We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place so much. When I visit Phnom Penh, I always eat here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warung Bali

Warung Bali
near Royal Palace, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 786 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Indonesian
Description: halal muslim foods in Cambodia
Restaurant details
Description: halal muslim foods in Cambodia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“I love this place so much. When I visit Phnom Penh, I always eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ok, so I've been to Bali and the food is exactly like what you'd get there. The man who owns it is always smiling and the staff is friendly and quick. The food also comes out mega fast. Now, the most important part: the food.
This place is so fing delicious I cannot even handle myself. I shouldn't even be reviewing it because I am selfish and I want to keep this place all to myself but I also want this place to get lots of business and do well.
SO, yes. So good. Not to be missed.

PS - get the squid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Superb Indonesian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Want a change from Khmer cuisine? Give this place a shot. Excellent food, great selection and cheap as chips. There Gado Gado was an excellent vege hit. Place was busy both times we went. 4 dishes and 3 beers came to $11 US. On my revisit list for 2014

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food you won't find anywhere else.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

One of the best value restaurants in Phnom Penh. The owner is a nice guy as are the staff.

I have learnt that Ayam Balado means Chilli Chicken in Balinese, as I can't help but order that dish every single time.

It's a popular place which is sometimes hired out for a few hours at prime lunch time on a weekend which can be frustrating if you've travelled some way to get there. It is dark inside and the fishtank is a little depressing to look at, but it does not detract from the fantastic food.

Opposite the place where the ex king was cremated on the riverfront.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly Owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Visited this place only cause I wanted some Indon/Malaysian food. Spoke to the owner who is a really nice chap. Food was ready really quick. Only really ordered one dish but will come back here for the good stuff next time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Small Indonesian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This restaurant located next to Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel and not far from National Museum. You can walk from Riverside and when you found FCC turn right and you will find UCare, a pharmacy shop. Cross the road and you will find this restaurant. The food is cheap and is a halal food since the owners are Indonesian muslim.

I recommend to try their Tempe Mendoan. Tempe is Indonesian traditional food which made of fermented soy bean. They made the tempe by themselves. Mendoan tempe is fried tempe cover with flour and serve with chili sambal. Ask for their sweet soya sauce and mix it with the chilli sambal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Bali also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Warung Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warung Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.