We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel in Phonm Penh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Silver River Hotel to your Saves list
Silver River Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh (Phsar Kandal), Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel in Phonm Penh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I have just stayed 4 nights 20th/25th February found my room 412, clean, large double bed airconditioning working,flat screen tv, internet in room worked ok the location is close to Palace and National Museum walking distance 5/10 minutes. the street the hotel is in has a number of nice little restaurants which is handy if you don't want eat on the riverside (which is the main eating area) a short tuk tuk ride from hotel.The hotel restaurants food was excellent and only a little more than some of the local restaurants (great attentive service by the restaurant staff. ) the manager Mr Ravy Kheng is very helpful and I found that any small problem was attended to immediately.Some people complain about not getting the room that they request but during my stay the hotel was "fully booked" I requested a room on the 5th floor but i was given a 4th floor room which was ok realizing that its not always possible to get a nominated room.
Breakfast was adequate although more variety would be appreciated.
overall ...its cheap to eat outside if you want more variety
I would stay again here location is good, staff tried to please, remember its Cambodia not Hong Kong or Singapore
Enjoyed my stay here and would recommend but book in advance.

Room Tip: 412 as at the back of the hotel..double bed ..overlooking parking lot .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    183
    56
    8
    7
See reviews for
28
125
86
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Nice enough boutique hotel with friendly staff and good location. Decent breakfast as well with eggs and omelets made on the spot.

Unfortunately, I stayed there twice and twice was not given the room I had asked for. I don't know if they have too many twin rooms or what, but even though they had guaranteed me a double room, they failed to deliver on their promise on both occasions. I had a written receipt that listed the details on it, and when they took out their own copy, they had crossed out some of the information. Very childish and unprofessional.

While I was at the counter, another person had a problem with his room as well, so they should seriously re-evaluate their booking procedures.

Besides that, the location was good, but given my experience I would try out a different place next time.

Room Tip: You can try to request rooms far from the lobby and the elevators, but it's unlikely that they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

What's not to like? Simply a very pleasant hotel meeting all our needs. Sex tourism... Get over it!
I'm one of those "old white guys" with a young "brown girl". BUT, she happens to be my wife of 8 years & actually from Chile. You can't always tell a book by it's cover. Great hotel... Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very well located and the staff is incredible. Breakfast is pretty good and the staff will bring out eggs made to order. The rooms are large and clean although they could use some updating. My biggest complaint is the white men parading the prostitutes through the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Good size, clean rooms with good bathrooms. Helpful friendly staff. rooms are fairly quiet. Only problem is that there are a lot of older western men staying in the hotel with young khmer women who they met the night before - I overheard several loud conversations at breakfast both days between these couples confirming that they did not know each other. Otherwise a good hotel, but the hotel appears to condone sex tourism and for this reason I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed here for 10 days while searching for a apartment while on a internship in Cambodia. The hotel was very well located within walking distance of the river front. The room was very nice, comfortable, good soft bed, very clean and nicely furnished. The wi-fi is good. The breakfast is ok, nothing spectacular but perfectly good to set you up for the day. The restaurant is also good, and a nice place to eat in the evening if you are too tired to go out. The staff are real stars , very friendly and willing to help, indeed i had to check out early and there was no problem and no charge. The other guests seem to be mostly couples over 30 who are here for a holiday - ( that is to say that this is a safe hotel for families and nothing sleazy going on here unlike other hotels in the city ). At $30 a night it is a little more pricy than others , but actually its worth paying a few extra $s to have a safe, clean well run and well staffed hotel. I would really recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Silver River hotel is a real jewel of a hotel. Clean, modern, well priced rooms and they have a great breakfast buffet with something different every morning. It is located two blocks from the riverwalk and one block from the national museum. Two blocks to the the Royal Palace grounds. The staff is the best we had encountered throughout Cambodia.

Room Tip: There can't be many rooms with a view being set next to tall buildings. That's the only smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Hotel

Address: #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh (Phsar Kandal), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the royal treatment at Silver River Hotel located in a bustling downtown called Kandal Market, where business and leisure travelers always make their first choice of the area for their hotels. Silver River Hotel is just a walk away from landmarks such as Royal Palace, National Museum and the spectacular view along Tonle Sap and Mekong rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.