We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean, very friendly staff but a safety concern” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Local - Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Local - Riverside to your Saves list
The Local - Riverside
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8 Street 144 Riverside, Phnom Penh 023, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good location, clean, very friendly staff but a safety concern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel appears to have 4 rooms and I stayed in two of them. The penthouse room was quite spacious, clean, had two queen or king sized beds and would have been more than satisfactory if there hadn't been really loud destruction going on next door. I say destruction rather than construction because someone was using a jack hammer on the common wall most of the day and that's far louder than normal construction noise. The room has a spacious terrace which unfortunately is closed off and frequently has construction debris falling on it. The balcony room was much smaller nut the balcony was open, was a pleasant place to site and will probably have a river view when the scaffolding next door is taken down. The bed was OK for one person because I could move around to avoid what felt like wooden braces in the mattress. Definitely not suitable for two people. The shower was anemic and came down over the slanted end of the bathtub so that it was difficult to get directly underneath it. Spent over half an hour sprawled on the floor trying to get the room safe to open and close reliably. The manager can jimmy the key to get it open but it really is broken. The nice thing was that the floor was very clean and so I didn't get dirty working on the safe. The jackhammers are a bit less noisy here than upstairs. But the wifi comes from either the floor below or the floor above and isn't very good. What takes me 15 minutes to do on the internet back in Vietnam took over two hours here. There are two other rooms on this floor which seem to be neat and clean but have no windows.
***The real serious problem with this hotel is that from midnight to whenever they open the restaurant up in the morning you are trapped inside behind two steel gates both of which require a key to open. There is a staff member who sleeps in the area and you are totally dependent on him to let you in OR OUT. If there's a fire better hope that the guy with the key is awake and in good enough condition to unlock the gates or you're done for. Considering that this is a restaurant/hotel I would consider that the possibility of a fire is not remote.***
A better breakfast is available half a block away on the corner. I tried one dinner there, the mixed BBQ. It was OK but nothing special.

Room Tip: Penthouse is by far the nicest room, balcony room is OK except for the anemic shower and wifi. Stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex U, General Manager at The Local - Riverside, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear RayInHI,

Thank you for your visit and for expressing your concerns.

We sorry for the noise during your stay from the neighbouring building; it going to be a hotel and they had put up a new wall just to demolish the very same wall few days after (for whatever reasons) – hopefully they will manage the hotel better, than they are building it. We were not aware of this sudden, admittedly very heavy, noise. Thank you that you agreed moving you to another room.

We lock the place in the evenings for security reasons, but two of our staff (the night guard and the manager) sleep in the building and we do have also an emergency exit leading to the back yard. There is a constant fire hazard having a restaurant on the ground floor and being a guest house and we are not compromising on any possible safety measurements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I read the reviews thinking crap where have I booked (didn't have a chance to find anywhere as I was on a tight time frame) but actually yeh there is building work next door which is loud during the day but it's not the places fault and if you're sat in the room all day why are you travelling? Rooms are good no ventilation only air con and a ceiling fan but let's face it its SEAsia unless you're willing to pay you're not going to find something that isn't wrong but for £6 a night each I can't complain. The restaurant looks very nice and the people are really friendly which helps make the place. Hopefully when next door has finished and you can notice the building better there business will pick up as I quite like the place better then most I've seen so far for this price

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Local Riverside has just been refurbished and looks amazing. Our room was massive and very cosy, it almost felt like our own flat!
However our ceiling fan stopped working halfway through the first night which was frustrating.

The location is great, super central and a short walk from the market + palace.

Their restaurant 'Dot' is DELICIOUS you HAVE to eat there, we had a selection of grilled/bbq meats which were amazing.

However the level of service was disappointing. We asked them repeatedly over 24 hours if they could please book bus for us to Siem Reap for the following day- they kept saying yes but never did it. It wasn't until we sat down next to them and basically babysat them that they did - and we only just got the last 2 seats on the bus we wanted!

Also - no one was there to let us out to catch the bus at 7:30 am. The front door was padlocked and we couldn't find any staff. Thankfully someone outside had their number!

We were also woken up by construction noise on the building next door but I think construction work is pretty much unavoidable in PP atm!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex U, Manager at The Local - Riverside, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Frenchieontour,

thank you for your review.

We have noted with surprise that you had difficulties in getting your bus-ticket. This is not our norm and our team is normally very effective in sorting out travel needs. We are sorry that this was not the case this time; there had been some miscommunication between waiter and guest house staff.

We glad you enjoyed our restaurant; Dot Grill can be also reviewed here on TA - if you don't mind.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap Province, Cambodia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We enjoyed our stay throughout. Friendly hosts, clean rooms, good location direct at riverside. They just finished renovation of our room and their restaurant. We had a great dinner and breakfasts there.
Value for money!

Room Tip: We stayed at the "Penthouse", which was great for four pertsons with a big balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the Local Riverside and had a pleasant stay.

The owner and the staff are very friendly. One of the guys there sorted out our visas for Vietnam which saved us the hassle of having to go through the embassy or travel agents.

The rooms were nice - with a bath and hot water. WiFi worked well. Lots of TV channels too which is great for a quiet night in.

The hotel is located right near the riverside, with a huge amount of restaurants and bars to choose from.

The only negative was the early morning construction noise that woke us up between 0645 and 0700 every morning. Although the construction work on the hostel and restaurant itself has finished (and looks lovely!), the building next door is being developed. So make sure to bring earplugs!

Other than that, we had a lovely stay at The Local Riverside!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Spent here for a short stopover coming from Siem Reap going to Thailand.
The location is very centrally situated (near river)...
When we arrived, we were quite surprised facing a construction site on the ground floor we had to pass.
The guy at the reception was very nice and helpful.
We had room without window... Lockable save and drawer TV and modern bath (tub). A fridge to cool your food / drinks is only helpful if you keep power somehow switched on when leaving the room

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocalRiverside, Owner at The Local - Riverside, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear Oo-Lee,

thank you for your review and support.
We apologise for the inconvenience caused during construction works on the ground floor.
Renovations are completed now and our new restaurant, the "Dot Khmer Grill", is open since today.

All the best and hopefully till not to long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Do not stay at this hotel for the foreseeable future...the whole ground floor is an unsafe building site, scaffolding everywhere. It shouldn't be open to guests during this renovation, there isn't even a reception area. Everywhere is covered in dust and the work men start hammering and drilling at 7am! I don't understand how they can allow people to stay here, especially without mentioning this issue before and without lowering the price!! The owner was no where to be seen when we wanted to complain about the issues. The tuktuk Man laughed when he dropped us off at this 'hotel' and said it wasn't open, there wasn't even a sign on the scaffolding to state the name of the hotel.
Just to add to our awful experience, one of the pillows on the bed stunk of BO...hadn't been changed since the last guest?! Awful.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocalRiverside, Owner at The Local - Riverside, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear JoeSimock,

thank you for your review.

It is correct, renovations work is going on on the ground floor and is scheduled to be completed on the 29th of October.
The reception of the guesthouse is on the first floor and guest rooms start from the 2nd floor upwards.
While we inform direct bookers on the progress of the renovations, we are unfortunately not in control, that this info is passed on, when booking via agents.
Room Rates are 40% discounted and our reports show, that you have benefited from that lowered rates as well, paying US$ 16 per night for two persons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Local - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Local - Riverside

Address: 8 Street 144 Riverside, Phnom Penh 023, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Local - Riverside 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Local Riverside Guesthouse/bar/restaurant is conveniently located at Phnom Penh's popular riverside area (bars, restaurants, souvenir shops, markets, nightlife, parks) and is within walking distance to most major attractions in Phnom Penh- 5 minutes walk to The Royal Palace, National Museum, Silver Pagoda, Wat Phnom, Central Market and more... Only a 5 minute walk to the Night Market. Restaurant serves excellent Western and Khmer food and the bar serves coffee, tea, fabulous cocktails, draft beer, wine and all soft drinks and juices. The second level has three recently renovated (2011) guesthouse rooms complete with flat screen TVs, bathtubs, in room electronic safe, mini fridge, king sized or twin beds- fast wifi and room service is available. All rooms available to rent per night or on a short-term basis. Downstairs is also a lounge area with two 42" flat-TV's and 2m wide screen connected to cable TV and internet + music performance space with guitar and anyone is welcome to grab an instrument and have a go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Local - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Local 2 Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Local - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.