We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cardamom Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cardamom Hotel to your Saves list
Cardamom Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   No. 69, Street 174, Sangkat Phsar Thmey III | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Cardamom Hotel for three nights and ate at their restaurant for one evening meal. There was three of us in the room which was comfortable, clean and quiet. Our view (5th floor) was over roof tops toward a Buddist Temple. The Mimosa restaurant was very pleasant and the food quality enjoyable even though there were very few diners in the restaurant. The breakfasts (in the Mimosa Restaurant) were acceptable, with the buffet replenished regularly, the orange juice was more like a cordial.

The location was good and I would stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    75
    31
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
40
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxenford, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel in a very good location - close to Central Markets, Royal Palace, and waterfront. Always easy to find a tuk tuk for transport. Rooms nice and very clean - we had a balcony with no furniture, but probably too hot anyway. No double glazing so sometimes we heard the local disco or a motorbikes. Restaurant very good, and breakfast. Staff very helpful - they were a little bemused by our excitement listening to the State of Origin in a corner of the bar, but lovely about it. Some staff not so good in English and a friend had trouble getting a call to us, but always ready to help.
Free wi-fi but signal better in public areas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I spent 2 nights here. The rooms looked new and very clean with excellent shower. The breakfasts were good and for the first time in ages I could enjoy some muesli. The only downside were rooms towards the front of the hotel were subject to traffic noise. I was moved on request on arrival. Also if your room is in the big hall in front of the stairs you will be woken up early morning by inconsiderate guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

3 night stayed , very good breakfast delicious and bed room comfortable
friendly staff warm smiling at all time and locate near by to Soriya Supper market..

Room Tip: Room good city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a little under a month as we had moved to Phnom Penh for work purposes whilst we were looking for apartments.

We rented one of their one bedroom apartments on the upper floors and on first impression was pleased. However on staying for this length of time became increasing desperate to leave.

Firstly I badly cut open my toe on the bathroom step as they had a raised step which i slipped on and the edges were razor sharpe. I still have a piece of tile in my foot nearly 8 months later. Why they had a raised step im still questioning as not a wet room. Bathroom is very clean but the bath is only any good if you are 4ft nothing. Shower was good though.

There is no swimming pool and the resturant was not the best. Often the breakfast was cold as the flames would go out that were keeping the food warm. The toaster was broken the entire time I was there and they had a tiny 2 toaster to replace it temporary which could only toast thin sliced bread. There was a good choice of food available and they would cook your eggs all fresh for you when the cook was there. Coffee was too strong for my liking and tea was awful, so left with having just juice which was often only apple juice which I dislike.

The hotel is very busy and the reception seems to always have masses of people being booked in or out. There is no parking as such so coming home after a hard day and waiting for coaches to move in some glimmer of hope you have a space somewhere around to park is tedious.

The staff in reception were very friendly and helpful and coped so well with the constant flow of visitors.

The area is very busy and also very noisy so if you don't mind booming music banging out till 2 in the morning you will be fine.

When out on the balcony which seemed to attract every bug in Cambodia the smell could be somewhat nasty. The street was not too clean in places with rubbish stacked up and around so not too pleasant.

Would I stay there again......................... im afraid it has to be a NO

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

we just sepnt one night. We did not really not the location and service but we can say that it was not clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Clean, no character, decent. Not much to say really. Stayed as part of a tour so can't comment on room rate but if it's $30 or less a night, it seems like a decent option for Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cardamom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardamom Hotel

Address: No. 69, Street 174, Sangkat Phsar Thmey III | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardamom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carddamom hotel opened August 2010. Suitable for all business and traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cardamom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardamom Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.