We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Phnom Penh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra to your Saves list
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12301, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Carlton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Luxury in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Sofitel was the perfect place to relax away from the bustle of the city. The pool is spectacular, and great gym with modern equipment. The welcome and service throughout our stay was spectacular. Rooms are large, with comfy beds, great amenities and nice set up for working when you need to. There were tuk-tuk's onsite so easy 5 minute trip down to the river area, and easy access to all the major tourist attractions. Breakfast buffet was superb, and other options for food / drinks in the hotel if required.

Room Tip: there is a new shopping complex right being built right next door. sound was not an issue for us at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Phnom Penh on TripAdvisor. It’s fantastic to hear that you found so many aspects of your stay to be superb. I will make sure your review is displayed on the hotel ambassador notice board so everyone can take part of it. It surely is a token of appreciation for everyone’s hard work. We all can’t wait to welcome back to us one day.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    194
    29
    15
    4
See reviews for
93
255
67
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed there with my friend from 15 Feb for three nights - WEEKEND. The room are big and swimming pool are very beautiful. Staffs at front desk, and pool were excellent except restaurant manager who asked me change my top because, they do not allow guest wear tank top. However, he was more weird when I came back to restaurant and saw a lady with swim wear plus sarong and then a man with a sport tank top (he was wet after the gym - I think). I made question why they were allowed to wear something like this and I was asked to change my clothes. The Restaurant manager answered because he was not there when those guests checked in restaurant for breakfast. I am sure that my tank top is not a problem to any five stars I stayed even with Sofitel chain: Sofitel Metropole Hanoi, Sofitel New York, Sofitel Silom Bangkok, Sofitel Plaza Hanoi... but with Sofitel Phnom Penh it is a big deal. Black and white, there is no policy in the room said tank top is not allowed and nobody told me about that except restaurant manager.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a family vacation when we visited Phnom Penh about a yr back. It is situated just within a 10min drive from the riverside (sisowath quay) where the main tourist belt is.

The rooms are well decorated and beds were very comfy. Though I felt that the rooms were a tad small. What was really quite special was that every evening, there would be a little small tray of desserts in our room.

There is a nice cafe at the lobby level that sells pretty good pastries. The gym and pool is pretty good. There are two gyms and two pools. The one directly at the hotel is not well shaded and thus a little too hot to swim in the afternoon.

Overall however, a nice, safe and relaxing place to stay in Phnom Penh.

--end--

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing you experience at the Sofitel Phnom Penh.
It certainly is flattering to receive read your positive comments, and we are all absolutely delighted that we exceeded your expectations to such an extent that you would call us “simply excellent”. I have passed on your review to the entire team; it is a point of encouragement and motivation for all of us.

I genuinely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back during your next visit to Phnom Penh.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you love to stay in luxury, this hotel is it. Location-wise, it is ok. You need to call a tuk-tuk if you want to go anywhere.
As soon as you walk in you are warmly greeted by hotel staff and offered a cold towel, flowers and a cold drink. However there was a bit of misunderstanding at the start as one of the staff was talking to us about an upgrade which for 5 minutes we thought was complimentary however it turned out to be $65 per night. It probably would have been better if we were asked at the start if we were interested in paying $xxx for an upgrade which includes xxxx.
Other than that, overall it was a pleasant stay in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us, and that you felt that you received the luxury that you were expecting. I do apologize for the misunderstanding during check in regarding the room upgrade. Thank you for pointing this out, I will address this issue directly with our Front Office Manager to see to that our communication becomes clearer during this stage.

I very much hope to welcome you back to us during your next visit to Phnom Penh!

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is simply excellent. We stayed in Phnom Penh for two nights, and had a great time - the hotel far exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was superb, as was room service (which was at fairly decent price too). All the staff were exceptionally friendly, particularly the pool attendant, who bought us complimentary bottled water after our swim. The gym was well equipped, as was the business centre, and everything is very well maintained - all in all very classy.

In terms of location, this isn't a super-central hotel, but you can get a tuk-tuk into town (a short ride and a few dollars), which the concierge will call for you. We walked it one afternoon - it took maybe 20 mins to get to the Royal Palace (though it's not a walk if you need a flat, unbroken pavement all the way). The only downside with the hotel was that I couldn't get wi-fi working in my room, but the staff at the business centre were very helpful in providing a computer with internet access.

If I ever come back to Phnom Penh, I will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: A high room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a really lovely stay at Sofitel during our time in Phnom Penh. Actually the price was quite high but you get what you're paying for. Spacious and clean rooms, excellent service. Only the construction site and the fact that we were exactly on that side while the hotel wasn't actually that full was quite annoying, but after a quick phone call we could immediately switch the rooms so that was fine. All in all I can definitely recommend this hotel very much. You won't regret it and the money is worth it. Note that tuktuks are way too expensive if you take them right at the hotel. A normal, short city ride is 1$, better walk to the street and get one from there. If you're up for something sweet, call the room service: the creme brulee is the best I've ever tasted!

Room Tip: There is no much difference between the lowest 2 categories, so better choose the cheaper one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. I am delighted to hear that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us and that you felt that you got value for your money. Furthermore, its great to hear that you enjoyed our crème brulee’s to such an extent, I will make sure to pass on your kind comments to the culinary team!

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome back to the Sofitel Phnom Penh very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Address: 26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12301, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra is set riverside amongst landscaped gardens in the old quarter of the city, neighbouring the largest Mall in Cambodia, Aeon Mall. This stunning well located 12-storey colonial style hotel is close to key attractions, embassies and the central business district. Along with 201 luxurious rooms and suites with Mekong or Bassac river views, this 5-star hotel offers an array of chic restaurants and bars, an upscale spa, two swimming pools, a sports club and the finest conferencing facilities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.