will be drunk people at night on a weekend, especially as there is a top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please note that it is absolutely not our policy to deceive anyone regarding travel and bus prices, as a direct response to your review we have now implemented a transparent review book of all bus options and prices, you had booked your bus with the cheapest operator and during the Khmer holidays hence the awful ride. We have emailed you and will be pleased to refund your ticket, as I said we now have a listing of all the positive and negative aspects of each bus company to facilitate guests in choosing the right bus for them. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The reason why I fell more in love with Phnom Penh and almost refused to leave, and kept extending my stay: Mad monkeys hostel.

The atmosphere was absolutely great. I was in the 6 bed dorm and never regretted a minute of it. It was clean, new sheets were provided, toilets were clean.

The rooftop bar was amazing, and the people you meet are just great. The drinks are extremely cheap. 75 cents for beer and 3.50 for cocktails.

Downside: no hot water shower, and sometimes cambodian plumbing isnt that great.

I regretted not having stayed in Mad monkey hostel, siem reap.

Though you might not enjoy a room near the rooftop bar, as it might get alittle noisy.
Female staff went the extra mile t drop me at bus station as I had missed my bus and provided service with a smile. Male staff could improve on service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear guest - Another great review really helps us and keeps us motivated to keep improving our service - we are chuffed you loved your stay - thanks again for caring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed in a 8-bed dorm room in the "villa" where the reception is located. You could tell the place was new and all details had been carefully thought of to answer backpackers' aspirations. I think it's one of the best budget option in Phnom Penh, but honestly there were a few drawbacks that made me leave after 2 nights.

• The staff is very friendly but not very good at providing detailed & correct information
• The dorm was sparkling clean (and I mean sparkling, including sheets & bathroom) but the AC made it a freezing headache-inducing fridge
• The area is quiet & the villa is supposedly quieter than the main building (the one with the restaurant), that is if the staff didn't listen to full volume music evenings & mornings
• Online booking enables you to check availability & tariffs of al room types, but having to enter your credit card details is pretty confusing as if you have to pay online or in cash (apparently it's standard procedure, I might just not be techy enough)
• There is attention to details and a clear effort to suit backpackers' needs and offer a comfy place even when you're on a budget, but ultimately it's another crowded soulless business

So I'd definitely recommend for a night or two but I personally think it's overrated by reviews.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest -

Thank you for your review. I am reviewing your comments about the dorm and music levels with our management team and have asked the staff to keep the happiness down to a minimum in the morning. Thanks again for your review - have a great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Address: Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mad Monkey Phnom Penh is an awesome Hostel with a great vibe, good food and an active bar. It is a hotspot for European and US Travelers looking for an awesome place to stay in the Penh!We have friendly staff, a positive attitude and a selection of great bars serving up over 40 cocktails. If you are looking for a hotel experience with all of the mod cons like TV in the room we are probably not for you - but if you are looking to stay in a friendly clean, well run, good fun hostel with the opportunity to meet other travelers at the bar then we could just be your perfect choice. All You Need Is Love! THE MAD MONKEY TEAM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mad Monkey Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.