We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality, certainly an excellent 5 star hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra to your Saves list
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12301, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 224 Hotels in Phnom Penh
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Top quality, certainly an excellent 5 star hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My overall score for tbhis hotel is a record breaking: 9 out of a maximum of 10. It is excellent in every way.

Location 9
Conveniently close to the airport (just about 30 minutes) and about 10 minutes to the centre.

Hotel 9
Major chain 5 star hotel. Built 2 years ago after the previous hotel was burnt down my rioters because it was owned by a Thai businessman. Large and impressive foyer and dining area.

Bedroom 9
My room was on the executive floor. The room costs were about £134 per night (including breakfast, internet and access to the Executive lounge). Large and fresh feel to it. Huge basket of fruits provided including a whole melon! The bathroom had a large bath and separate shower unit. Good amenities (toothbrush and paste provided).

Gym 7
Good gym well looked after by staff. All the machines needed.

Breakfast 9
Very good quality both in executive lounge and in the main breakfast are on ther ground floor.

Lunch buffet 9
The cost is about £25 for what is an excellent lunch buffet. Fresh fruit and juice. Good quality hot dishes and impressive desserts. The meal is finished off with top quality coffee.

Room Service 9
Dinner: Soup and Spaghetti Bolognaise was perfectly good meal and served with bread.

Service quality 9
Excellent staff service quality.

Hotel car/ Taxi 10
The concierge will arrange for either a motorbike or TukTuk or car, whatever you want at sensible rates. Hotel car to the airport costs 35US$. None of the problems you get in Indian hotels if you want cheap transport.

Value for money 9
It is sensible to stay on the executive floor as it is worth the extra money. You get wonderful views over the Mekng river. Excellent afternoon tea, and then evening snacks. So you do not need to pay for dinner. At an overall cost of around £134 per night it is excellent value.

Well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    171
    21
    15
    3
See reviews for
85
215
63
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The property is a grand one for cambodia and the furnishing of both the lobby and rooms are good. Spacious rooms with spacious modern bathrooms. Good TV channels-- over 70 of them. nice comfy bed. the let down though was in the dining and it was so surprising that i had to drop 2 stars. I stayed one night and was travelling on business, so i had set up appointments with clients at the hotel itself and this ussually included meals or drinks. The first lunch i had there, the food was below average and the waiter had to ask me about my order 4 times as he did not understand why we being 2 people ordered 3 dishes. my associate insisted i try the fish amok which is a national dish and my second bite into it and there was bone in it which made me nearly choke. you are a 5 star restaurant in a 5 star hotel... you should know that minced fish dishes should have bones in them. seeing me the waiters started smiling.. no apology.. no effort to put me at ease. APPALLING. Dinner was fine at the japanese restaurant but waiters ussually preferred to be chatting with the sushi chefs then be available to call on. And they bought me someone elses order and when i said this is not what i ordered.. gave me a wierd look. Now the best part.. i didnt have breakfast included in my deal on agoda.. so i decided to call and order breakfast into the room. I called and told him my room number, he said ok, then i said i would like to order American breakast to the room. he then asks me if i was calling from the embassy.. i said no and then repeated my room number to him. then again i told him i wanted american breakfast he said ok.. i told him i wanted orange juice so he said "one american breakfast and one orange juice.. where actually the juice was an option on the breakfast.. at this point i got really annoyed and just cancelled the order.. how can a 5 star hotel put such an incompetent person on the phone to deal with customers. Good food at the hatchi japanese restaurant and good mojitos at the le bar. great coffee.. there was a blonde F&B manager.. great service on her part. The concierge picked up an item i had forgot to pack so a thumbs up to them also.

overall a very good hotel.. i recommend it if the location isn't important for you. But something must be done to train the staff better. I read some reviews where some people said it was their best ever hotel stay.. i disagree.. there are 20 to 30 hotels in bangkok alone that are much better.

Room Tip: about the noise.. i saw alot of construction going on around the hotel but my room was facing an emp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Aneks,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

Firstly, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our grand lobby and the layout and amenities in our guestrooms. We are also pleased you enjoyed your dinner in our Japanese restaurant Hachi and that our Concierge team could assist you during your stay.

However, we are genuinely regretful to hear about the experience you had with our service staff throughout your stay. We completely understand your frustration due to the communication difficulties with our staff during lunch and when ordering in-room breakfast. These processes should unquestionably be seamless every time, and we are working hard to ensure that. One of our efforts includes in-house English language classes that are mandatory for all ambassadors. Another is our Sofitel brand training in which we educate our ambassadors about the standards and excellence that is associated with our brand. As we are still only to have been opened for 1 year, we are still busy giving our +500 employees this training.

Your feedback and comments have been communicated to our F&B Director and Corporate Training Manager who will address them directly.

Once again, we are most thankful that you have taken the time to give us constructive feedback about your stay, as it helps us to constantly improve.

We truly hope that you will return to us during your next stay visit to Phnom Penh, for which I will personally see to that you experience the highest quality of service and the excellence that is Sofitel.

Yours Sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just returned from a visit to Cambodia which included a 4 night stay at The Sofitel in Phnom Penh. Its a fabulous property, exceptional value and staff that could just not do enough to please the guests. The room was really spacious and clean, bathroom well set out with great l'occitane products and the gym and pool well maintained. I had 2 great treatments at the spa which is open until 10pm. There are several restaurant choices but unfortunately I only had time to dine at the Italian which I would rate very highly. The club floor is definitely worth the few extra $s ! This hotel is an oasis in the chaos of Phnom Penh ! But it will cause some angst trying to justify staying in such fine surrounds in a country that struggles to survive !! If I had to find any fault it would that there weren't any english breakfast tea bags in the room but how trite would that be!!

Room Tip: I had 2 stays and both on 11 th floor which was the top accommodation floor but I think they would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Aunty D,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us! It is with great pleasure we read that you enjoyed our many facilities and amenities, and we especially value your satisfaction with the service from our hotel ambassadors. We will communicate your generous feedback to the entire service team.

Furthermore, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your treatments at our So SPA and that you experienced a bit of "La Bella Vita" in our Italian restaurant Do Forni!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Cambodia, for which we will make sure to prepare your room with a selection of English breakfast tea!

Yours Sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I would recommend Sofitel Hotel if you go to Phnom Penh for business trip or leisure time because the hotel provide good accommodation, excellent service and safety place to stay. Breakfast is very good and more variety to make you feel like be at home. Lobby is comfortable and having live band playing light music which made you feel more relax after long meeting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Bonang,

Thank you very much for the fantastic review about your stay with us! We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and services and that you would recommend us for both business and leisure stays.

We are also happy to hear that you found the lobby comfortable and that our jazz band could help you relax after a long day of meetings.

We will communicate your generous feedback to our service team, it will surely be an additional source of motivation for them!

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Phnom Penh, and to be your "home away from home"!

Yours Sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Hotel is far away from everything and only surrounded with construction sites so we woke up every morning (3 nights) before 8 with a drilling noise coming from outside. The poor isolation of the windows doesn't make it easier. Service at reception was great and a warm welcome was offered with cold towel and a kind of local drink. Breakfast we had in the main restaurant but we were alone most of the time. Buffet is not top rather poor in display as well service need some training.
Overall better possibilities in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Phillippe,

Thank you very much for taking some of your valuable time to write a review about your stay with us.

We regret to hear that you were woken up by noise from the outside during your stay. The city centre of Phnom Penh is rapidly expanding, and we are aware that there is temporarily construction going on in the area. However, we do understand your frustration and we will notify our maintenance team to see how we can improve the insulation of our windows.

We are delighted to hear about your positive experience upon arrival at the hotel and the service of our reception ambassadors! Our welcoming ceremony is something we take great pride in and highly appreciated among our valued guests.

Furthermore, we have taken note of your feedback with regards to the display of our breakfast buffet and the poor service of our ambassadors in the restaurant. This will be communicated directly to our Director of Food & Beverage to ensure a swift improvement.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback, it really is the best way for us to find points of improvement and increasing the satisfaction of our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra!

Your Sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have stayed at the Sofitel Phnom Penh for about 4 different times. The bedrooms and ambience are excellent, providing much needed quietness and respite. There is free Wifi in the rooms and the lobby, a big plus, especially when travelling. Breakfast is always a meal to look forward to, with a large variety of fruits and cooked food stations, including excellent pastries and an ice-cream/sorbert station. Overall a hotel I intend to frequent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Address: 26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12301, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra is set riverside amongst landscaped gardens in the old quarter of the city. This stunning well located 12-storey colonial style hotel is close to key attractions, embassies and the central business district. Along with 201 luxurious rooms and suites with Mekong or Bassac river views, this 5-star hotel offers an array of chic restaurants and bars, an upscale spa, two swimming pools, a sports club and the finest conferencing facilities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, ACCOR, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.