We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, lousy service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Gecko Guesthouse

Lazy Gecko Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy Gecko Guesthouse
Save
You added Lazy Gecko Guesthouse to your Saves list
#1 Street 258, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Basic, lousy service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two days. The room was fine, bathroom a bit mouldy. No change of towels or cleaning.
The service was lousy, hardly ever anybody at the reception. One time we waited ten minutes to get our room key, nobody came - so we ended up grabbing our Own key. Not very reassuring that anybody Can take the key.
We ordered breakfast - took 45 min to arrive, so choose the cornflakes if you are in a hurry.
Would choose smth else on the same road.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
22
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The location isn't great but isn't bad either. Having said that I'm not sure that staying down at the riverside is worth it. (We wandered over to the expat area, where top banana is and it was a much nicer vibe over there). Unfortunately the bathroom was very dirty. Honestly I wasn't sure if I was cleaner before or after taking a shower and I think all that it needed was a good wipe down and it would have felt better but there was years of scum in there. Also the walls and windows sills had a lot of dust and dirt on them and the curtain was broken. The fan also didn't rotate so would only get the middle of the bed. I understand paying under $20 for a room not to expect much but it seems more like they'd stopped trying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

For $10 you get a fan room with private bathroom. Bed is comfy. Room is big. Cleanliness is average, but did get mosquito bites during night. We only stayed one night but think that they do clean the rooms daily. Well located near street 240, riverside and grand palace. Rooms are on corridor whereby all can be heard from your room. Obviously not guesthouses fault, but good nights sleep wasn't guaranteed (or had thanks to other inconsiderate guests)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

During our 6 week travels, the best nights sleep we had was at Lazy Gecko! The beds are so comfy! The room is a decent size and air con works well.

Shower is pretty decent and offered both pressure and heat - a luxury in S.E. Asia, where it's usually a case of one or the other.

Staff were incredibly friendly and we spent our last night laughing with them as they showed us videos of the deep fried spiders they'd eaten that day for charity! (They offered us one but we politely declined!)

WiFi didn't quite reach the rooms but the lobby area was nice so this wasn't really an issue.

A little walk from the main stretch of restaurants and tourist spots but this is in a nice area and a walk home down the river is a pleasant end to an evening.

Would definitely recommend and return to Lazy Gecko if we're ever in Phnom Penh again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nice and clean, got a great (fan) room for $10 (a little pricey for me but seems to be average price in Phnom Penh). Attached cafe has great food at a good price and the common area is really comfortable and relaxed. A good group of people are staying here. Very friendly staff has been really helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Lazy gecko GH is close to the centre (15 min walk)
The room with A/C was ok and clean. The bathroom is small but with hot water.
TV with cable... Pretty good for 14$ a night
Staff was nice and helpfull

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We randomly picked this place from the Lonely Planet guide and boy were we glad!!! Clean spacious rooms, comfortable beds, good air con and fan, nice shower and a working tv with cable!!! The staff are all very helpful and funny and they made our last night in Phnom Penh a memorable one!

On our checkout at 7am, we unfortunately woke up the receptionist but he was more than happy to make us some toast and get us some water... The first piece of hot toast on our trip, AND the cheapest water.

Would definitely recommend this place to others and we'll be staying here again on our return to Phnom Penh!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy Gecko Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Gecko Guesthouse

Address: #1 Street 258, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Gecko Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.