We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh to your Saves list
The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Shenzhen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our four nights here were excellent. First 3 nights we booked the cheapest 10 bed hostel, it turned out to be about 4 to 6 beds in 3 adjoined rooms. The rooms were clean and spacious. My only gripe is the bathroom located in our room had no fan or ventilation so after people handle their business in there it would stink up half our room. The last night we stayed in their triple which had a private bathroom and shower. Both rooms had a/c. The staff were great-- friendly, upbeat, and spoke English (unlike the mad monkey staff in siem reap). Cafe food was delicious (amok was not bad at all) and priced the same as any other decent restaurant. the vibe was nice and you can hang out at the first floor cafe (indoor/outdoor) or 3rd floor sunset bar/lounge. No shortage of friendly tuktuk drivers outside. Two (rather slow) laptops available for use inside their office too. We checked out a few other hostels in the area but they looked pretty shady, dingy, and/or boring. I highly recommend tithe mad monkey in phnom penh!!

Room Tip: Steep stairwells-- not sure if they have rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are all chuffed you enjoyed your stay with us - it really makes it worth while when we have nice guests like you staying with us! Have a great trip! xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    218
    65
    29
    17
See reviews for
10
122
201
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at the mad monkey Phnom Penh and found everything to be great!
The rooms were a bit outdated but good value for money.
The staff were all fabulous and easy to communicate with.
Owners Tom and Alex were great fun, we even got to go on a bike tour adventure with them into the countryside!
Overall brilliant place to stay, we will head back at the end of our trip for another night!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your awesome review! It was a pleasure having you stay here with us at The Mad Monkey! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vientienne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

unfortunely neved got to stay here because they were booked up (can see why!) but my friends were and went to see them most days. staff treat me like i was staying at the guesthouse, the food was great with really big portions, the staff are really nice friendly and helpful. my friends tell me the rooms were excellent value for money. good location as well, quiet but not far from nightlife. be staying here if i ever come back to phnom penh

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your great review! It was great to have you here and we are really pleased that you had a great time! Love The Mad Monkey !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hostel rates as one of the best I've ever been to. The owners started the place with the right mind set, create a hotel for backpackers and charge them a reasonable rate for staying there. The place has large rooms with extra large bunk beds, decent bathrooms that are kept clean and a fantastic restaurant + rooftop bar.
The staff are incredibly friendly and open hearted, I love that the owners have an agreement with a local NPO (I'm not 100% sure on the details) and take on their staff from the NPO and empower them through employment.
The hostel is not centred near the river like most other hostels, but the abundance of other travellers and the common areas ensure for a party vibe and people headed off into the city almost every night we were there.
The only down side is that the bar and restaurant close early and that people need to be reminded to keep quiet as the property is in a residential area.
I wished I could have tried the Siem Reap branch, but I'm sure it's right up there next to Phnom Penh. This is a Franchise I can whole heartedly support and would love to see in as many places as possible as long as they keep their high standards and continue doing good in the community around them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks for your review! Come back soon you! Thanks again for choosing The Mad Monkey - Squeeky and Bean say hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Superb stay at the Mad Monkey. Good food (must try their beef steak!). Clean beds & sheets. Fast internet and free wifi accessible from rooms. Very pleasant building with great artwork, outside seating and a rooftop bar. Definitely worth staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Mad Monkey! We really enjoyed having you as guests at our hostel! We really hope you come back soon! Thanks so much for your review we are very pleased you had a great time! Enjoy your travels and please keep in touch! Very best regards our team at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I spent over a week at Mad Monkey over the Christmas period and adored every minute of it. The staff are delightful, the rooms clean and comfortable, the food is reasonably priced and the location is ideal. The hostel is situated in the nicer parts of town and is only a 20 minute walk into the city "centre" - but the walk enables you to see Phomn Penh life as it happens. The owners have employed disadvantaged and/or disabled young people to provide them with a better chance in life. There is a busy bar located within the hostel buzzing with interesting expats and travellers alike, and from here many pub-crawls have ensued. Make sure you stay on a Friday night to enjoy their BBQ dinner on the balcony.

The guys who run the place are legends. They came to Cambodia as travellers and stayed on to become valuable people in the community. They give back to the Khmer people in whatever way they can. For instance, on Christmas day the Khmer staff brought their children in to the hostel and they were given presents from "Santa Claus" (one of the owners) and were encouraged to enjoy the festive atmosphere with the foreigners. The owners' promise of 2013 is to ensure that all of their staff see Angkor Wat this year. It is only three hours away but unfortunately most Cambodians have neither the time nor the funds to make such a trip. They are also taking them on a three night getaway to the islands off of Sihanoukville to say thank you for a wonderful year!

Staying at the Mad Monkey will be an enjoyable experience regardless of whether or not you scratch below the surface, however if you do a lasting impression will surely be made.

Room Tip: Private rooms and the dormitories are equally as nice, with both boasting comfortable beds and clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi! Thanks for the review and making The Mad Monkey your choice!

We really enjoyed having you as guests at our hostel! We loved having you stay with us! We really enjoyed your company when you stayed here! We hope you visit us again soon! It would be awesome to see you again when you are next back in Phnom Penh! We are chuffed you had an awesome time staying with us!

Love from all of us at The Mad Monkey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Thank you so much to all the "Mad Monkey" staff. From the moment we walked into the hostel everyone was so welcoming and friendly. We where shown to our room which was the nicest room I have stayed at before in a hostel. It had a comfortable bed and pillow. Very clean bathroom, spacious and air conditioning. In the evening times upstairs was great to watch the sunset and the best cocktails that we had in the whole of Cambodia was defiantly here. A must try is the "bloody mary". If we felt like going out after the lovely staff would take us to the Love Bar which was so much fun. I have traveled for years and stayed at many hostels though this one is so much better then any other hostel i have ever stayed at. Last thing i need to rave about was the food! Everything we tried on the menu was delicious.... I can not thank the owners and the staff enough for making our trip perfect in every way! Thank you from Lisa in Auz.

Room Tip: If you are a couple we stayed in room 5 which was perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Wow what a great review! Thank you so much for it and choosing The Mad Monkey in Phnom Penh we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Address: Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mad Monkey Phnom Penh is an awesome Hostel with a great vibe, good food and an active bar. It is a hotspot for European and US Travelers looking for an awesome place to stay in the Penh!We have friendly staff, a positive attitude and a selection of great bars serving up over 40 cocktails. If you are looking for a hotel experience with all of the mod cons like TV in the room we are probably not for you - but if you are looking to stay in a friendly clean, well run, good fun hostel with the opportunity to meet other travelers at the bar then we could just be your perfect choice. All You Need Is Love! THE MAD MONKEY TEAM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mad Monkey Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.