We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of You Khin House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added You Khin House to your Saves list
You Khin House
13A, Street 830 | Sangkat Tonle Bassac, Phnom Penh Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Essendon, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

A really nice guesthouse, which is annexed to the adjacent school that the guesthouse supports. Our room was gorgeous, clean and comfortable, with whisper-quiet air conditioning (essential in Phnom Penh at any time of the year).
Downstairs is a beautiful, shady courtyard area with lush greenery which contains a small, but very enjoyable pool, sometimes used for swimming lessons for the school kids for an hour or two during the day. The "Four Ladies' Kitchen" is staffed by very friendly ladies, who deliver a simple but filling breakfast each morning to tables in the courtyard, and you can order tasty meals there throughout the day. The kids from the school also sell crepes to the public at 3:00 each afternoon.
It's lovely just to sit out there with a beer (available for US$1 per can from the courtyard fridge), and take in the serenity, in this quiet little pocket of Phnom Penh. The only disturbance might be the occasional yapping of the manager's little dog.
The guesthouse is a comfortable 20 minute walk to the centre of the city (especially early on, before the heat kicks in), but if you prefer, there is nearly always a tuk tuk parked outside, which will take you anywhere in the city for $2-3. They'll also take you anywhere else you want to go. A round trip to the Genocide Museum, then to the Killing Fields, returning to You Khin House, cost $15. They wait for you at both places - you can take as long as you like.
Overall, this place had a wonderful, friendly and relaxing atmosphere - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, overlooking the pool and courtyard. Hard to imagine a better room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    38
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
72
32
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
z
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here -most of the reviews are very accurate. Its not a flash hotel. All very clean and comfortable -yes, beds a bit hard. The 4 ladies who run the restaurant are wonderful and great cooks -we just kept eating there as it was better than the restaurants (the beef salad is delicious and the ginger chicken is to die for -and huge serves!) Everything is made with fresh ingrediants bought on the day. Breakfast not flash -bread and jam but the bread is good and jam is home made and lovely fresh fruit.
All the people who live and work there (including volunteers from various countries) are friendly.
This is not a place to stay to have a "party atmosphere" or a place with a bar you can sit around so if thats what you want you wont enjoy it.-we have stayed and enjoyed hotels like that. This is really different. The location isnt great but they organise tuk tuks for you and they are very honest with their prices. You could stay here without locking your room -you really feel safe. Its been a wonderful opportunity for us to connect with real Cambodian people and enjoy their wonderful hospitality and kindness. We visited the school adjoining the guesthouse and its beautifully organised and so great for kids in need. Mrs Muoy, you have done such a wonderful job running this hotel and being able to give kids the opportunity to learn and create in a beautiful environment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Our stay at this guesthouse can be sumed up in two words: excellent and welcoming. You Khin guesthouse is more than just a house for guests. You feel really welcomed, the staff is really super friendly (and funny), the rooms are spacious, the food is good. And if you are as lucky as we were while staying at You Khin you have the privilege to meet some of the volunteers from all over the world who teach children from underprivileged families at the school which is associated with the guesthouse.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Yes, it is accessible to the busy center. Yes, it is a bit of a walk to the river front. Yes, you need mosquito repellant. Yes, they have wifi. Yes, the rooms are clean and spacious. I personally love our bathroom :) Yes, they have a very friendly and helpful reception. Yes, they speak good English. Yes, the food is worth it. Yes, I felt a very sincere welcome in this place as I have never been to before.
Ms. Muoy (owner) had graciously introduced herself to us. She is very prompt in answering our emails and her staff has accommodated our requests (especially an early breakfast prior to departing). Literally, they serve with a smile. Arranging for a masseuse from the nearby spa houses are easy, just make the request with whoever is in the Reception.
They arranged tuktuks to pick us up from the bus station (as we were coming from Phnom Penh at night). Most of the staff are those who were educated by the school which was put up by Ms. Muoy for underprivileged kids. She gave us a yearbook of the kids as a memento.
By patronizing the guesthouse, the guests are likewise contributing to the school. In all, the service and place is very good for an affordable price.
P.S. Previously, they accept credit card payments but because of bank charges, I was told that there will cash payments only.
PPS. Guests can use the pool except when it is used for swimming class

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room (Good for 4-5 people) which is very spacious. Keep the doors closed bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful guesthouse, felt like I was at home, staff and service is excellent, great choice after a long flight to unwind....Thank you Channit for your beautiful smile and laughs as you try and teach us Khmer, thanks Dara for driving us everywhere in your Tuk Tuk and providing local knowledge to enhance our Phnom Penh experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Met my channith at reception and his smile and hospitality made me feel right at home immediately! Room was spacious and clean and their was even hot water! The kitchen ladies were superb and the food was excellent! As a single traveller I felt safe and comfortable here and knowing my dollar was also contributing to the funding of the attached school made it all a little bit more worthwhile ! The volunteers and muoy showed me the school and their work is truly incredible! The kids all speak good English and are well cared for. The pool is an extra asset after a hot day of exploring! My only regret was that I did not have enough time to return! May another time perhaps I will return to volunteer!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here for just over 2 months in 2013 whilst I was undertaking an internship in Phnom Penh. From the start staff were friendly and attentive and Muoy, the guesthouse owner, made an effort to make me feel welcome and at home. My room was big and spacious and had lots of nice features like wall hangings and nice furniture which helped me to feel much more settled whilst so far away from home. Staff were happy to help with various things like booking bus tickets and sorting visa extensions. Breakfast was nice and filling with tea, lime (lemon) juice, baguettes and varieties of home made jams. Pool was a great feature and lovely to cool down in after a day at work or over the weekends - not massive but big enough to swim in. Poolside area was a lso a nice place to just hangout. I'd say location was prett good, could easily walk to places of interest like the national musuem and royal palace and also within walking distance of the bars of street 278 and many good eateries. There were always tuk tuk drivers either just outside the guesthouse or just down the road if you don't fancy walking. Can't fault this place at all, would definitely stay again if I even find myself back in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to You Khin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about You Khin House

Address: 13A, Street 830 | Sangkat Tonle Bassac, Phnom Penh Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to You Khin House, your very special hideaway while traveling through Cambodia’s capital Phnom Penh. After a day exploring this bustling city you can retreat to an oasis of tranquility and friendliness . You’ll enjoy our secluded setting,clean new accommodation and amenities such as swimming pool, art gallery, snooker, bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your You Khin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
You Khin House Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage You Khin House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.