We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The vegetarian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vegetarian

The Vegetarian
158, Street 19 Off Sihanouk Boulevard, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
+855 12 905 766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 797 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Vegetarian, Vegan, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Breezy, comfortable and friendly restaurant serving wholesome Asian and Western cuisine with all natural, healthy, and fresh vegetarian ingredients. The price range is from US$1.50-$4.00. Moved from Street 200 in Aug 2012 and have merged with The Treez Recipe which is now also The Vegetarian. Price: Inexpensive Vegan-friendly, Organic, Asian, Western, Juice bar, Fast food, Take-out
Phnom Penh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The vegetarian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Having lived and worked in Vietnam, I was finding it more difficult to locate a good vegetarian restaurant in Cambodia. This restaurant is unpretentious, has a very comprehensive menu and was extremely reasonably priced. It was also very well-frequented - a fairly good sign that the food is good. Service was rather slow and could be improved, if for no other reason than to allow for a better turn-over of diners! The closing time of 8pm seems a little early, and it is closed on Sundays, but even cooks deserve time off!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    39
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap happy meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place and were able to feed our family of four for an average of $12 here. Great food and lovely staff too. Don't miss it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
904 reviews 904 reviews
432 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
817 helpful votes 817 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

In 2 days in Phnom Penh, it was impossible to try all the worthwhile restaurants, but based upon what we tried and read about and passed by, I would not be surprised if The Vegetarian is the best restaurant in town. It is quite an institution in Phnom Penh with prminent road signs and most tut tut drivers knowing about it.

The place closes at 8.30, we reached the place at 8.15, and the hostess politely suggested that we do a takeaway since they will close sharply at 8.30. I thought that to be very nic eof her instead of just turning us away. It took 15 minutes for our takeaway to be ready, and we had a wonderful meal in the comforts of our hotel room.

The spring rolls, the samosas, the Tom Yum noodles, the khmer curry were all excellent along with the taro fries. The menu is extensive and interesting, and the place itself is very inviting (specially the outdoors). It is not a big place and gets full most of the time, so make sure you persist with it. Phnom Penh came as a pleasant surprise with numerous choices for restaurants that do not serve dead animals, and the Vegetarian is perhaps on top of that list. Lastly, the prices are just unbelievable! Even by Cambodia standards, it was cheap for this kind of healthy food! Go for it, if you miss it, it will be at your own loss!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very cheap with a wide range of food options. Staff are ok and attentive enough. Pleasant seating area in the front garden area. Looking forward to going back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheap and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Every meal on this menu is under $3 and the drinks are under $2 a go which is great value for the area and the portion sizes. Lovely fresh juices and a wide variety of dishes available.In my few visits I've had the Indonesian curry which was yummy with quite a kick, veggie tempura- no complaints, fresh spring rolls which were very nice and a Mexican wrap which is they only thing I have found below par mainly because there was nothing very Mexican about it! But it was still pretty nice. I can see myself eating my way through the whole menu :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vegetarian also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Vegetarian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vegetarian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.