We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hang Neak Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hang Neak Hotel to your Saves list
Hang Neak Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14, Street 201 | Khan ChamkarMorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
EARLY BIRD PROMOTION $21+
Ranked #100 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Cork
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Other reviews state the location is poor but all attractions are a $2 tuk tuk ride away so didn't bother us.
The rooms are really clean with good wifi, fridge, air-con, tv and nice bathrooms with plenty of hot water. The hotel itself is 5 star in its category and the staff have a good level of English and are friendly. The only reason I deducted a star is because of the restaurant. It is located on the 8th floor with a nice view of the city but both the food and the service were terrible. Given the standard of the rest of the hotel I hope they improve this aspect but doubt it!
We would definitely stay again for the rooms and the value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis023, Manager at Hang Neak Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear James119,

Thank you for providing us this helpful review. We hope you had a wonderful stay. We are working on improving the restaurant menu and facilities. Thank you for your suggestion.


Regards,
Vanak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
17
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel only suits local business or tourist clienteles. You get what you pay.. It is a cheap hotel.
Hot water was too hot and difficult to control. Internet services are poor and very slow. Their 2 desktop PCs were too old. Whilst the staffs were extremely polite, there was absolutely no tourists brochures and maps. Tourists did not know where to go. The hotel should sponsor a few reliable tuktuks that can speak a little English. I had given some feedback to the hotel.
The roof top restaurant was very good.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis023, Manager at Hang Neak Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear our Aussie Travel,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback, we do appreciate your time and effort. Hope you have a great experience in our country.

Regarding to your comments made on the 28th of July, we do want to apologise for the inconvienient cause by our hot water system. This is a long term issue involving our green solar energy. We could not get the equal amount of sun light each day which make the hot water unstable.
In addition to your concerns about the internet speed, this is a country wide issue as our internet infrastructure can't be compare with the internet speed in developed country. We have tried to switch from serveral internet service providers from broadband to fibre optic, but there is no significant improve and does not gurantee to get all of our internet users on the same speed.

In the future, we will attempt to install a water temperature control mechanism and upgrade our two desktops computer. There is nothing we can do about sponsoring Tuk Tuk, as this is a cultural issue, the more competence the drivers are, the better chance they are being hire, so there is no incentive for them to stay in one place just to get that little subsidy. It is just a matter of luck when you travel around Asia countries, you don't hold high expectancy for people to speak fluent English. Regarding the tourist brochures, we used to stock plenty of them, however due to the unforseen demand from our guests, we haven't been able to order some new maps. Again, we do apologise for the inconvienient and hope you have had a pleasant experience with our service.

Hope I answered most of your concerns and provide some inherent cultural issues.


Regards,

Vanak Kit


The roof top restaurant was very good.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I cant really fault this hotel.
Staff very friendly.
Free internet.
Nice roof-top restaurant with views over the city.
Walking distance to some attractions.
Nice rooms with good TV selection.

Only downside is its a long way from "downtown" or near the water etc. But in PP city, everything is a $1 or $2 tuk tuk drive away so who cares?

I wholehartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis023, Manager at Hang Neak Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Gudday our valued Sydney traveler guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to load your review and hope you have had a good time in Phnom penh. We are looking forward to see you again on your next trip to the city. If you have any suggestions that might improve our service, we are delighting to hear any responses from you with great effort to enhance our customer's satisfaction.

All the best for your study or work.


Cheers,

Vanak Kit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights .
The staff was helpful and the rooms good and well equipped A good breakfast buffet was included in the price and is served at the rooftop restaurant which also is a good place to have a sundowner beer. The only disadvantage might be the location which is about 10-15 minutes away by tuk-tuk (the hotel have their own)from the river promenade near the Royal Palace and the toursit belt .On the other hand no nightime disurbances from traffic or Karaoke etc and It was just a few minutes away from where the Samco bus from Saigon arrives(their mai stop.). They have free internet and computers available for same i the lobby area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis023, Owner at Hang Neak Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear our value customer (Dagol)

Thank you for your recent valuable comment. Hope you have had a wonderful trip to Cambodia. We are very delightful to have had the opportunity to serve you. Pleaes do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance. Once again thank you for chosing Hang Neak Hotel. We do appreciate your business and looking forward to welcome you back to the Kingdom of Wonder.



Yours faithfully, Vanak Kit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Not in the hustle and bustle of the city centre, it's still close enough and gives a measure of peace for the weary traveler. Decent views from the rooftop cafe and they've started serving a variety of cocktails. Managed to chat with the owner's son and they're warm hosts.

Room Tip: May get a bit of foot noise if staying on the floor below the rooftop cafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

The hotel is located close (ca. 5 - 10 minutes walking) to the Olympic Stadium and the Olympic market and ca. 10 minutes by tuk tuk to the Russian market.
With 8 floors it is by far the highest building in the area, thereby offering a nice (but not extraordinary) view from the roof-top restaurant.
The room is average, but for the ca. 20 Euro / 30 USD per night (incl. breakfast) provides all amenities you might need, incl. good airco, nice shower, reasonably priced mini-bar and flat screen tv. Free Wifi only available in the hotel lobby, cabled internet available in the room (reception will provide internet cable on request). No baby cots available, but staff is willing to provide additional blankets/bedlinen instead.
Bus tickets to other towns in Cambodia can be booked at the hotel reception for a normal price.
The restaurant provides Asian food and the quality and cleanliness of both the kitchen and the roof-top restaurant are very basic (or in fact below - also Asian - standards). This for sure could be much improved !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyborg, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I spend 2 nights at the Hang Neak hotel in Phnom Penh. The hotel is very nice and great quality. Staff is friendly, but speaks moderate english at best. Booked a bus tour to Saigon through the reception, and I had the ticket within 30 min!

The hotel features a very nice outdoor restaurant located at 11th. Floor. The menu is abit sparse but the view is great.

Last, the hotel's biggest disadvantage is it's location. It's in the outskirts of the city and located in a somewhat questionable neighborhood (regarding safety)

Except for that, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hang Neak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hang Neak Hotel

Address: 14, Street 201 | Khan ChamkarMorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hang Neak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hang Neak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hang Neak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.