We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuffs there are very helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Silver River Hotel to your Saves list
Silver River Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh (Phsar Kandal), Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Butterworth, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stuffs there are very helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stuffs in Silver River Hotel very helpful and nice. The hotel environment is clean and comfort. The location of this hotel also strategic, just walking distance to night market. If you plan to stay at there, and looking for the local food as well, you may looking at those stalls infront this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    196
    60
    10
    9
See reviews for
29
136
91
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I normally like staying in guesthouses as I travel solo & like the personal touch. But since I hadn't booked ahead, I picked this place on recommendation of other travelers who'd just returned from Phnom Penh. The best thing about this hotel is it's awesome location, you can walk to the riverfront, palace, museum, pubs, restaurants - where all the action is. It's clean, bed is comfortable & breakfast is good. Never had lunch or dinner at the restaurant (though I noticed quite a few people did), so can't say anything about the chef's cooking skills.
If you plan ahead & book, you should be able to get a great deal going by what the other reviewers write. Again, I payed the rack rate because of a lack of advanced booking.
I had to be shuffled around 3 different rooms in the 3 days that stayed there because of room scarcity, and one consistent problem I found was that A/C was not that good. I literally had to sleep across the width of the bed along the foot, because that's precisely where you got cool air. During daytime the air-conditioning was quite adequate though, only night I found it to be a problem.
One room I was bitten quite badly by mosquitoes, so had to get up in the middle of the night, change to full-sleeve shirt & pajamas, swathe myself with mosquito repellent & then go to sleep again. Didn't face this problem in the other 2 rooms, so maybe it was a one-off, maybe the cleaning staff had kept one of the windows open a wee-bit, whatever.
Hotel staff & service were OK. I left my bags at the hotel when I went for a 3-day trip to Mondulkiri, no problem. I made my bus & taxi bookings from the hotel. Laundry service is also good, I think it was $2 per kilo, you hand in your laundry in the morning & by evening it's ready for pickup. I guess if I'd just walked across the street I could've had my laundry done at half the rate, but didn't want to take a chance. There's a foodmart right next door, numerous restaurants flank the hotel on both sides - tho I preferred walking a little further for the better rated ones.
I read one reviewer mentioned hookers, and it's true, I noticed them every morning during breakfast, but that was true in many of the Tripadvisor & Lonely Planet recommended top restaurants throughout Cambodia that I ate at, so...

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for rooms towards the front as the ones on the back overlook a junkyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Chose it off Tripadvisor and hit pay dirt! The approach to the hotel at first looks a bit seedy and it faces a block of tenements, but the location grows on you. It is just a short walk to the National Museum, the royal palace and Silver Pagoda, FCC and the riverfront. Handy shops and a couple of pubs that stay open till very late on the same street. Rooms were compact and well-appointed. The toilet was very good and I got a balcony too. Breakfast is basic, but good.
Staff was friendly, but booking a bus to Siem Reap proved much easier at a shop outside than at the hotel desk. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is nothing special, no personality really, but the rooms are nice and the free breakfast is good. It's also inexpensive. However, it's not in a great neighborhood and while there are a lot of hotels in Cambodia who strictly enforce a "no prostitution/no child abuse" policy, the Silver River Hotel is not one of them. Every morning there were a handful of skeezy old men eating breakfast with prostitutes, which is sweet I guess, but I would prefer to support businesses that takes a stronger stance on exploitation of women and children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Silver River was a last minute booking and we couldn't have been happier. The rooms are clean and quiet - the streets of Phnom Penh are not, so it was nice respite from from the bustle of the city. The staff were lovely and nothing was too difficult.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I booked this on Agoda and it was very good value for money - about $20 per night. It is in the trendy 172 street with lots os bars and cheap cafes. It is within easy walking distance of the Palace and National Museum. When you get there if there is a balcony room available on the 4th of 5th floor - it is worth paying the extra for the views.

Room Tip: Pay more for a 4th or 5th floor balcony room. The lower floors do not get the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here. The staff were excellent , the rooms good and excellent value for money. Included breakfast but was never up in time to try it, however the street the hotel is on is full of great eating places. I will return here on future visits to this great city.

Room Tip: Recommend a room away from the front by the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Hotel

Address: #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh (Phsar Kandal), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the royal treatment at Silver River Hotel located in a bustling downtown called Kandal Market, where business and leisure travelers always make their first choice of the area for their hotels. Silver River Hotel is just a walk away from landmarks such as Royal Palace, National Museum and the spectacular view along Tonle Sap and Mekong rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Silver River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.