We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City convenience, resort experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra to your Saves list
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12301, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“City convenience, resort experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Overall a marvellous hotel and great people with an attitude!
Decoration in public areas is missing an interior designer signature and I support the review here before that internet is not free of charge what is not acceptable for a hotel with such a standing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    194
    29
    15
    4
See reviews for
92
255
67
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Our stay at the Sofitel Phnom Penh was great from start to finish. Everyone in the staff did their outermost to make our stay a great experience. The room (1011) was impecable with a balcony and great views over the mighty Mekong and the city.

My only critic would be that the wireless Internet is not complimentary! For a hotel with this prices it should be breaking ranks in offering this free of charge. Like many other Sofitels in the world doing already and other 5-star groups such as Shangri-La and Mandarin Oriental.

All in all a great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Great staff and so friendly, all restaurants are now open and finished but lobby looks still empty. Try the buffet for lunch that was delicious in their main restaurant. Service and view at the Club Floor is excellent as well. I would go back what will happen soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

The staff are very courteous and can help for whatever I request. Very new and nicely decorated. I can recommend it to anyone both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Everybody in Phnom Penh is a lot kinder and more helpful then Siem Reap - this also shows at the Sofitel.
As wonderful as the facility is, and it is first class, from the quality of the linens and furnishings to the appearance and large size of the rooms, the staff genuinely demonstrates concern amd care for their guests' well-being. This is reflected in their responsiveness, concern amd friendliness in every encounter we had from check-in to room service, doorman and the club lounge. Their competency in doing things correctly and on-time is also noted.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Immaculate 5* hotel (you may get some comments from taxi drivers / tuk tuks to the effect of ooooh you're saying at a 5* hotel). Over the top lobby, room is not especially large but is clean and modern. Bed is extremely comfortable, flat screen TV, complimentary macarons, all made for a great experience. Bathroom has an odd layout (separate "stalls") and ugly floor tile, but functionally was fine with a great rain shower head / hot water pressure.

Check-in was a tad slow but that's to be expected as they have to photocopy your passports. We were also escorted up to our room and shown the amenities, which was a bit unnecessary - I always find this superfluous as anyone can figure out the hotel room themselves. They also asked for my e-mail address and signed me up for their Accor loyalty program without my permission, but not a big deal.

Great concierge service, arranged for bus tickets / tuks tuks / etc at regular prices.

Highly recommend the food at the 'chocolate' cafe inside the hotel - hats off to their french pastry chef. Pain au chocolate just as good, if not better, than in paris, and macarons at 50 cents each which can't be beat.

Main downsides are the expense (~$150+ in phnom penh is a bit ridiculous) and the location isn't fantastic for tourists (<5 min taxi / tuk tuk ride to the center of town, but not necessarily walkable as the concierge mentioned it wouldn't be a great idea to walk outside near the hotel at night). Also next to a construction site of a high rise, so the surroundings are lacking, but no noise from the construction.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We arrived at this property fully expecting to experience some of the teething problems often experienced when staying at a new hotel, and write this bearing it in mind.

Check in was ponderously slow, no queue, just the staff getting to grips with thier procedures. We were shown to our room by a guest services manager who tried to explain the workings of the room omitting the use of the A/C which is a slightly complicated wall mounted system (not remote)

One of the first things we noticed was the lack of drawer handles on the furniture. Pieces of cling film had been looped round the holes to providee rudimentry handles. Room size in the deluxe room was fine, not oversize but neither small either. After unpacking and settling in the standard of finish supplied by the builders became evident. Without going in to too much detail I am surprised that the management signed off on it. Split dado rails, missing and chipped paint, paint that was so thin you could see the wood through it and a missing bit of plaster above the toilet.

Room cleanliness was poor, I fail to see how housekeeping could have checked this room and found it suitable for sale. Windows, mirrors doors all coated with builders muck Beds were comfortable,linens fine. Bathroom is a wet room affair, not to my taste but fine. The room safe did not work nor did the mini bar. It took the maintainance staff four visits over two days to fix. Each time we left the hotel we had to take all valuables to reception, count up all monies, and get them locked into the safe, this performance desended into chaos as the staff did not understand when my wife went to retrieve our items as nobody knew where they had been put or who to ask to find them.

Breakfast buffet was well laid out, good presentation and selections of foods. I had a juice, coffee,100g of fruit and a small pho $25.00++ Whilst I could of eaten what I liked for this sum,I would recommend asking for a menu if you prefer a lighter breakfast.

Gym was well appointed, TVs over the running equipment but no headphones offered. No changing rooms available at this time either.

Pool area was a nice space with good loungers and full sun all day. Pool staff (in common the world over) were happy to do little or nothing but talk loudly with the staff who were trying to clean up the areas around the pool. The second of the advertised pools is to the front of the hotel in a seperate complex that I imagine has been built to serve pool and gym subsciptions locally.

Bar staff were curteous though the cocktails ordered by myself and my guests were poor.
One might make the argument that One should not expect great, or even good cocktails in Cambodia, But if the hotel choses to serve them at somewhat ambitious prices, then they should perhaps train the person to make them. Smoking is not permitted in the bar or lounge- -or pretty much anywhere else so a request for a box of matches was a tad tricky for the staff who eventually "loaned" me some on condition I gave them back.

Room service breakfast was one of the bleakest moments of our stay. Having ordered eggs Benedict for two at 0900 room service delivered 15 minutes early. wheeling in the trolley the waiter pulled out a pair of cold poached eggs on a mini sweet yet hard burger bun. layered under the eggs was what would best be described as a wad of cold Tesco value wafer ham. It could'nt get much worse but it did. Instead of Hollandaise sauce on top of the eggs the kitchen= which had shown some promise up to now as one department which had got its act together, poured on a melted butter and split egg yolk
mix which formed a deep pool for the eggs to float in. Juice was good though.

Check out was quick and efficient but would of been better if the front desk or porters could have heard the phone ringing above the noise of the pianists notes echoing or careering accross hard stone walls and floors of reception. Three calls unanswered so I thought I would bring my own luggage down.

Had anyone at the hotel enquired I would of put these points to them. They choose not to. I paid the bill in full and resolved not to do another brand new hotel again as it was pretty much the same story at the Interconti Saigon the year prevously.

This could be a good hotel, its a nice property All hotels are about the detail, but this one failed by inviting members of the public to come in with their hard earned cash and show them where they are failing. On that basis I can not recomend this hotel yet. Pay the money and go to Raffles or pay a lot less and go to one of the smaller hotels that sink or swim by reputation.

Ps the location imho was good, qiuet and just a few minutes from town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDeman, Resident Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, February 27, 2011
Dear Madam, dear Sir

Thank you sincerely for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us during the soft-opening of Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra. We truly value your opinion, as it is from your complimentary and constructive feedback that we will be able to improve our service and product delivery.

I am truly sorry that your experience did not fully meet your expectations and I can assure you that we have immediately taken the necessary measures with the respective department heads in order to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate your valuable advice on this website and are continuously working on improvements! I am sure that you will give Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra a second chance in the future. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me in advance on email H6526-GM1@sofitel.com so that we can be sure to make your next experience a wow!

Sincerely,

Frederik Deman
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Address: 26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12301, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra is set riverside amongst landscaped gardens in the old quarter of the city, neighbouring the largest Mall in Cambodia, Aeon Mall. This stunning well located 12-storey colonial style hotel is close to key attractions, embassies and the central business district. Along with 201 luxurious rooms and suites with Mekong or Bassac river views, this 5-star hotel offers an array of chic restaurants and bars, an upscale spa, two swimming pools, a sports club and the finest conferencing facilities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.