We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet hotel, if you get the right room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden House International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden House International to your Saves list
Golden House International
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Building 23-25 St.136, Phsar Kandal 1, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A quiet hotel, if you get the right room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I booked a no-window room, as I know St 136 well. The windowless room was a good size, recently decorated, flat-screen TV, small fridge. Extremely quiet at night, as it was well off the street, and had no windows!
The shower had one problem, who ever designed it, had a channel around the tub, that diverted water directly on to the floor. The bath mat was immediately soaked, and proved useless. Very attractive tiling, but functionally a disaster.
The included breakfast was for only one person, though I had booked the room for two. THey charged me $5 for a bowl of Tam Yam soup, and the following day charged me $3.75 for a bottle of water. There were 3 selections on the menu to chose from, either an omlet with juice and coffee,an omlet with coffee, or toast and coffee. Sunday morning, around 4:00AM, there was a lot of hammering from either above or next door. I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for the windowless rooms. They are well insulated, and it was very quite, exe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    50
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
35
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is situated in the touristy area of Phnom Penh, close to the riverfront, restaurants and transport. You can choose from a number of room styles,with or without windows (the rooms without windows are cheaper). Our sleep quality was very good with minimal noise from adjoining rooms etc. The air/con in our room was directly over our bed and, considering it is usually too hot to sleep without it, could have been positioned better. The rooms and hotel overall is very safe and clean containing most of the amenities that you need. The hotel has a lift so poses no issues if you are planning your accomodation on high floors.

The room service was very prompt and accurate and the laundry service,especially, is of good value and quality.

We would recommend Golden House International to anyone staying in Phnom Penh for a budget stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have been to PP many times but had always stayed at the more expensive hotels (raffles, intercon..) and decided to try a more budget conscious hotel closer to the river. I was most happy with this choice. Safety and cleanliness are my biggest concerns and the Golden House was excellent. The staff is very security conscious and most helpful. I was on the street side with a window..a little noisy but could watch the sights and sounds....and that is one of reasons to come to PP anyway. The bed was good, everything very clean. The free breakfast was fine. I would stay here again without hesitation. An excellent choice...more for couples and solo i would say than a family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gifu, Japan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent three nights here and had no complaints. The friendly, helpful staff called drivers and guides for our various trips around PP. The rooms are clean, simple and safe. The location was fantastic-walking distance from all the hotspots along the riverfront.

Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel and found it to be a great option in this city. The rooms are big and modern, the staff are very friendly, and e breakfasts are a generous size. The hotel is located close to the ferry port and there are many restaurants within walking distance. We definitely would recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for two nights then again for one night whilst on transit through Phnom Penh. Great little hotel close the all the action and restaurants. Excellent value and brekkie included, rooms were clean, safe and the staff excellent. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I came here after leaving the Golden River Palace Guesthouse (which we had booked online) prematurely due to it being disgusting. The staff were extremely kind and accommodating, especially considering I was mid-way through the worst case of gastro I've ever had in my life. The room was small but well designed so it didn't feel cramped. The aircon was effective and the bedroom and bathroom were both very clean. The hotel location is right near all the riverside cafes, and the staff will happily organise tours and transfers for you. We were very happy with this hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden House International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden House International

Address: Building 23-25 St.136, Phsar Kandal 1, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden House International 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden House International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden House International Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden House International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.