We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Plantation to your Saves list
The Plantation
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28, Street 184, Phnom Penh 1000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Tranquil place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay here at the Plantation on the way back from Siem Reap. We decided to tag a couple of days on to our break in the capital.
We arrived on the early flight from Siem Reap meaning we got to the hotel at around 10.30am. We expected to just drop our cases and have to check in later.
No our room was available for us which was a real bonus. After a quick check in we were shown to our 2nd floor room overlooking the pool. A nice bright modern room with a couple of strange features but all in all good.
So the strange features.... Lets hope you are not staying for more than a couple of days and require space to hang clothes. The wardrobe consisted of a hanging bar in the corner of about 1ft long. No drawers either just a couple of shelves. Not the end of the world
Also the shower is in the same room as the bed etc with just a brick wall screen, a bit odd, also the shower was poistioned in the corner of the wall so you had to kind of lean to one side and point the shower head to the opposite wall, then stick your head under. All a little weird but again no big shakes, water was hot and you can shower. The final oddity was when we came to close the curtains in the evening, the curtain literally fits the window JUST by the nearest cm. so light floods in on the mornings. Just slightly bigger curtains needed.
Other than this the room was all good. comfy bed, mosquito net safe etc etc as you would expect.
Again for such a good quality hotel, no turn down service, now I know I can manage to get in bed myself without someone coming and turning the corner down for me but I think this is the norm in every hotel at this level. So we were surprised to return in the evening.

Breakfast was a buffet affair and just about passable. this is the one area that they need to work on I think. a basic selection of poor pastries, salad, cold meat, cheese. When I say selection, I mean one of each. Two juices that were virtually empty all the time. very weak tea and coffee. The hot selection was random to say the least. baked beans on one day with potato croquettes, rice, fried noodle, and a basic dim-sum. You wont starve but nothing great.

Good selection of food available during the day to just grab while around the pool.

The pool is a great feature here, with individual Salas and plenty of beds around a cooling clean pool. great after the heat and dust of the streets.

We had dinner in the final night in the restaurant. Great service sat outside on the roof terrace under the fairy lights and lush climbing plants.
Food was good, very good if on the small size for portions. I had the NZ fillet steak and it was cooked to perfection, so tasty however the sides are tiny and I mean tiny, Thankfully when ordering I cheekily asked if I could have two different ones, Its a good job. Do it!
The fish was also cooked to perfection with crispy skin and tender flesh ( so I am told by the other half) all for a princely sum of $55 including a bottle of wine. Great for a hotel

A highly recommended stay in the city.

On a final note I would make sure you either carry your keys with the hotel address on them or write the hotel address on paper and carry with you. We found that all but 1 tuktuk driver did not know the hotel location until we showed them. They had not heard of it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    300
    60
    9
    5
See reviews for
126
437
96
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This place is an oasis out of nowhere. It is a beautiful hotel and a great escape after a long day on the streets of Phnom Penh. Rooms were spacious and clean with a nice patio on the poolside as well. Price was reasonable and the breakfast was delicious.

They also had a great gym with equipment that worked well, plenty of water, and towels as well. There is a spa attached to the gym area as well, which has a terrific staff and reasonably prices massages.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is very conveniently located. As others have said, you enter a tranquil, well-designed and very attractive environment with rooms to match. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. The restaurant dinners were also good but the menu was the same every night. We had a power outage one night, but the most disappointing thing was the lack of hot water for all five nights of our stay - at best it reached the temperature of almost lukewarm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Plantation, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest, I am very sorry about the hot water. The electrical back-up of the solar water heater is driven by a timer that keeps resting itself.... We ordered the part in China and it should be replaced during the coming week. Cheers, Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

What a cool hotel - and very well appointed. From the minute you walk through the entrance from the street you enter a world of tranquility. This hotel is very modern, very stylish and quite beautiful - and looks even better at night. Very well designed. The pool area is very quiet, with a great restaurant alongside - and also serves breakfast there. Very good breakfast buffet and menu. Prices very reasonable. Rooms on the ground floor have doors out to the pool, and on the upper levels have balconies. Rooms are modern yet basic, but very nicely appointed. Looked at all the hotels on line in Phnom Penh and due to this being one of the larger of the sister hotels it had a room available at late notice, but on reflection it was the nicest out of the group (based on internet research and visiting one of the others - The Blue Lime) - and they are all very nice hotels. I would recommend this hotel 10/10. Pnnom Penh is a busy, and if you have visited the likes of the killing fields, this is a welcome haven to reflect on everything on return.

Room Tip: Ground floor room with access to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We loved our short stay at The Plantation. We arrived at night and the grounds were beautifully lit. You drive up to non-descript walls and a doorway. Once through the doorway the scene transforms. A lovely water feature leads to the reception area of the 1930's building. Reception is tiny but you take a seat and the staff come and serve you for the comfort off your chair.

The rooms are clean, neat and trendy. The decor fosters a feeling of relaxation.

The poolside area is lovely with shaded gazebos, complete with electric fans. Breakfast is served poolside in the form of a buffet. We found the selection to be excellent. The music even seemed to suit the guests as it sounded like the soundtrack to a 1960's French movie. The day we were there the guest seems to be predominately in their 50's and 60's, a little older than we expected in a 'trendy hotel'.

The staff were all polite and very helpful.

We'd be very happy to stay at this hotel again on a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and had a room overlooking the pool with a small veranda. Our room was modern, very nicely laid out, huge bed and mossy net. It was very quiet at night although the motor on the fridge was noisy. I unplugged it at night and back in, in the morning. The pool and surrounding area where they serve breakfast is very nice and relaxing. Breakfast is buffet style plenty of it and plenty of choice. The staff are hard working and friendly. However that can not be said for one particular guest, the way he spoke to a member of staff, extremely rude and demeaning. The lad just stood there hands behind his back and head bowed. If it had been me I would have stuck one on him! Some people seem to forget they are a guest in their country.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the poolside. Some seem to look out at the side of another room block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel was a real delight. The pool area is really beautiful, the restaurant is good and resonably priced. Breakfast is fine, though perhaps the juices contain too much sugar and there are not many options for vegetarian customers, but other than that, it is ok.

The room was pleasant and clean. The shower was nice too. Plenty of hot water. This was the only hotel in Cambodia where I got interesting soap. Please keep that up, it is a nice touch. In terms of noise, it was perfect, not a sound.

The service was great, everyone was very friendly and efficient. The area where the hotel is located is perfect and safe. One block away from the Palace.

My only complain would be the tourist/reservation desk. We wanted to go to Siem Reap by bus and they got us tickets with the most horrible bus company you could ever imagine. The bus was really old and smelly, it had a big scratch on the windshield, and it stopped everywhere to pick up and drop random people off the road. It took 7 hours to get to Siem Reap. A hotel like The Plantation should choose better providers. We lost an entire day because of this bad decision (I trusted they would send us on an OK bus). The AC also didn't work well, it was nasty, really.

I would stay here again, most definitely. I would just never trust the people at the tourist reservation desk again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Plantation, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Many many thanks for your kind review and sorry about the bus... Booking busses is really a nightmare here... We are welcoming any one that is willing to open a good transport company, it will help us a lot!! Cheers, Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation

Address: 28, Street 184, Phnom Penh 1000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plantation Urban Resort & Spa is a 70-room charming and colonial style hotel, located behind the Royal Palace and National Museum, in the heart of Phnom Penh's tourist quarter.It is set up in a lush and exotic garden with a main 20m natural stone swimming pool and a second funky red pool & bar. Facilities include restaurant, two bars, spa, fitness and a shop exclusively dedicated to Cambodian products. An art gallery is surrounding a lotus pond in front of the reception.The Plantation has been listed in the World's Top New Hotels of 2012 by Condé Nast Traveler and has won many awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plantation Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.