We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean hotel in the centre of all the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden House International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden House International to your Saves list
Golden House International
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Building 23-25 St.136, Phsar Kandal 1, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 224 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Broome, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good, clean hotel in the centre of all the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is situated just off Sisowath Quay on Street 136. Street 136 has lots of hostess bars but if this doesn't worry you too much, this is a great value hotel. The rooms are a good size, nice sized bathrooms with plenty of hot water. All have flat screen TV's, bar fridges & room safes. There is also a lift which is not a given in many Cambodian hotels. The rooms towards the rear of the hotel & on the higher floors are quieter as some of the nearby bars are open 24 hours & can be bit noisy late at night.we were towards the front of the hotel & it didn't worry us or affect our sleep but if you are sensitive to noise, stay to the rear rooms.
The hotel appears to be a family run business, the staff are very friendly & helpful. There is no restaurant in the hotel but plenty of good, cheap food right on the hotels door step.
At $45.00 per night for a deluxe room, this is great value & we will definetly be staying at this hotel on our next visit to Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the rear of the hotel or on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    45
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
32
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here a few times whilst travelling through Cambodia, after staying the first time we had to come back. The hotel looks a little simple from the outside however this is a very good standard 3 star hotel. Rooms are modern, clean, big comfy beds with a large tv and air con. Bathrooms are spacious and of good quality. Staff are super friendly and the food menu is great. This is a perfect little oasis to come back to after a long day of sight-seeing. Bars, restaurants and the riverside are right at the doorstep. All in all I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the rear of the property as you'll get street noise from the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Don't be put off by the garish red and gold Chinese style exterior. This is an actually an excellent mid-range hotel bang in the middle of Phnom Penh's main tourist area near the riverfront. The rooms have everything that you would get in many 4 star hotels yet you pay only $25. The receptionist was among the most helpful and friendly that I have ever encountered in any country. Most useful for me was that they have a large secure underground garage which is why they are used by many cycling and motorcycling tours. I will gladly stay there again on my next visit to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I live in Phnom Penh, but wanted to stay away from home due to a wedding on my block. A recent traveller had recommended the Golden House, but I was a little concerned because it is on Street 136 amidst a number of girlie bars as other have noted. I could have gone for a cheaper option, but at $25 this was surprisingly lovely. The room was not big, but very modern, flat screen TV, very nice linens, large bathroom, small fridge, closet, etc. I love it that they have an elevator....NOT common! Aircon worked just fine. Yes, the staff was very, very friendly. I didn't try the restaurant or bar, unfortunately. My wifi signal was pretty weak which is really my only complaint. I'm sure it depends on where you are located in the hotel. I was able to get online with about one bar of connectivity. This may be something they can improve. It is a very convenient location otherwise, quick walk to the riverfront, tons of restaurants, Street 130 is just one over and has restaurants like Lemongrass, the Empire, Chinese Noodle House, Sary's, etc. On the otherside is Street 144 with Kandal Market and also Local 2, Velkommen Inn....not to mention every restaurant along the river. Finding transportation is just not an issue this area is heavily populated with tuk tuks and moto-dups. The hotel also looked set up to handle other travel request, bus tickets, etc.

Room Tip: I would probably not opt for a room facing the street unless it is higher up in the building. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Hotel is excellent value. Located in an entertainment area and a very short walk to the river. Many restaurants and bars nearby serving great food and reasonably priced drinks. Bathroom was well provisioned with toiletries however no shower curtain around shower located over full size bath. Floor tended to get wet but dried quickly. Reception staff really friendly and went out of their way to assist and attended to any of our requests speedily with a smile on their faces. When we arrived lift was under repair but while we were filling out check in details staff had taken bags to room. Breakfast was substantial and served in comfortable chairs near reception area rather than in a dining room.
Unable to fault hotel and will certainly stay at this hotel on our next visit to this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millan L, General Manager at Golden House International, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear all,

On behalf of Golden House staffs and me personally would like to say very big thanks to all guests who come to stay @ Golden House, especially all guest who have commend us in Tripadvisor, which we all really appreciated. Take this time i wish you all have Great Health, Great Luck, Great Life with Great of Success. We all promise to do our utmost to keep our standard that you all like and we all hope very much to see and serve you all again in the upcoming future soon. My Home is Your Home


Millan
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Good mid range hotel with all the basic facilities. Excellent location just one block back from the river and close to many restaurants, bars and sights. Extremely pleasant and knowledgible staff who were happy to go the extra mile, e.g. the receptionist went down personally to the boat dock to check for me whether the boat to Siem Reap was actually operating. Very good for booking travel and arranging visas and do not appear to charge any mark up.

Room Tip: Some street noise (although nothing too serious), hence higher floors and/or rooms towards the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The hotel was really accomodating before we even arrived! We arrived in Phnom Penh at 8 o'clock in the morning and I e-mailed to ask if we could leave our bags and maybe use a shower but they allowed us to check in as soon as we arrived at no extra cost - brilliant!

The room was of a decent size (we had an extra single bed in ours) and clean. The bathroom was also good but the lack of a shower curtain did mean water got on the floor and you had to be very careful when walking on the tiled floors (small niggle). The only disadvantage was that we looked over the street and there are some noisy bars below and across the road. On one night it prevented us from going to sleep (some truly awful country and western karaoke) but the rest of the nights we were so tired from sightseeing we fell asleep straight away! Breakfast was lovely and fresh with rocket fuel coffee!

The hotel is in a good location near the river and plenty of bars and restaurants and other sights. Tuk-tuks are plentiful nearby as well.

Reception were very helpful with booking trips and coach seats and allowed us to pay for everything all at once at the end of our stay rather than having to take cash out of the bank all the time.

Really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden House International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden House International

Address: Building 23-25 St.136, Phsar Kandal 1, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden House International 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden House International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden House International Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden House International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.