We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Open Wine

Open Wine
219 Street 19, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
023 223 527
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 775 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Classic French dishes, a little pricey by Phnom Penh standards but the lunch menu is a winner. The homemade bread was great and the selection of cold meats very tasty. I had the Toulouse pasta and the wonderful dark choclolate mousse for dessert. The owners are a very nice french gay couple, keep up guys!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

One of the best value for money places in Phnom Penh which i discovered for Lunch. A menue for 10 bucks, with 3 great dishes (choose the Carpaccio as a starter) and sitting in an airco atmosphere- Great !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
“French point view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Staying 4 months in PP, looking for a good restaurant and real meat.
This place is for me the best place of the city. For dinner, it is just amazing : the chevre chaud salad is delicious and the dressing is really tasty, the entrecôte meat was the first time that I accepted to eat some meat here. (but one meal is enough because the plates are big). Having lunch at Open Wine is also recommend and there is a special menu for only 10 $ (entree, plat et dessert). And of course, a big choice of wine is offer to make your meal PERFECT.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional French cuisine at outstanding prices for lunch, more expensive for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just had lunch at Open Wine - what a delight! Had an excellent three course lunch with salade de chevre, rumsteak with pepper sauce and french fries and a wonderful dark choclolate mousse for dessert - all for incredible $10. The restaurant also offers an excellent choice of wines by the glass (generous servings) at very good prices (French Merlot at $4 for a glass). The meat is by far the best I have in Cambodia. The dinner menu is more expensive than the lunch three course offering (at least twice the lunch prices), however if the level of quality I experienced for a quick lunch is any indication, it should still be worth it at the higher dinner prices.

Service was impeccable, efficient delivery of dishes and attentive serving of water and (warm) bread throughout the meal.

Having lived in Phnom Penh for several months, I'm sorry not to have found this place sooner. I'm flying to Paris tonight, but the next French meal I look most forward to will be in Phnom Penh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“(Open) Wine”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a wine 'restaurant' that seeks to be a cut-above but doesn't know how to present a wine list - certainly not a by-the-glass list. Note to The Wine Restaurant / The Open Wine Restaurant - each wine needs to be listed by name, variety/ies, vintage, origin. In your case, as an up-market establishment, 'origin' means region and country. Also the food was so expensive (not cheap even by Australian standards), that we were already thinking twice about eating there. Then when the wine list failed to give the most basic of information about wines by the glass, we lost confidence in the ability of management (not waiting staff), to supply a meal worthy of the price. As a party of 2 and keen wine tasters we rarely buy a whole bottle of any one wine, preferring instead to try a variety of what's on offer. The experience became more unpleasant when we sought to settle our bill and leave after a glass of wine each. Something of a Fawlty Towers dining experience with agro. Nasty.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open Wine also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Open Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.