We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food, central location, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra to your Saves list
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12301, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Italian food, central location, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Althought further improvements were still going on (the Japanese restaurant wasn't open yet) service already was top quality compared to the rest we saw in Cambodia. Friendly staff. Really excellent Italian restaurant. Great footmassage at the pool. Wonderful buffet breakfast.
We were welcomed by the Belgian hotel manager Mr De Man, a very service minded guy and fully enjoyed the hospitality of this new hotel.
Because the hotel is new, tuktuk's in town, still need some help to find the place. So take the hoteladdress with you when you go out.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDeman, Resident Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, February 27, 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I felt so much rewared by your positive feedback that I shared it with our whole Team right away. As we truly have a passion for our Guests we take care of them with all of our heart.
We try and look into each and every detail to turn your stay perfect.

I apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the non-availability of one of our restaurants during your stay. In the meantime our Japanese restaurant HACHI opened and it got off to a great start.

I sincerely thank you for mentioning our high standard of service, in particular in DO FORNI, our Italian restaurant and our So SPA at the hotel pool.

Once again, thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and for recommending our hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, hopefully in the near future.

Sincerely,

Frederik Deman
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    194
    29
    15
    4
See reviews for
92
255
67
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I stayed in the hotel during my visit to Phnom Penh in January 2011. The hotel is brand-new and is extremely welcoming to any guest looking to be pampered. Amazing swimming pools, spa, tennis courts. Great restaurants. Warm service and big smiles everywhere. Strongly recommended to anyone looking for a real 5-star hotel in brilliant Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDeman, Resident Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, February 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your kind review and I am so pleased to learn of how you value our new hotel and I would like to express my sincere appreciation for positive feedback.

I am delighted to read about your wonderful experience within as well as brilliant Phnom Penh, I shared it with our whole Team. They felt truly rewarded.

Thank you for making Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra your destination choice. We certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Frederik Deman
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Had the pleasure to stay and the character and individuality of the place is apparent the moment you walk in. The staff make a real effort to make you feel welcome and you can tell they're all passionate about the place. Rooms were clean and comfortable - had everything we needed. Real character about this place - something special. Definitely recommend it for a great place to stay .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDeman, Resident Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, February 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am very delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra and that you in particular were very happy with the quality of products and services provided to our guests within the hotel.

Once again, thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and for recommending our hotel as a great place to stay.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, hopefully in the near future.

Sincerely,

Frederik Deman
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Our stay was lovely, the service exceptional however construction of the hotel was continuing during our stay. This took away a bit of the shine. Once this hotel is finished it will be exceptional. The location is a little out of the way however the main city centre is only a short tuk-tuk ride away.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We booked 4 nights at Sofitel because we wanted time to chill out following a month long trip that took in Sihanoukville, Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, Angkor Wat and back to Phnom Penh. The plan was to do some mild sight seeing / shopping in Phnom Penh then spend the last couple of days lounging round the pool in preparation for the 24 hour haul back to England.

Sofitel was the perfect choice. Elegant and well appointed with friendly, attentive staff gliding around acres of cream marble. The hotel is located away from FCC and the central Quayside area, but is a $2 dollar Tuk Tuk ride to get there. Great views out over the river. We didnt eat there since there are a hundred fine restaurants around FCC and that area, and it was nice to eat then stroll along the river side boulevard.

The hotel had only been open for a month and they are well on top of any teething troubles. The landscaping by the main road was still in progress but this is 400 yards from the hotel so no hassle.

The pool and pool bar are delightful, elevated from the river so a nice breeze, and the staff are unobtrusively attentive.

Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

The hôtel opened mid December 2010, we were there four days early January 2011, the swimming pool was open, the spa and fitness not.Painters and carpenters were still everywhere.
It will be a great hôtel in Pnomh Penh. The facilities are excellent, though not in city center. Rooms are perfect except for the bathroom design invented by someone who never takes a shower.
The staff is very friendly, professionnalism will come with time. The food and buffets are exceptional for a new hôtel. The place to go in Pnomh Penh

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDeman, Resident Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, February 27, 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I am very pleased to read your positive review from your recent stay with us at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and recommend our property.

We at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra are continuously striving to improve our services and products, therefore your constructive feedback is very valuable and I thank you very much for sharing it with us. I have also shared your comments with our Teams, they are equally happy to go through your review.

I apologise for the inconvenience caused with our Engineering Department that was finalizing So SPA and So FIT during your stay and may I presume it did not affect the possibility of you returning to the hotel.

Once again, thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and for recommending our hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra in order to offer you our undivided attention.

Sincerely,

Frederik Deman
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Address: 26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12301, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra is set riverside amongst landscaped gardens in the old quarter of the city, neighbouring the largest Mall in Cambodia, Aeon Mall. This stunning well located 12-storey colonial style hotel is close to key attractions, embassies and the central business district. Along with 201 luxurious rooms and suites with Mekong or Bassac river views, this 5-star hotel offers an array of chic restaurants and bars, an upscale spa, two swimming pools, a sports club and the finest conferencing facilities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.