We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent, comfortable and economical hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Silver River Hotel to your Saves list
Silver River Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh (Phsar Kandal), Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 222 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Acapulco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“An excellent, comfortable and economical hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed hère on two separate occasions and was treated extremely well both times. The manager, Chour Sun was as a delight, always helpful. I will not hesitate to stay here again. Phnom Penh is a marvellous city but some hôtels are truly dreadful. Not so the Silver River. 1 1/2 blocks from the river in a quiet street, not overburdened with hustling tuk tuk drivers, it represents the perfect peaceful bolt hole from the bustle that is SE Asia.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    183
    56
    8
    7
See reviews for
28
125
86
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Vermont
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

For the money this isn't a bad place to stay. The hotel is in a neighborhood full of 1960s shopfront apartments, and part of the walking tour of Phnom Penh. The staff was helpful, and everything I wanted to see was either within walking distance or a tuk-tuk ride away. The free breakfast was not inviting, the room was not particularly clean (especially the bathroom, with the urinal grate on the floor), and the in-hotel massage for $5 was a cross between a deep tissue massage and a mugging, but I was traveling on a grant and the Silver River helped me to keep my costs down.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in mid July and were more than happy with our room and the amenities provided by this hotel.

Check in was easy (we had booked through Agoda) and the room, air con, flatscreen TV and bed was comfortable and quite roomy (we did not have a balcony)

My only tip would be to spray for mosquitos at night - I could not see them in the room or bathroom but after a quick spray found a lot of dead mossies on the floor so they were loitering somewhere However we found this in all the hotels we stayed in Cambodia so the tip is to buy a can of "Raid" at the local store and spray every night before going to bed.

The location is good with many eating places and bars in the immediate area without the need to go down to the river (which is about a 10 minute walk anyway). Friends Restaurant is just down the road and around the corner (5 minutes away) so you do not have to go far to be fed and watered so to speak.

Although the hotel does bus bookings etc we went next door to a travel agency for the Mekong Express Bus to SR - no commission added and pickup from hotel included - worked like clockwork.

Breakfast was more than adequate - eggs to order etc. The hotel appeared to be full with mainly Western foreigners so it must be doing something right to receive this type of custom.

I would recommend this hotel for its price, location and would very much consider staying here again should I visit PP in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

Hotel staff were not as friendly as the others we met in other hotel in Cambodia. There's no complementary airport transfer even though the website claimed there is. Decent hotel with free wifi, looks crappy but hotel room is clean, good location

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Although not as welcoming as other places we stayed during this trip, this hotel met our needs perfectly and we enjoyed our stay. The buffet breakfast was a particular highlight! They also sorted us out with a massage and booked our onward journey to Saigon

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed in this hotel twice, before we went to Siem Reap and coming back. The first time we got a really nice, cozy and clean room, the second time we got a different one that was not so clean.. I guess it depends which room you get. But overall, I would recommend the hotel. The breakfast is ok, no croissants and scrambled eggs (only on certain days), but still quite decent compared to other hotels, and especially for the price you pay. The wireless worked well in the first room (on the 4th floor), not so much in the second one (on the 5th floor).
Great location ! really close to the national museum (walking distance), the river and plenty of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the start of our trip in Cambodia for three nights. The location of the hotel is superb, walking distance to all attractions, from royal palace to the riverside and night market etc. The rooms are of a good size and furnishings are fine. It is not a 5 star hotel by any rate, but perfect for the price. One thing I would recommend - the staff should take more care when cleaning rooms, they are not immaculately clean unfortunately. Nice modern amenities though, brand new TV and very fast wifi internet in all the rooms. Free breakfast that is sufficient. All in all, would stay again, for the third time.

Room Tip: Tip: We had Danny, our tuk tuk driver, take us around while we were there on both occasions, highly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Hotel

Address: #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh (Phsar Kandal), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 222 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the royal treatment at Silver River Hotel located in a bustling downtown called Kandal Market, where business and leisure travelers always make their first choice of the area for their hotels. Silver River Hotel is just a walk away from landmarks such as Royal Palace, National Museum and the spectacular view along Tonle Sap and Mekong rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.