We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cheap khmer food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dolphin

Blue Dolphin
30E0, 32E0 Street 172, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
023 69 042 53
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 787 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent cheap khmer food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Good service and tasty food. I prefer their khmer dishes, but they also have western food.

The Amok fish is very good.
And they have happy hours for drinks and cocktails too.


Good service, good atmosphere, outdoor dining with view of the street.

I will come back for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice and affordable place to catch up and chill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nice little place tucked away from the main road. Attentive servers who tries to accommodate to our needs.Got them to change fries to mash for the fish and chips , recooked the beef as it was too bloody. Accommodated to our request and needs without hesitation. Food and drinks were very reasonably priced. For those who loves their beer and good comfort food here's the place.Portion for the western food is huge by my standards they serve huge yummy rich soups too. Small eaters got to share. Their thai and asian food has 2 thumbs up from us. Love their Cambodian Jasmine tea for after dinner drink to wash off the oil from all the comfort food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The go to place away from riverside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Four years ago this restaurant was on its own on this quiet street, but even among the Khmer I knew then, its reputation was well established. Which is to say that, though they would never eat in a western restaurant, they saw how this place could make money.
Today this street is a busy tourist street with many bars and restaurants, The Blue Dolphin still stands out among its imitators.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A gem in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

After eating in several higher rated restaurants in this city, we decided to have an early meal at the Blue Dolphin. This little restaurant in a side street which was full of interesting happenings seved us outstanding food at unbelievably cheap prices. Dinner for 2 with a drink each cost us less than ten dollars and the staff were pleasant and courteous. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great place on a busy street!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were walking around and looking for a place to eat when we found Blue Dolphin - the place next door is owned by the same people and you can order off either menu no matter where you are seated. We were drawn in by the $2 cocktails and 2 for 1 draft beer and we had a pleasant evening. All of the food we ordered was good (the avocado salad was really good!) and the drinks were cold and refreshing. It was a nice spot to people watch and relax. We ate here twice during our stay in Phnom Penh.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dolphin also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Blue Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dolphin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.