We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room, Good Service, Crap Air-con” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Silver River Hotel to your Saves list
Silver River Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh (Phsar Kandal), Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Liverpool
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Clean Room, Good Service, Crap Air-con”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel is in a good location for bars, restaurants and the grand palace. The rooms are clean and a good size. The staff are friendly and the service if good.

The food at the restaurant was nice and the service was good.

Only problem was the air-con. It turned itself off after 15 minutes and after turing it back on a couple of times it would'nt work at all. It wasnt very cold and the room was very hot. We called reception and they sent a man to fix it, he was unable to, and we was given a fan as a replacement.

Other than that the stay was fine.

Room Tip: Test your air-con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    183
    56
    8
    7
See reviews for
28
125
86
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I was staying at the another hotel on the river 3.5star. No elevator,friendly & nice. $61 a night. As I was driving around I asked my taxi driver did he know a good 3 star hotel that was not expensive. He did say there were many in Phnom Penh however he did recomend I have a look at the Silver River Hotel. He stoped his car and took me into the hotel. I have to say I was impressed with the hotel. Clean, Everyone very friendly. They took me to the room to have a look. It had everything in it that the privious hotel I was staying at had. wit a 50% differance in price. A room was only $30. it was a little smaller in size.
The room was great. Food was great and cheap. Breakfast was very good. Would recomend get up early and come before 9.45. It seamed to run out and was not refilled at that time. I asked for 2 over esy and came right away. Breakfast is broken down right at 10.00. They do ask you if there is anything you need before breaking it down. But seemed a little rushed. The location is very good No problem walking to the Grand Palace and the National Musume. I did not use the Wifi. But did appreacate the free internet in the loby. Very conveinced. I gave this an excellent rating as it was comfortable, Friendly, location good. All around excellent value for money. Had no problem bring a friend back and stayed the night. All that was needed is an ID card. When my guest left in the morning I got a call to find out was everything Ok and could the guest leave. "All done very profesionally" Well done. SJFMee.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time if you require a large bed. Double. Many room had 2 single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed a night there during a vacation. Compared to similar hotel class in Ho Chi Minh city, this hotel costs 30% less. However the location is perfect, with walking distance to the palace, river, and city center.
Wifi was available from the room. A very plus side. When we asked to have an early breakfast, the staffs were preparing some food quicker for us. Good service for a 3 stars hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

At Silver River Hotel we were very impressed. On arrival we were provided with all the info we needed and given a welcome drink. The room was large with a big window (however it only opened a fraction) The bed was large as well at the TV. It was in a central location and a short walk to the riverfront restaurants and walking distance to the markets. Breakfast was a buffet that was changed daily. Wifi worked well in the room.

No complaints about this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We arrived during what appeared to be a monsoon which we were not prepared for, so literally dripped across the hotel foyer. The staff offered us a lovely welcome drink and were very kind and accommodating - getting us straight up to our room to shower and recover.

Once dry and changed, they arranged our onward bus journey for us, along with the hotel pickup.

The room was pleasant, with all amenities - and comfortable. The one thing we felt could have been more was that there was only one pillow per bed - with one spare in the cupboard. Another each would have been great.

However, the hotel is situated in a prime location, a short walk from the Royal Palace and Silver Pagoda, and near lots of good bars, cafes and restaurants. It is also close to the river front. We walked from the boat dock further up the city and it only took around 15 minutes (even in the monsoon!).

Breakfast was good; a buffet with a range of eastern and western foods, including cereals, eggs, noodle dishes and breads. Coffee was great.

Would stay again, wish we'd spent another night or two here.

Room Tip: We had a room out the back which overlooked what seemed to be a dump/rubbish tip - so whilst quiet w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Pros: excellent location , friendly staff, they help u with everything u need, they can arrange tours and tickets in a good price , good breakfast and good restaurant as well, bid bedroom, nice bed , clean and confortable.

Con: slow Internet at 2 floor, the hotel's laundry isn't really good.

Very good budget hotel

Room Tip: Lower and back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Silver RIver is a nice place to stay, in a great location - but beware booking online, they will slug you an extra $5 a night.

Silver River is a proper hotel compared to most of the guesthouses in the area. The hotel and rooms are looking a bit dated, but the rooms are big and have everything you could need.

Breakfast buffet is great (and included in your room price), and its in the heart of Phnom Penh, close to heaps of restaurants, bars and sights (museum, palace and not far to riverfront).

We ate dinner here on the night we arrived and were surprised at how tasty the food was.

There was however a sour note - and it drove us to change hotels. We had booked and paid for a room online though Agoda (a twin room), and yet when we arrived they said that the room was only booked for one person, so we had to pay an extra $5 a night. This pushed it out of our budget, and we were pretty angry with this hidden fee. There is nowhere on the Agoda website that gave us the option to book for two people - and in 4 months of travel and booking with Agoda we had never come across this before. Booking a twin or double means they expect two people to arrive usually.

When i questioned the charge, a team of 4 staff behind reception started giving me a well-rehearsed spiel about how our booking was only for one, and if we read the Agoda fine print we will see this. It seemed like this must happen all the time and the staff knew how to shut it down.

Out of interest - i went back through the Agoda booking process and couldn't see anywhere to indicate how many people would be staying in the twin or double room. Its not much money, but in Cambodia it is - so its a bit of a scam really. Also the way the staff death with our question on it was overly forceful.

Room Tip: If booking online beware they will charge $5 each night for a 2nd person (but you won't know til...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Hotel

Address: #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh (Phsar Kandal), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the royal treatment at Silver River Hotel located in a bustling downtown called Kandal Market, where business and leisure travelers always make their first choice of the area for their hotels. Silver River Hotel is just a walk away from landmarks such as Royal Palace, National Museum and the spectacular view along Tonle Sap and Mekong rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.