We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, great room, staff, value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12301, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 201 hotels in Phnom Penh
Scotland UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved it, great room, staff, value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Our room was large enough for the 2 large single beds, bathroom great. Enormous buffet breakfast was included in our package (3 nights when paying for2). Pool fabulous, staff friendly. Only downside was no happy hour for cocktails. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your positive feedback, especially regarding our buffet breakfast at La Coupole. I noticed your comment regarding the cocktails, and I am very happy to announce you that Le Bar now hosts Happiness Hours – Fridays Remixed every Fridays from 5pm to 9pm, and cocktails are part of our 50% OFF offers. I hope we will have the great pleasure to welcome you again soon and get your feedback about Happiness Hours cocktails.
Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    148
    17
    15
    1
See reviews for
72
184
52
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Loved this hotel, coming back to it after adventures in Phnom Penh was a great feeling. It is set well back from the road and is a bit of luxury in what can be a dusty and busy city. Rooms very large and well appointed with twin basins in bathroom and separate shower with Lanvin amenities.

Staff were friendly and greeted you in french as you passed by which was a nice touch. The breakfast was probably the best ive had in asia with excellent breads made in house and a teriffic eggs benedict available at the eggs station.

Tuk tuks are more expensive when booked through hotel but negotiations are possible. There is what appears to be a shopping centre under construction next door so there was some construction noise during the day however it stopped in the evenings. It did not affect my stay

Overall an excellent stay, ill be back when next in PP.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this great review! We are delighted to hear that you really appreciated your stay with us and that you loved our breakfast at La Coupole so much. It is always a pleasure to learn that our cuisine is much appreciated. I hope we will have the great pleasure to welcome you again very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our first wedding anniversary having booked under the So Relaxing Package. From the moment we drove through the gates (away from the noise and grime of Phnom Penh) to check-out, our experience was nothing short of outstanding. On checking-in, to our joy, we had been upgraded from a Standard to a Luxury room on the 11th floor. It was spectacular - the bed was extremely comfortable, with everything you could need for a stay. They had even arranged rose petals on the bed and in a filled bath, as my husband had noted that we would be celebrating our anniversary.

Our So Relaxing package included a one-hour massage for each of us. On entering the spa, your senses are highlighted to the wonderful decor, smells and sounds of tranquility. We were given some herbal tea and a macaroon (although we asked for more since they were so tasty) after choosing our treatments. The private room, with your own steam room was a real treat, and the signature massage was great.

We were greeted with two gifts on returning to our room, one of which was a homemade chocolate cake congratulating us on our milestone - these small touches were much appreciated. Finally, we can't forget to mention the breakfast: the selection was enormous, both hot and cold, Asian and otherwise - including a chocolate fountain, homemade Belgian waffles and French crêpes to order, and a cheese selection! Throughout our stay, the staff were courteous, friendly, and incredibly attentive. The only disappointment came when we had to leave! Very highly recommended indeed and, in our opinion, the best hotel in the city!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views across the city and will not attract mosquitoes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this fantastic review! We are delighted to hear that you had a Magnifique stay with us and that you appreciated our staff’s special attentions. We hope to have the great pleasure to welcome you again very soon at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra.
Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Classic French charm with magnificent facilities and friendly service. I have been to many hotels in Phnom Penh and nothing beats this beautiful hotel. Certainly one of the best I've been to. A must stay when u come to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for this positive feedback. It is very encouraging to get comments like this one, especially from someone who has experienced other hotels in the city. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra.
Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

While I now always stay at the Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra at Phnom Penh, Cambodia whenever the need arises to trabvel there, I want to add that one of the joys of being in residence is their three meal restaurant off the Lobby, "La Coupole Restaurant". It's beautifil, the people are wonderful; and the food is Five Star breakfast, lunch & dinner. And you have access to their wine cellar for any meal, so it is never too early for fresh French baguettes, Farm House Cheeses and a bottle of your favorite Bordeaux, Burgundy or whatever.

Room Tip: Ask for their "Best price" on a Deluxe room, including access to the Executive Lounge: It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great review about La Coupole. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated so much our service and cuisine at La Coupole and we will forward your comments to our culinary team. We are very proud to be able to deliver excellent gastronomy to our guests. Hoping to see you very soon at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra.
Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here over 2 years ago when they first opened. I rolled up in the front entrance with my Honda Scoopy scooter and they valet it for me. The rooms are very nice and the staff is friendly. They have a very nice swimming pool but there isn't much to do there so If you want peace and relaxation, I would recommend it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our staff friendliness. We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was absolutely the best hotel I have ever stayed in my life. Exellent staff, fantastic rooms, sparkiling pools, outstanding gym, relaxing sauna, and a paradise breakfast buffet. This is not a five star hotel - it is a 10 star hotel. The best ting I liked about this hotel is they made us feel like royalty. Each morning we went to eat breakfast they greeted us by Mr. and Mrs. The buffet had Western, European, and Eastern (Asian) foods. If it exists in the world it was here. I suggested an item that was missing to the sous chef, Andrea, and it was available the next morning. How's that for service. A big thanks to Sopheak at the pool - he always gave us cold water or fruit afer our swim. Thanks Sofitel for making our stay in your hotel so pleasurable!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 530 which overlooked the pool. Any room next to or above this room would be excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this fantastic review! We are delighted to know that you appreciated so much Sofitel and especially our buffet at La Coupole. This is very encouraging for Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra and all its Ambassadors. I will forward your review to Andrea and its team as well as Sopheak so that they know guests valued their availability and special attention. We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Also Known As:
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel Phnom Penh
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel
Address: 26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12301, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra is set riverside amongst landscaped gardens in the old quarter of the city. This stunning well located 12-storey colonial style hotel is close to key attractions, embassies and the central business district. Along with 201 luxurious rooms and suites with Mekong or Bassac river views, this 5-star hotel offers an array of chic restaurants and bars, an upscale spa, two swimming pools, a sports club and the finest conferencing facilities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.