We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh to your Saves list
The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cheapest To Book Direct
Camberley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here for a few day after friends recommended it. It has been one of the best hostels I have stayed in on my travels. The dorm room beds are the biggest iv stayed in. The rooms are cleaned daily and the staff are friendly and helpful. The only down sides are the food there is a bit pricey and the bar has to now close around 11pm. But the staff then took us to another couple of bar and got us some free shots and helped us plan a few other evening out.

Room Tip: I had the monkey dorm. 8 person dorm. Air con was good and shower was powerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your review -We hope you have a great time on your travels and do come back and visit us soon xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    254
    72
    30
    15
See reviews for
10
153
234
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The owner is great here...bars are awesome and fun in the hostel and food although expensive for the area is really good! Owners has cool tours and buys shots for everyone at the bar...very sociable hostel but still quiet enough to get a good night sleep! One of the best hostels of my Asia trip

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review! We loved having you stay with us! Please come back again on your way from Thailand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We travelled around SE Asia for two months and I'm sorry to say that Mad Monkey was probably the worst place we stayed in. However, I will say upfront that I think our experience was probably the exception rather than the rule as plenty of other people seem to have had a great stay here.

We called Mad Monkey two days before we were due to arrive in Phnom Penh to try and book a double room. The girl we spoke to said they had nothing available, but as we went to hang up she changed her mind and said they did have a double room. It seemed a bit strange to us at the time but we booked it at $18 for the night.

When we arrived we received a friendly greeting from the girls at the bar and were then shown to our room. It was right up on the top floor (next to the other bar) and the problems started when we were lead through a room that can only be described as a bit of a building site. There was paint cans and bits of furniture everywhere and a guy up a ladder doing work to the ceiling. We were then taken to our room through a kitchen out the back.

The room itself was okay but the smell of paint was overpowering. It soon became clear that the owner Tom, had recently vacated his apartment at the top of the hotel, which they were now converting into extra rooms. Our room didn't even have a number, our keys just said 'Tom' on them - which thoroughly confused anyone at the bar when we tried to order food and drinks on our room. One of the staff even remarked that they didn't think the room was in use yet.

I guess it had probably been painted the night before we arrived and they were looking to make a bit of extra cash by letting it out, which would have been fine but it really wasn't ready. We tried to turn on the ceiling fan with the aim of dispersing the paint smell but the fan didn't work. The air con worked fine but had little effect on the smell.

The wifi signal also wasn't strong enough to reach the room so to use our laptops we had to go out to the bar, which was fine just a bit frustrating after a long day on the bus and just wanting to sit in bed in your pj's to plan your next move! At least it was a good opportunity to escape the paint smell.

The room itself was just okay, it was quite dark as the only window in there faced a wall and just because it was a bit sparse of furniture it felt a bit cold and clinical. It was clean though, as was the bathroom.

We had intended to stay two nights at Mad Monkey but we both woke up in the early hours of the morning with a splitting headache became of the paint fumes. So we decided to pack-up and shift to another hotel instead. We explained to the staff on reception why we were leaving and they were fine - although they did try to charge us a higher price than we'd been quoted until the owner Tom overheard our complaints and told us it would just be the $18. Even at that price it was one of the pricier places we stayed in Vietnam and not at all worth the money.

We wanted to like the place as the bar seemed great, the cocktails and food were good and the staff were friendly but our experience was a total let down and it would've been a nice gesture to at least offer us a discount on our stay or breakfast as a result.

Anyway, it is what is it - probably wouldn't want to stay again or recommend to others based on our experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review, I am pleased you liked Mad Monkey and the only issue was the room. This really is our problem, the room was supposed to be ready two days before and we obviously made the wrong decision on this occasion when we should have found you alternative accommodation.

This really was a one off occasion and the rooms are all finished and completed now, there is no smell of paint, I have spoken with the duty manager and Tom and I have messaged you to arrange a full refund of your room.

I am again sorry for the inconvenience, many negative reviews are very petty or nitpicky however in your instance you have a genuine issue where we made a bad judgement call that negatively effected your stay. We will be providing you with a 100% refund on your room in recompense. Please do try us again when you return to Cambodia and we are sure you will have a much better time. Kind Regards - Steve (One of the owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Like the food in the downstairs bar, the Mad Monkey expects you to pay a little above normal PP rates, but you'll get that extra quality in return.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and will get to know you on a genuinely personal level. Facilities are good - a nice rooftop bar with pool table, and a room with 7 or 8 computers - and the hostel has a good relationship with tuk-tuk drivers and local services.

It's a pretty social place - with two bars, one at the entrance and one on the roof, and staff who are more than happy to come out drinking with you, it's a great place to kickstart your Cambodian experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hi! Thanks for your cracking review of The Mad Monkey - It was good having you here and we enjoyed having you stay with us ! Do come back again soon! xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our four nights here were excellent. First 3 nights we booked the cheapest 10 bed hostel, it turned out to be about 4 to 6 beds in 3 adjoined rooms. The rooms were clean and spacious. My only gripe is the bathroom located in our room had no fan or ventilation so after people handle their business in there it would stink up half our room. The last night we stayed in their triple which had a private bathroom and shower. Both rooms had a/c. The staff were great-- friendly, upbeat, and spoke English (unlike the mad monkey staff in siem reap). Cafe food was delicious (amok was not bad at all) and priced the same as any other decent restaurant. the vibe was nice and you can hang out at the first floor cafe (indoor/outdoor) or 3rd floor sunset bar/lounge. No shortage of friendly tuktuk drivers outside. Two (rather slow) laptops available for use inside their office too. We checked out a few other hostels in the area but they looked pretty shady, dingy, and/or boring. I highly recommend tithe mad monkey in phnom penh!!

Room Tip: Steep stairwells-- not sure if they have rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are all chuffed you enjoyed your stay with us - it really makes it worth while when we have nice guests like you staying with us! Have a great trip! xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the mad monkey Phnom Penh and found everything to be great!
The rooms were a bit outdated but good value for money.
The staff were all fabulous and easy to communicate with.
Owners Tom and Alex were great fun, we even got to go on a bike tour adventure with them into the countryside!
Overall brilliant place to stay, we will head back at the end of our trip for another night!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your awesome review! It was a pleasure having you stay here with us at The Mad Monkey! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vientienne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

unfortunely neved got to stay here because they were booked up (can see why!) but my friends were and went to see them most days. staff treat me like i was staying at the guesthouse, the food was great with really big portions, the staff are really nice friendly and helpful. my friends tell me the rooms were excellent value for money. good location as well, quiet but not far from nightlife. be staying here if i ever come back to phnom penh

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your great review! It was great to have you here and we are really pleased that you had a great time! Love The Mad Monkey !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Address: Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mad Monkey Phnom Penh is an awesome Hostel with a great vibe, good food and an active bar. It is a hotspot for European and US Travelers looking for an awesome place to stay in the Penh!We have friendly staff, a positive attitude and a selection of great bars serving up over 40 cocktails. If you are looking for a hotel experience with all of the mod cons like TV in the room we are probably not for you - but if you are looking to stay in a friendly clean, well run, good fun hostel with the opportunity to meet other travelers at the bar then we could just be your perfect choice. All You Need Is Love! THE MAD MONKEY TEAM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mad Monkey Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.