We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed and tired” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Plantation

Save Saved
You added The Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plantation
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28, Street 184, Phnom Penh 1000, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$85 Double, $ 75 Single
Ranked #8 of 209 hotels in Phnom Penh
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed and tired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

On first impressions, this is a great hotel: amazing service, design, food and drinks. The problem was with my room (2103). Outside the room, there's an old air conditioning unit which rattles and sounds like a car engine. Not conducive to sleeping in a hotel which is positioned as an oasis of calm amid the bustle of Phnom Penh. When I asked to move after finally having enough at 630am, they instantly agreed to move me the next night, so pretty evident that the management know this noise is a problem but refuse to do anything about it.

Room Tip: Request a room facing inwards to avoid aircon noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Plantation, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest, I am very sorry the airconditioning was noisy. All ariconds are two years old, from Panasolnic, all of them are inverters and should be silent. I will get that one checked. Cheers, Alexis (Plantation co-owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    270
    52
    9
    4
See reviews for
107
389
89
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had the pleasure to be upgraded to the penthouse suite. The suite is very spacious and equipped with all gadgets you would expect and more. We had some parts that needed attention in the suite, but must say that the management reacted promptly and fixed and/ or repaired everything. All in all a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended. Staff is very friendly and restaurant is also very good for both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I always try to stay at boutique hotels when I travel, be it for business or pleasure for the personalized touch and the unique experience. Although I was initially a bit unsure of the Plantation as it was rated No 9 on tripadvisor, and a 9 in Phnom Penh is not a 9 in Europe.
I can now safely say that the plantation is a gem of a place in Phnom Penh and closer to a number 1 if you are looking for a place with real charm and character. If you are for total luxury then this is not the hotel for you.

I stayed at the hotel for a total of 10 nights to attend the World Heritage Committee meeting taking place in the city. After a long day, it was always a pleasure to head back to the hotel and relax at its colonial reception or its leafy tropical poolside bar.

In the mornings, I would do a 30min swim session in its stunning pool to start the day refreshed.

Definitely, choose a pool view room on the 2nd or 3rd floor in the deluxe category.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly and they organized a day trip with flights and all to Seim Reap to visit the temples.

Also, the restaurant at the terrace was delightful and worth a try after a long day out.
Really wanted to try the spa but never managed to go.

Location is convenient for most city sites, walking distance to the riverside, the cool street of 240, the museum and royal palace.

Just 2 points

* Breakfast was good with some variety, however more fresh fruit juices need to be available at breakfast and throughout the day. For a country with abundant fruits there should be no need to use any canned juices. Also, there was never any fresh coconut available at the hotel although it was piled up everywhere in the city.

I am quite the fruitarian so I expected to be spoilt in the far east.

Also bath towels are in need of an upgrade.

Lizards are part the territory so enjoy them mulling around as they are quite friendly :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have been in budgetwise equal boutique hotels in another similar cities like Hanoi and Saigon and there is no way to compare the luxury to enjoy a downtown urban resort like The Plantation in Phnom Pehn. The rooms are clean and spacious with powerful airconditioning and wifi signal and the bed is big and confortable.
Breakfast is offering a consistently good offer of food besides the swimming pool, a place where you can forget being in the middle of downtown.
Staff is really kind and efficient always willing to help you.
While in the hotel, they arranged a car for us to visit Phnom Chisor temple, Black Lady temple and Ta Phrom temple out of the city. I strongly recommend you not to miss it, if you have been in Siem Reap it would bring you similar memories and if you haven't this is a good "snack" to give you a hint about.
Some minors problems I saw that the hotel can improve but still deserving in my view the 5 rating: Few tiny ants reaching the plate of food in the room and bed linen getting old that needed replacement asap.
Definitively a place I will book again if back to Phnom Pehn !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice hotel, good location (very near to shops, restaurants, major attractions), good size room and bathroom, however the bed (which was comfortable) sits on a stone platform some 30/35 cms above the floor. The easiest way into the bed is from the end rather than from the sides. At night, when sleeping if you need to go to the bathroom, you better remember that you are not at floor level and must be careful not to trip and fall because of the 2 level set up. The night tables, lamps and fan control are not within reach once you are in bed. You need to get out of bed to turn them on/off. The bedroom set up is good example of "design and originality" prevailing over comfort and practicality.
The hotel provided a complementary small plate with fruit which was replenished daily.
Good selection of international channel and good WiFI connection in the room. There is a goo size safe and big flat screen TV in room too
Breakfast buffet was good with Western and Asian choices.
The staff in the hotel was a mixed bag. some attentive and helpful, others showing straight faces not even offering a greeting or a smile.
Overall a good hotel, however because of the two levels bedroom set up I am not sure I would stay there again,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

pp is a pretty intense place, and staying at the plantation can help your psyche handle that, with it's lovely pool area and relaxing, tastefully appointed rooms. we had a nice, 2-night stay at the end of june. i would certainly stay here again.
i do agree with other reviewers, though, that more vegetarian fare on their menu would have been nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a really nice stay here (husband and 2 kids). Adi, the GM and his staff are very friendly and helpful from the front desk to the cleaning people and the boys in front getting us tuk tuks.

We loved how uncluttered and streamline the rooms are.

The pool area and cabanas were a favorite place for us after being out and about in the heat.

The hotel is centrally located to the Natl museum and palace and walkable to the river side area.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation

Address: 28, Street 184, Phnom Penh 1000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plantation 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plantation Urban Resort & Spa is a 70-room charming and colonial style hotel, located behind the Royal Palace and National Museum, in the heart of Phnom Penh's tourist quarter.It is set up in a lush and exotic garden with a main 20m natural stone swimming pool and a second funky red pool & bar. Facilities include restaurant, two bars, spa, fitness and a shop exclusively dedicated to Cambodian products. An art gallery is surrounding a lotus pond in front of the reception.The Plantation has been listed in the World's Top New Hotels of 2012 by Condé Nast Traveler and has won many awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plantation Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.