We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for travellers on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
No 2, Street 136 | Sangkat Phsar Kandal Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Perth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for travellers on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed in the two bedroom apartment with a colleague for 5 nights. The accommodation will be as good as it gets for what you will be paying. Very close to everything; bars & restaurants etc. I saw several previous reviews about the hostess bars and the frequency of girl going in and out of the hotel. For the 5 days I was there I hardly noticed anything, though after 10pm you can expect to see several girls sitting outside the bars.

There is a 24/7 convenient mart across the road and several food/drink outlets around the corner.

In a nut shell, good location, good rooms and good price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    72
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
17
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Samosir Island, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

it is not that luxury as u'll get in many country,but consider the pricing,it is ok.
if u have more budget and looking for a more luxury compare others,this is the one.
Good location for night walker and drinker,easy to get back ur room after drunk in the midnite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Good location in the city center near the night life action.
Thats about it.

Some rooms didn't have any windows ... (that's a turn off for me).

The room is large, but it could use some refurbishing. the bathroom is pretty poor. Shower was sealed to the wall, (i hate that) and the water pressure was poor.

I think for this price you can find better options in PP, so I wouldn't recommand.

Room Tip: ask for a street view otherwise you'll have a view on a run down bulding where the habitants hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with my parents when visiting Cambodia and my uncle who booked for us.
The hotel is very well located, big rooms, clean shower but for us, no window. (my parents had a window)
The staff was very nice and helpful, but spoke very little English. Since we spoke Khmer, this wasn't an issue.
The breakfast buffet was small, had fried rice, scrambled eggs and some vegis. It was good, but nothing special.
The room was cleaned everyday and this was done very nicely. We also kept some money in the room and nothing was stolen at all.

Free Wifi is provided, but we could only connect in the big lobby.

Outside of the hotel, the bars seemed to be a special setup for men looking for girls. But they never approached anyone unless a man approaches them first. Due to this, it was not a problem.
It is also located near to the river which is very nice to walk during the evening and have a drink or eat something in the numberous cafes and restaurants. Across the street, there was a kind of 7/11 having all the little things needed.

Only thing that was a bit confusing was the inroom fridge. It turns off when leaving the room, e.g. pulling the key from the socket. When asked at the reception they said, we could leave the key and they would open the door for us (instead of giving an extra key), but that would cost some extra tip...

Another thing to mention are the special short and little dressed girls going to rooms. This might be disturbing for some travellers.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Worth the very good reviews in tripadviser. Excellent location right on the riverfront BUT good noise protection in a very noisy place. Buffet breakfast but if you want freshly cooked eggs you only have to ask. Comfortable beds (often quite hard in Cambodia) and good sized rooms. Carpet on the hallways which also means you are not woken up by late comers. Only slight negative was that for some reason you have to pay up front for the rooms. Never had that happen before but maybe they have a very good reason for insisting on this. Not all people are honest. Would definatly stay there again.

Room Tip: There is an old section with lino passageway floors. Insist on staying in the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I travelled to Phnom Penh on a business trip recently. Due to the ongoing recession, the inviting party made me stay at Lux Riverside Hotel. I must say that the hotel is pretty cheap (in cost - as compared to other hotels nearby) - just $40 for a standard room, $50 for Deluxe and $60 for a Suite. You wouldnt ask for more. Its a new hotel, so everything looked fresh and amazing. I prefer big and clean bathroom and the hotel didnt dissapoint me at all. Rooms are not big and there are no windows if you opt for Standard room, but there is no problem of ventilation since Air Con always does their job well. Bed was very comfortable. House keeping does their job pretty well. Cant comment on room service because I always went out to eat (there are lot of options down the street - Indian, Italian, Khmer (local), French, Continental etc.). You can also call nearby restaurants for any kind of food you want to have. Hotel location was superb. All in all, I would rate this hotel a touch above 4, i.e. 4.5/5. Would love to stay there again. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have stayed here many times due to the location, cleanliness and secure car parking. The front desk staff are lovely. It may not be the most charming option in town, and if car parking is not an issue for you then it would not be such a great choice, but for 45usd it does the job well for us.
There are lots of good tuk tuks about and the riverfront is on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Suites on the top are a good option for a bit more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments

Address: No 2, Street 136 | Sangkat Phsar Kandal Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#21 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Riverside Hotel And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.