We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Circa 51

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Circa 51 to your Saves list
Circa 51
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   #155, corner of Streets 51 and 222, Phnom Penh 0000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 222 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Homely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Circa 51 for two nights and certainly enjoyed this hotel as the staff created a very laid back and homely atmosphere. Majid went out of his way to organise our visas for Vietnam. Rooms were spacious and had a different style and feel compared to larger hotels. Small family run hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    81
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
42
89
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Majid & Yvette have put together a wonderful, friendly and homely environment. The moment you enter, the smiles greet you and nothing is too much trouble; including the two young ladies struggling to move my luggage to my room and giggling all the time.

I chose the Terrace Suite overlooking the pool and was in no way disappointed. The décor of the room was eclectic which just all came together to create an interesting but relaxing space. I could imagine however, the air con not keeping up on much hotter days.

Breakfast, beside the crisp, clean infinity pool, was acceptable with the staff going out of their way to please. The highlight however, was the fresh infused coffee. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and they were all willing to help in any way possible; in fact, they thrive on helping.

I can highly recommend this hotel as they welcome you into their ‘family’ and of the 4 nights I spent there I could almost hear myself saying “hi mum, I’m home” as I returned each day from touring.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

It was pouring down when we checked in so the owner gave us a free upgrade so that we could access the room via the reception area rather than an uncovered pathway. Very gracious of him.

The room was spacious and had a nice ambience. Shower pressure great and clean bathroom area.

Breakfast was solid no frills. Freshly squeezed juice and great omelettes.

Sorya the manager was friendly and knowledgable. Kind enough to share insights into the culture and way of life. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I cannot say enough about Majid, Yvette, Mary and the rest of staff at Circa 51. We stayed here for a month. To say they were attentive and accommodating does not really describe their service. We felt like part of the family. Small or large group, family or not- doesn't matter. This is the place to stay. I've stayed in various places in the city over the past few years. This is the right mix of boutique, family, neighborhood, price. We'll be back, so don't take all the rooms!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I am an American residing in Phnom Penh who made the lovely Circa 51 her home for my first three months. A restored villa with a most beguiling pool, my stay couldn't have been more comfortable. The owners are delightful, the staff attentive and the breakfasts delicious. Its central location makes strolling to the nearby sights and restaurants like being at home in a leafy neighborhood. Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We are a French couple who stayed at circa 51 in April 2013 for 2 nights. We really enjoyed the hotel and thought it was worthy to add a comment (even 4months later!) the hotel is perfectly located in PP, the pool is amazing, the staff very kind. No doubt, this adress is the best tip we could give!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel was great in terms of cost and location. Quirky old building, easy walk to centre and restaurants.
Rooms spacious, there was 6 of us in ours! (2 adults, 4 kids)
Our room didn't have a balcony which was a pain as when the kids went to bed, so did we! That however wasn't the hotels' fault, but changes the holiday slightly, so if you're in the same boat as us, worth checking!

Value for money was very good, and staff very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Circa 51? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circa 51

Address: #155, corner of Streets 51 and 222, Phnom Penh 0000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#18 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#22 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Circa 51 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Circa 51 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circa 51 Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circa 51, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.