We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out in Phnom Penh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grasshopper Adventures Day Tours by Bicycle

Grasshopper Adventures Day Tours by Bicycle
23E0 | St# 144, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
+855 12 462 165
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 118 Activities in Phnom Penh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bicycle Tours of the Cambodian Countryside. Tours that allow you to connect with the real Cambodia. Half day tours, full day tours and multi-day tours.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great day out in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went on the Mekong Islands half day tour when we were in Phnom Penh recently. What a fabulous day it was. It gave us a really different view of the city and surrounding countryside. Our guide Amom was a treasure who shared her wealth of knowledge and lve of the country and people. She had a great sense of humor and looked after us all with great food, funny stories and a wonderful enthusiasm. Can't recommend this activity or guide highly enough. We will be doing another tour in Siem Reap on the strength of it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    47
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mekong Island Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I did half day tour around Phnom Penh with Vichheka, who is a great guy. He speaks good English , he is ethusiastic and full of energy :) With pleasure I can recommend his services. Gr
reat trip to see rural life and escape from all those tourist attractions of Phnom Penh.

Gracjan

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great biking tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went on the Mekong Island biking tour. It was fabulous biking on the island, visiting a silk store, had a great lunch. Can only recommend if you would like to see life outside Phnom Penh. The bikes were in great condition.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Half day Mekong Island tour - a great morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went on the half day Mekong Island bike tour, which was a distance of about 20km, leaving from the Phnom Penh shop.
All bikes appeared to be present model Giant "Ringon" mountain bikes in great condition. Helmets were supplied for each rider- all were in great condition also, and adjustments were easy for both saddle height and helmet size.

The first leg south to the first ferry crossing would probably be the one of most concern for riders lacking confidence in traffic, with tuk-tuks, cars and bikes moving in typical Phnom Penh fashion. However, at the early time of the morning the traffic hadnt built up too badly, and the remainder of the trip was on tracks and roads with little or no traffic.

With Amom leading the group and Heng bringing up the rear ensuring that the slower cyclists weren't left behind, we were well taken care of. Stopping at various points on the island, and hopping across on ferries to other islands, we saw Silk weaving, local fishing and farming, tasted fresh fruits and enjoyed some local snacks. There were plenty of chances to drink water to re-hydrate and take in the view. The pace and flat terrain was well within any casual cyclist's performance, although a couple of the tracks were uneven at some points where caution might be needed.

As a guide Amom was first rate, with good english, a really great personality and an interest in all the people in the group. I also enjoyed sitting at the back talking with Heng for a little while as we meandered through the back streets of the islands.
Understandably the trip didn't end in Phnom Penh - the traffic would have been too much. Instead, we were picked up about 5 km away and brought back by minibus to a restaurant where a very tasty local lunch was provided.

All in all, a great experience and a well thought out and easy paced half-day. Although I don't have the time the opportunity to do any further trips this time around, based upon my experience I would have no hesitation in booking the full day trip on a later visit.

Tip: Be warned, it can be very dusty in some parts. I would recommend wearing a set of shoes you don't mind getting dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Mekong Islands Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We did the half day Mekong islands tour today. We had two terrific guides who took us the whole way round at a steady pace everyone could keep up with. They both spoke good English and were friendly and willing to share a laugh. The bikes were in amazing condition. We visited many small towns and the little children were all waving and saying hello which was pretty cool. The organized restaurant at the end served great food. The tour was very organized and I would recommend it to anyone! (Australian 14yrs old)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grasshopper Adventures Day Tours by Bicycle also viewed

 

Been to Grasshopper Adventures Day Tours by Bicycle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasshopper Adventures Day Tours by Bicycle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.